Restaurant Review: 6 restaurants in Amsterdam

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year (edited)

I spent 4 days in Amsterdam for HiveFest. In addition to the meals that conference provided I ate out six times. Two of the meals were extra ordinary and had their own post- Nomad and Rijks. The last one on the list was a conference venue that hosted the closing event and meal.

Rascasse
Omelegg Centrum
Cafe Waterloo
Nomad aan het IJ
Rijks
Karz De Hopp

Rascasse

On the first night we got seafood. I went with the awesome guys of #PeakD. We got a big plater of lots of different seafood and a paella. I was so tired when I got to the restaurant I sat and @jarvie and @asgarth ordered. The people seems very friendly!

Restaurant Review: Rascasse (6/10)

Sara's RatingParts of the ExperienceMy thoughts
1LocationClose to the Volkshotel (4 min. walk)
1AtmosphereComfortable and clean, not a lot of seating
1PriceI think it was a good price
2StaffI didn't talk to the people, they seemed very friendly.
1TasteIt was good, a bit greasy for me, I liked the paella best

Located: Eerste Oosterparkstraat 76. 1091 HE Amsterdam
Rascasse's Website


Omelegg Centrum

Restaurant Review: Omelegg Centrum (7/10)

Sara's RatingParts of the ExperienceMy thoughts
2LocationVery close to Amsterdam Central Train station
1AtmosphereCute place. Not a lot of seating, had to wait
1PriceGood prices
2StaffGreat staff, so friendly and attentive
1TasteIt was ok. I don't know why but I wasn't liking the omelet, the OJ was amazing!

Location: Nieuwebrugsteeg 24, 1012AH Amsterdam
Omelegg Centrum's Website

The picture on the right was taken as we were waiting for our seat at Omelegg. It is in a very central location in downtown Amsterdam.

The Orange Juice was the best! The servers were really nice and there are couples and families and it was a great atmosphere.


Cafe Waterloo

Restaurant Review: Cafe Waterloo (5/10)

Sara's RatingParts of the ExperienceMy thoughts
2LocationGood location, downtown, close to Waterlooplein station
1AtmosphereIt was clean and small. We had 2 tables by the window
1PricePretty good price
0StaffThe guy in charge was a bit too gruff and curt for my liking
1TasteIt was ok. I didn't care for the OJ.

Location: Waterlooplein 181 (naast de Mozes en Aäronkerk) Amsterdam, 1011 PG
Cafe Waterloo's Website

Nomad aan het IJ

Restaurant Review: Nomad aan het IJ (10/10)

Sara's RatingParts of the ExperienceMy thoughts
2LocationGreat location on the water, can walk from Central Station
2AtmosphereWonderful staff, Nice color scheme with lots of plants
2PriceWorth the money, great food and experience!
2StaffIncredible, so friendly and attentive
2TasteYummy, in-season and interesting food

Location: IJdok 87 1013 MM Amsterdam
Nomad's Website

Restaurant Review: Nomad aan het IJ (10/10)

Nomad was fantastic! The food was delicious and the staff so friendly and the restaurant beautiful.

The whole concept of the restaurant is that we travel to different countries through the food. It is a 5 course meal and each meal is a different country and we got to guess where. So we learned about different countries as well as taking food from there.

We had a great time. We had met each other the day before and the restaurant was a great place to go and chat for hours, the 4 hours we stayed felt like no time at all.

This is seriously now one of my favorite restaurants!


Rijks

Location: Museumstraat 2, Amsterdam (at the Rijksmuseum)
Rijk's Website

Restaurant Review: Rijks (9/10)

Sara's RatingParts of the ExperienceMy thoughts
2LocationGreat location. It is part of the Rijksmuseum!
2AtmosphereFancy, it was fancy. We wore nice clothes and felt comfortable
2PriceIt was expensive, great food and experience
1StaffThe staff did what they had to do, not especially attentive or friendly
2TasteInteresting and tasty Dutch influenced cuisine

Restaurant Review: Rijks- My First Michelin Star Restaurant (8/10)

I did the review for Rijks last week. In comparison to the other other restaurants I would actually give it a 9/10. It was one of the highlights of my trip to Amsterdam.

This was such a great restaurant, so fancy! I enjoyed the interesting food and that chocolate mouse and sorbet were amazing! So were the fig and mushroom and pumpkin inspired dishes.


Karz De Hopp

Restaurant Karz De Hopp (7/10)

Sara's RatingParts of the ExperienceMy thoughts
2LocationClose to the Volkshotel and Wibautstraat Station, on the Amstel River
2AtmosphereI liked that it was in a rowing club and the deck on the river was so beautiful
1PriceI don't know the price, it was part of the conference
1StaffThe staff was friendly when I interacted with them
1TasteIt was pretty good food

Location: Weesperzijde 1046a, 1091 EH Amsterdam
Karz De Hopp's Website- in Dutch


The closing dinner and HiveFest was at Karz De Hopps rowing club. It was a very nice venue with good food.





I had heard that Amsterdam had great food. It did! I would love to go back and to more restaurants. I think I could be a foodie in Amsterdam.

Have you been to any of these restaurants? What did you think? Maybe your experience was different than mine. It would be interesting to hear.

Sort:  

That's a lot of food and they all look delicious 😋. Seems I'd visit Amsterdam just for the food, im a foodie that never gets fat so I think I could eat everything. Haha. I've never been to any of the restaurants listed here neither have I been to Amsterdam but for the sake of these nice delicacies, I've added Amsterdam to one of the places I'm gonna visit.

YAY I am so glad you want to go and eat in Amsterdam! I really enjoyed the food and the art!!!

I really enjoyed the food and the art!!!

I bet you did because just looking at the images from here got me hungry. Hehe. Greetings

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Some cheap, some expensive but they all looks delicious

I love this plate of food, I think they compliment each other, and they look delicious too!