Nasi Tumpeng, Traditional Food in Indonesia

20210709_124434.jpg


Today, I got surprised by my neighbors. They were surprised me with Nasi Tumpeng, cause last day I had bad day.

That was my mom, asked my neighbors to doing our tradition. It's called Songgot, a traditional way in North Sumatera if we experience a disaster.


SONGGOT TRADITION

Songgot-songgot tradition is common in Batak culture for families who are stricken with disaster or suffer from illness. Usually, the mother clan group, known in Batak customs as the party who gives the blessing, come suddenly without notification bringing food in the form of dekke (carp) arsik and rice to entertain families who experience calamity or illness.

Before the banquet, the mother clan group will also wash (purify) the sick or the family affected by the disaster first by using kaffir lime juice which means to purify the body of the sick so that the disease or calamity quickly passes or disappears.

On last January, my family given me a surprised, A Songgot because I have illness for 6 month. They were pray for my health.

And now, I have experience met the mugger on the road. So my mom asked my nighbors to Songgot once again.

The different my neighbors' made with my mom's made it's about the food. My neighbors make a Nasi Tumpeng, like it's just for a formality.

Actually they didn't know how to do with SONGGOT Tradition.


20210709_124359.jpg



NASI TUMPENG

Tumpeng or rice tumpeng is a Javanese dish whose rice is served in a cone shape and arranged together with the side dishes. Processed rice used is generally in the form of yellow rice, plain white rice, or uduk rice. This way of serving rice is typical of Javanese or Betawi people of Javanese descent and is usually made during a feast or celebration of an important event. However, the Indonesian people are familiar with this activity in general.

Tumpeng is usually served on a tampah (traditional circular container made of woven bamboo) which has been lined with banana leaves.



image.png


I just woke up when my neighbors suprised me. It's literally embarrassing moment but I felt grateful!


Vivie Hardika

I have so many imagination in my head. Something that I can't achieve as human and as a girl. So writing very challenging. Since in Junior High School, I written whatever I want to write. Without skill, I just write what I want to read. Now I have 10th published novels and all of that are romance.

Yeah, I proudly say that I am an mulititalent author!

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @bahagia-arbi on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png