Banana Leaf Wrapped Tofu (Pepes Tahu)

Oh my gosh, you guys.

My boss gave me a bowl of power salad on Friday, it had firm tofu and it dawned on me that I have not had tofu for ages! Well....actually, that is not correct. I had a box of DESSERT tofu a couple of months back, altho...yeah not really, I mean dessert tofu is just not....idk I can't find the word for it, I love dessert tofu, but somehow I just think it's not like tofu for meal, well doh TKF, dessert 🤣 But you know what I mean....I hope 🤣

Dessert tofu, is just not tofu! 😁

Anyhoo.

The firm tofu made me missing Pepes Tahu.

In Indonesia, we have dishes that are known as pepes. It can be made of whatever protein and/or greens, almost always accompanied with coconut (either grated or using the milk), but definitely always wrapped in banana leaves and steamed. Pepes is never a dessert but a dish to be served with warm rice.

Tahu is Indonesian for tofu. So yeah, I was missing delicious mouth watering steamed tofu - pepes is always packed with flavor of spices btw!

So ta-daaaa.

photo_1638072843763.jpg

I added chicken in my mixture, but you can use all tofu if you like!

Ingredients:

2 teaspoon of fresh lime juice
4-5 red chilies (more for hotter/spicier)
1/4 teaspoon sugar
8 salam leaves or more, as needed (no subs. Salam leaves are Indonesian bay leaf)
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 lemongrass, cut each lemongrass into 4-5 pieces
2 chicken breasts skinless and boneless, wash clean
5 candlenuts, crushed, then fry without oil, do not burn (no subs)
2 soft tofu, drain then boiled OR drain then steam
4 cloves of garlic
Water spinach, cut, washed, boiled, drain, set aside
3 1/2 tablespoons of coconut milk, the thicker part only
1 large onion
1 whole egg
1 chicken bouillon

Method

  • Using food process, process boiled tofu and chicken until combined. Add in egg, mix well. Add in coconut milk and lime juice. Stir to combine. Set aside.

photo_1638074853651.jpg

  • Meanwhile, using food processor, chopped, crushed, all ingredients minus salam leaves, lemongrass, salt, sugar, and boiled water spinach, until smooth and well blended.

photo_1638074811232.jpg

  • Add in the well blended ingredients into tofu, mix well. Add in sugar, salt (and pepper if needed), mix to combine.

  • Divide mixture into two bowls. Add water spinach into one, mix.

  • Place one salam leaf and one lemon grass on the banana leaf then followed by two tablespoons of tofu mixture. Use toothpick to hold the banana leaf. (For the one with water spinach, do the same)

photo_1638072944306.jpg

photo_1638072872490.jpg

photo_1638072894819.jpg

photo_1638072919924.jpg

  • Steam for about 45-60 minutes.

Tips:

  • When using fresh banana leaves, wipe clean with cloth, then heat it up on stove for a bit, do not burn. This way, the leaves will be tender a bit.

  • When using frozen banana leaves, defrost for a bit, and wipe clean (or you can wash and wipe).

  • Use toothpick or small skewers (cut in few pieces) to hold the banana leaves together.

Sort:  

Que bien se parece la la envoltura a la hallaca de venezuela 🤩

very useful post, I will try at home