TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #9: Easy Pan-seared Chicken and Potatoes! 🍗

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back with more of our home cooking! If you're unfamiliar with this series, it's where I showcase some of the food we've been making at home since we've been cooking a lot nowadays! Also I'm running out of content so yeah gotta make the most of it!

So in the last post, I mentioned that Sean and I had bought a 2kg pack of frozen chicken that was in our freezer for quite a while that looked like this:

image.png

Source: oscarfoodzi

But the thing about this pack of chicken is that the chicken is all frozen together and it's so difficult to thaw just a couple pieces without thawing out the others. So when we finally do cook it, I'd basically have to thaw everything out at once. So when I cooked the teriyaki chicken, I basically split the entire pack of chicken into 2 meals. The first was teriyaki chicken in the last post, and today we finish up the rest of the chicken!

So for this batch of chicken, I used another one of my favourite recipes from rasa malaysia but I adapted it to my own version! And instead of potato wedges, I made baked potatoes!

I unfortunately don't have pictures of the chicken before that but I did marinade it with olive oil, salt, pepper, paprika and cayenne pepper and left it in the fridge overnight.

image.png

So for the baked potatoes,
step 1: wash and scrub the potatoes to rid them of dirt, then use a fork and poke holes over the whole surface of each potato.

image.png

Step 2: using the same marinade, cover the potatoes with olive oil, and sprinkle salt, pepper, paprika and cayenne pepper.

image.png

Step 3: since I don't have an oven, I used an air-fryer to bake them at 200°C for 40 minutes.

image.png

About 10 minutes later, we can start cooking the chicken! We don't need any more oil on the pan since we already marinaded the chicken with olive oil. But lay the chicken skin side down on a pan on medium heat and cook for about 8-10 minutes, depending on how thick your fillets are.

image.png

Then flip the chicken over and cook for another 8-10 minutes, before turning up the heat and searing the skin until crispy. Make sure the chicken is cooked through before serving!

Unfortunately the skin didn't get as crispy as I wanted, but the chicken was cooked already and we were getting hungry so, it was time to eat!

image.png

The baked potato came out perfectly, with nicely baked middle and crispy and nicely seasoned skin. I know it's typically served with sour cream but I'm not a fan so we just ate it with bacon bits and it was delicious!

image.png

The chicken was also pretty yummy and juicy! It wasn't dry, and was completely cooked through. I thin it might've been the frozen meat that made it a little rubbery in some places. But other than that, it was nicely seasoned and tasted similar to the chicken chops you can get at western stalls in cafeterias and food courts.

Overall, I think this recipe for the chicken was better; maybe because I didn't like the store-bought teriyaki sauce that much, or I just like more spices. But the baked potato was so good too! Glad Seany liked it too! You can never go wrong with a simple one-pan chicken and potato recipe!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #8: Teriyummy Chicken and Garlicky Goodness! 🍗


Posted via foodiesunite.net

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Hello @taco.cat. What awesome chicken dish. It's easy to prepare and looks delicious. The potatoes cooked in the air fryer is the best option. Yes, you can never go wrong with one-pan meals. Simple and quickly prepared. Eating in no time at all.

Thanks for your procedure.

Take care.