TacoCat's TrEats #84: Farming, Filming and Food! ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐ŸŒพ

in Foodies Bee Hive โ€ข 3 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

Now that it's been quite a while since Singapore has has been out of lockdown, or what our government has termed "circuit breaker", restaurants have been operating pretty much as usual aside from implementing safe distancing measures. But of course, we've still been limiting our time spent eating out, or just being out in general, to be safe.

Since I've been writing about Japan and Japanese food for a while, I thought I'd switch it up a bit.

A couple months ago, my friend who owns an insect farm here in Singapore said she needed some help with filming as they were gonna be featured on Nas Daily! I offered to help since I was available, and aside from visiting a real life TV set in Japan I never really got to experience a filming before. It sounded pretty interesting and I thought it'd be cool to see the Nas crew in action irl!

image.png

My friend, Kai, told me she heard some notorious stories about Nas' working style and mannerisms and unfortunately we got to experience that in the farm that day. But regardless, I guess it was still interesting being on set and seeing how a filming is done.

image.png

Here's the video if you're interested!

Anyway, after the filming we were pretty hungry and to thank me for helping Kai treated me to lunch! We headed to the nearest shopping centre which was called Alexandra Central Mall. I actually didn't even know about this place since it's hidden beside a huge fancy hotel, and I never noticed this sign before since it's quite high about street level.

image.png

Source: Auctionjia

Anyway, it looks nice on the outside, but the inside of the mall is actually a huge contrast. It reminded me of old shopping centres from my childhood, before they got revamped into the modern malls you'd see today.

image.png

I can't find any history on it but I think it was probably built in the 2000s or so. There are definitely older shopping centres still here in Singapore, but for being right next to a fancy Park Hotel, it seems kinda dinky.

Anyway, the few food places we saw near the entrance were either packed or too expensive, until we found this place right in the middle of the atrium that practically screamed classic Singaporean.

The place itself is called Sizzling Woks and they actually have quite many big tables for their customers. I guess they must be the most popular restaurant here. The plastic chairs are very reminiscent of coffee shops. In fact, I think most coffee shops still use the exact same chairs today.

image.png

But I realise the reason why all the tables were outside in the middle of the mall was because the interior of the restaurant was so narrow and crammed with all their supplies that there was only space for two small tables inside.

image.png

I don't think I've ever seen a restaurant like this before, but it reminded me of some tzi char stalls in Malaysia or something. Albeit cleaner and air-conditioned of course.

It was quite odd to see the restaurant with so much stuff just out and about. It was still quite neat, all things considering. I assume this is because the back room was used as the kitchen and they ran out of storage space. At least the aisle was clear for the staff and customers to walk in.

image.png

Just like in fast food restaurants, you'd head to the counter to order and pay up front. The menu is up on the wall of the counter and they had a range of Chinese rice and noodle dishes, such as fishball noodle, lor mee, laksa, etc. They'd then hand you a number stand for your order that you'd take to your table so they know where to find you.

image.png

A lot of the menu pictures were also pasted on the walls so you could see what to order while queuing.

image.png

Anyway, it was well past lunch time when we arrived so we were pretty much the only customers there, which was good so we didn't have to queue up or wait long for our food!

image.png

Just a few minutes later, our food arrived! Kai ordered the Crispy Noodle, which is a Cantonese style dish that consists of deep fried crunchy noodles topped with a stir fry of vegetables, meat and seafood cooked in broth.

image.png

Tbh I'm not a big fan of crispy noodles in general, because the noodles aren't that great and the broth tends to be a little too sour for my liking due to the citrus fruit peel they typically add. But Kai seems to like this one so I guess it tasted alright for what it is.

I ordered the Hong Kong Noodle, which is basically stir fried vermicelli noodles with vegetables, chicken slices and prawns. It was actually pretty decent albeit a tad oily. But it was quite yummy, especially after a sunny morning on the farm.

image.png

I think both dishes are about 4-5 bucks each, which is alright but I would personally preferred a little more quantity. Maybe I was just really hungry, but we both finished our dishes in under 10 minutes.

I think this place is more famous for their Chili Crab, but obviously we couldn't order that with just the two of us.

image.png

I'd say Sizzling Woks (or Juz Eat) is a pretty suitable place if you're in the area looking for some affordable Chinese food. Granted, there's a whole food centre just across the street but that hawker centre is not air-conditioned and in the middle of a hot sunny day it's not as appealing.

So check it out if you wanna Juz Eat! Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


[//]:# (!pinmapple 1.287356 lat 103.805057 long d3scr)

Check out my previous post in this series!
TacoCat's TrEats #83: Getting lost in Mazesoba! ๐Ÿœ


Posted via foodiesunite.net

Sort: ย 

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

thanks so much for curating @ewkaw! ^-^

Hi taco.cat,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

oh wow thanks so much for the upvote @curie! ^-^

Rooster cucuroooo

heheh silli

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

I think this mall is actually same development as the hotel.

oh is it? The mall inside looks quite old so I'm not sure. I haven't been inside the hotel either so maybe it's just as old

haha, you want old? cross the road to Queensway Shopping Centre.