TacoCat's TrEats #68: Sitting in Standing Sushi Bar 🍣

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago

image.png

Source: Pinterest

Hey Hive!

Since I've been sharing a lot of our favourite takeaway foods we've been trying during the lockdown, I thought I'd do something a little different today and write about a place I tried post-quarantine.

It's been quite a few months now since Singapore has been out of lockdown, or what our government has termed "circuit breaker", so restaurants have been opening up and allowing in-house dining again.

And my friends and I were really excited to try this sushi place called Standing Sushi Bar!

1.jpg
When I first heard the name I thought it would be an actual standing sushi bar, so I was quite surprised when I arrived and saw people sitting. 😅

We heard that they have a promotion on Mondays and Thursdays where you can get 5 pieces of salmon sashimi for just $3! What a steal! One of my friends, Averyn, has tried it and she said it was good so we were down to try it again together.

2.jpg

But given that promotion, the place gets really popular on Mondays and Thursdays and it was definitely crowded when we went there on a Thursday. Luckily, we had a reservation that we made a week in advance so it wasn't a problem for us.

3.1.jpg

Anyway, after waiting for a little bit for a table to be clear, we headed on in!

4.jpg

The interior seemed nice enough; pretty standard open-concept, with tables and chairs. I guess there was an actual bar area that you could sit at as well. But it was strange that there wasn't actually a standing area at all, despite the name.

5.jpg

But it was bright and comfortable at least. And the air-conditioning felt amazing after waiting outside in the suffocating humidity.

Their menu is entirely digital, with QR codes on the tables. So we took some time to look through the 3 different menus they had - A la carte, Set, and Daily Promotions.

Most of their other items were really expensive, and since we weren't too hungry and mainly went there for the cheap salmon sashimi, we each bought 3 plates, to a total of 45 pieces of salmon!

Oh and my friend Kai also ordered an appetizer - Mentaiko Salmon Skin, which is crispy salmon skin generously coated with mentaiko mayo (a Standing Sushi Bar original creation)!

6.jpg

It actually tasted pretty good! The skin was indeed crispy, and the mentaiko mayo complemented it really well.

Not long after, our huge order of 45 salmon sashimi arrived!

7.jpg

We were kinda stunned at how many pieces there were. It definitely looked like a lot. But since we didn't order anything else I was pretty confident we could finish it.

The glob of wasabi didn't look too appetizing though. But I'm not a fan of wasabi anyway, and since only Averyn eats it she took the whole glob.

8.jpg

I don't think any of us had ever seen so many sashimi pieces on a plate before, so we were all really excited.

10.jpg

Well time to dig in!

0.jpg

I was actually worried that the salmon would taste fishy, since I rarely eat sushi in Singapore (eating sushi in Japan has ruined all other sushi for me). It had been a long long time since I've eaten salmon sashimi, but this wasn't too bad actually! The salmon wasn't fishy at all, it was smooth, and although the slices were a little thicker than the ones I ate in Japan it still tasted pretty good!

We were really satisfied with how good it was, and with the promotion price it was such a good deal! But we weren't quite full even after eating 45 pieces so we decided to get 3 extra plates, rounding our total to an even 60 pieces of salmon sashimi.

11.jpg

I'm not sure why some of pieces were rolled up and had a different cut that the regular slices, and I think those tasted just a little different, but it was still alright. The important thing was that it was fresh and it went down smooth; you could practically swallow one piece whole.

So just a little background info about this place (Cr: Standing Sushi Bar);
Sandwiched between Singapore's Raffles Place business district and the Bras Basah arts area, Standing Sushi Bar offers healthy, high-quality sushi at an affordable price. The founders were inspired by the standing sushi bars in Tokyo and opened the pioneering branch in Aug 2009. A true standing concept, the first outlet received a warm welcome and with an unwavering emphasis on quality, was voted the #1 for sashimi by the local foodie community.

image.png

Source: indesignlive.sg

Since then, they've opened another branch in Marina One, catering to office workers in the financial district. I'm not sure how they're doing now that everyone is working from home, but hopefully they'll stick around. At least this outlet at Odeon Towers seemed to be doing well so that's good.

It is quite out of the way, but I'd say it's worth it for the sashimi promotion. So if you hankering for fresh and affordable salmon sashimi, check out Standing Sushi Bar!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


[//]:# (!pinmapple 1.296498 lat 103.853195 long d3scr)

Check out my previous post in this series!

TacoCat's TrEats #67: Coming home to Han's 🏠

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

got me all hungry now. I love sashimi mmmm

hahah yes I love sashimi too!

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #966.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

hey @ItchyfeetDonica thanks so much for the Honorable Mention! ^-^