Salted egg lovers, this way please!

If you have heard of salted egg, and if you like it, this post is for you! I'm a salted egg fan. Mostly just for the yolk part for it's creamy and mild on the salty part. Super umami if you ask me.

I have been growing with it. We, that people eat it with papaya salad, on rice, stir fry and all kinds of dishes.

A while back, I have seen this food hack on TikTok, 'How to cure eggs overnight' - and I was all about it. Last night, I had a chance to give the hack a go finally.


How to

Separate the yolk and dump it in a bowl full of soy sauce. Leave it for six hours then flip it. Leave it another 6 hours then it's ready to be served.

I did pretty much just that but a bit longer as we did it before our bedtime. The yolk got all hardened and seems like all the soy sauce has absorbed.


Result

This afternoon, I tried it with steamed rice for lunch. Oh, man! Isn't it yummy! It's pretty much like a salted egg yolk but more umami because it's flavored using soy sauce. Hopefully more healthy because we know what exactly is in there as we make it ourselves.

Do try! It's super-duper yummy! :)

PXL_20210110_194549510.jpg

PXL_20210110_194437964.jpg

6093.jpg

Sort:  

It is very nutritious and healthy