A Simple Birthday Celebration

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago




It is known in the Filipino culture that celebrations such as birthdays are meant to be celebrated big. Tons of food and tons of guests which includes neighbors, relatives, friends, workmates, etc. Oh, since we're in the digitized era now where social media is the modern social hub, celebrations wouldn't be complete without greetings from your social media friends and a couple of tagged photos from your party.

Filipinos are very festive and any occasion must be well-celebrated. That is why it makes me think that something might be wrong with me or my family. While other families would invite every person they know and blast their speakers to the maximum, we just celebrate quietly without any guests. There were times we eat dinner on a fancy restaurant during birthdays but most of the time, our birthdays are just celebrated peacefully at home with the foods we missed. That's it. I have also set my birthday to private on Facebook so I don't get bothered by birthday greetings. It's a good way to see who truly remembers your birthday too.


MVIMG_20210221_173006_9.jpg


Recently, I celebrated my birthday. This year's celebration was simple but was better compared to last year. My birthday blues last year was the worst, I even feel like crying in public for no particular reason. Lol.

My birthday foods this year are also simple. Our current favorite pizza, my mom's spaghetti, and ice cream.


MVIMG_20210224_185926_1.jpg


The two boxes of spinach pizza was delivered in the afternoon. It was the same pizza we had for Christmas and New Year. There's something in it that's very addicting. Maybe it's the cheese or the oil? Hahaha. I don't know.

Only one box was left when I took the photo because my brother already consumed the other. Yes, the other box of pizza is only his.

A box of this pizza costs around 10 USD if converted from PHP, if I'm not mistaken.


MVIMG_20210221_173006_12.jpg


My mother's spaghetti last New Year's Eve tasted really delicious and so I requested for a part two for my birthday. It has sliced button mushrooms, cheese and sliced beef franks for toppings. Too bad I've only eaten two servings of it. My other brother was eating it every midnight during his break at work, only one serving was left when I checked last night. :(


MVIMG_20210221_173006_10.jpg


And of course, one food that I will always have during my birthday is ice cream. I personally requested for the Quezo Real flavor but they bought an extra strawberry flavor too. The mango ice cream was my brother's. We switch on this chest freezer when we buy ice cream or when the foods no longer fit on the refrigerator.


MVIMG_20210221_173006_1.jpg




My birthday celebration wasn't as fancy as others, but I felt satisfied. I have no material gifts for myself too. I was planning to gift myself months ago, but I thought the best gift I could give myself right now is probably not to spend at all. I am more concerned about growing my savings and that decision made me feel happier. My sister also sent money and that's what we used to the buy foods and groceries for our home. :)


MVIMG_20210221_173006_8.jpg


On the other hand, I thought I had lost my sense of taste when I couldn't taste any spiciness with the hot sauce even though I squeezed the entire sachet on the pizza. The next morning, I had another pizza and flipped the hot sauce sachet and found out that it was...


MVIMG_20210222_202216_1.jpg


Ugh!

Last holiday it was hot sauce. I didn't know they also had ketchup. Lol. Good thing we still have some hot sauce left and added it to the ketchup. Pizza is better when drizzled with hot sauce! :)




tksocmed8.png


Hi, I'm Straykat! :)

tksocmed1.pngtksocmed2.pngtksocmed3.pngtksocmed5.png


new.pngHive PH badge by bearone. :)

Sort:  

I'm glad you enjoyed your birthday; birthday blues are the worst! I think we Mexicans like to get together to party a lot for any little reason but some reason my family doesn't anymore. I used to remember having massive gatherings with all the cousins at our house or my grandpa's house but we don't do that anymore.. Hm. Maybe it's because we all grew up!

Thank you. Yes, I guess growing up is a factor for that. Countries with hispanic influences really love celebrations and gatherings, right? 😂

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you :)

It's always nice to celebrate at home with family. Foods are really looking delicious. Thanks for sharing your moments with us.

Thank you :)

what a sweet post! Hope you had a very happy birthday! My birthdays are a pretty quiet affair too, but the important thing is you're happy and you enjoyed it!
Thanks for sharing!! ^-^

Thank you! Cheers to simple yet happy celebrations! :)

Happy birthday! I used to like loud and big celebrations but as time went by, I appreciate small and intimate celebrations with the fam.

Glad you enjoyed your biethday celeb. Natakam ako sa spaghetti tuloy ulit.

Thank you po. Totoo siguro yung sabi na, you get more introverted with age.
hihi yes, spaghetti is life!