Making Vegan Burgers - A Lentil-Plantain Experiment

About two weeks ago my friends from Mazunte left Mexico, flying out from Mexico City. As always, I hosted them here, and on our last dinner we celebrated with a carnivorous delight: all-beef hamburgers with all-pork bacon strips, and lots of it! It was all very tasty, but we ended up not using half of the buns and a bag of fries. So to keep them from going to waste, I decided I wanted to make another such celebratory burgers, but instead of repeating the meat orgy, I thought I'd try Fabiola's vegan inspiration, that is hamburgers based on lentils and plantains.

P_20210602_202824.jpg

Lentils and Plantains

So at first the lentils had to be soaked and cooked. Nothing out of the ordinary here, after all that's what you would do anyway. By this time the kitchen was filled with an aromatic smell.

P_20210602_172339.jpg

Next came the plantains. They had to be EXTREMELY ripe, to make them nice and soft. The idea behind them is their stickiness. Since vegan cooking doesn't use eggs to make the lentils stick, we have to resort to an alternative. I estimated to plantains for half a kilo (a pound) of lentils, but next time I would definitely use less! The sweetness of the plantain makes the burgers... well, just too sweet.

P_20210602_172735.jpg

Isn't the blender a wonderful kitchen tool? In less than a minute my plantains were pureed, so I added the lentils too and had the blender mix everything into a thick mass.

Herbs and Spices

P_20210602_175713.jpg

Now comes my favorite part, of adding taste. Garlic and onion is always a give, so is a generous amount of chopped parsley, which is becoming my favorite kitchen herb. Salt and pepper, and also cumin went very well with the rest of the seasonings. In the end I ground a couple of dried chilis into powder, to add a bit of sting to the mix. Still, the sweetness of the plantains was dominant.

P_20210602_182514.jpg

Failure in the Success

Once everything was well mixed, it was time to heat up the frying pan. Oh, how beautiful they were! And smelled so good too! And the taste ... heavenly (in spite of the sweet side). But in the pan they didn't have the desired behavior. Apparently the two plantains were not enough to make the mass stick together properly.

P_20210602_194110.jpg

As it can be seen in the final patties, they were far from ideal. Though the taste was interesting to exotic, and in the end made some delicious burgers, the consistency of the patties was ... let's say, a bit inconvenient.

P_20210602_202511.jpg

So what lesson can I take home from this culinary experience? Next time I'll skip the plantain all together, even if I have to opt for an egg to hold everything together. As for the spices and seasonings... yeah, that certainly needs some repeating, as I can still taste the delicious combination.

Foodies Bee Hive.png

Sort:  

Ripe plantain will be weird in texture if you blend them, isn't it?

Well, the idea was precisely to mix it completely with the lentils. But in the end weird is exactly how it turned out.

Lesson learned I guess, but it doesn't sound like they were too bad in the end. It's probably not readily available where you are, but I generally use besan to hold my veggie burgers together. It is essentially powdered chickpeas (garbanzo beans), which I'm sure you have lots of there.

It would take an extreme grinder though to powder chickpeas, so this led to grinding dry lentils at our restaurant in Cambodia, and that was a perfect besan substitute.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Oh yeah, we have a lot of garbanzo beans. In fact, lots of them right here at home, though not in powdered form. And with my blender... I don't think I want to try it. A buddy of mine has a heavy duty one, you can grind rice into rice flower. But mine is not that powerful. Though I'll keep my eyes peeled for besan. It's amazing what this city has to offer, you only gotta look for it.

Congratulations @stortebeker! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

heheheh what a great post!!!

I just interacted with you on @sofs-su 20/200 post - and I had to follow you and come to your blog to read more about you.

loved this experiment!!!! and i'm wanting to taste that "burger" right now hahahaha

well actually BOTH of them
the meatie one - and the vegan one too hehehe

so fun - thanks for sharing this!!! i love posts like this that don't just tell the recipe - but give us a peek into your life too :)

awesome :) i'd upvote this too but its past its time - so i'll catch you again in the future hehehehehe

Thank you! I'm glad you liked my post. Of course, I always like to share a bit about myself, other than just the recipe, the film review, or the QOTW response.
Thanks for stopping by!

yeah you bet! :)

it's all about connecting with people!

well - it is for me anyway!!! lol