Cook Your Own Okonomiyaki, Monjayaki & Yakisoba At This Restaurant In Tokyo!

I'm pretty sure you all know Okonomiyaki. Or do you? If you don't, it's completely okay! I have actually shared what Okonomiyaki is in this previous post of mine and where to find them in Osaka.

Osaka's pride is Okonomiyaki while Tokyo has Monjayaki.

I just recently heard of Monjayaki so maybe you are also not familiar with it. It is somewhat similar to Okonomiyaki, but the way they are cooked is different. You'll also need to pour liquid when cooking so it's really a different dish. You can read more about it in Wikipedia.

The restaurant I will be introducing is named Sakura Tei. It is located a few minutes walk from the famous Harajuku Station. The restaurant is kinda hard to find and if you are not good with directions, I'm pretty sure you'll be lost. 😅

Sakura Tei from the outside

Where to find this restaurant? screenshot from Apple Maps

Sakura Tei has a lot of tables but I didn't know about that so I made sure to make a reservation prior to coming. Maybe because this restaurant is kinda hidden that there were a few vacant tables.

Inside Sakura Tei

This restaurant has an English menu and they welcome tourists. I'm pretty sure tourists would like to cook their own Okonomiyaki and Monjayaki for the experience.


Actually, this is not my first time cooking these foods in a restaurant. Prior to coming here, a week ago, my partner and I went to a similar restaurant but it's kinda hard to recommend that restaurant because their menu is only in Japanese and they didn't even tell us what to do or maybe give a hint of how to cook these. My partner who's Japanese doesn't even know how to cook so we just kinda relied on how we remember it and Google. 😅


Okay, back to Sakura Tei.

We ordered Okonomiyaki and Monjayaki of course. We're a group of 5 so we ordered 2 of each. Usually 1 Okonomiyaki is good for one person but if you're on diet not a big eater, you can share it with another person.

It kinda takes time to cook these 2 so we also ordered side dishes. We ordered buttered corn, kimchi and cabbage with spicy vinegar. The corn came with butter actually so we still gotta cook it. 😅

In Japanese restaurants like this (Izakaya), drinks are usually ordered first. We had alcoholic beverages of course!

Kampai!

If you wanna know what my drink is, it's Oolong Highball. My friends got Coke Highball and Lemonade (one friend not drinking alcohol tonight).

We're welcoming a friend coming from Singapore so we let him order Nihonshu (日本酒) or what people commonly refer to as Sake (酒). Nihonshu can be warm or cold but we think it's best for him to try the warm sake so we ordered that.

NihonshuSake cup

After a while our orders arrived. We cooked Okonomiyaki first because that's what everyone is familiar of.

Cooking Okonomiyaki is easy. Since they prepared the ingredients for us, we just need to mix them all. After, pour the batter in the pan. Make sure to form it like an Okonomiyaki. If you have different toppings, you can cook it separately before mixing it with the batter.

The ingredients in the bowl

Cooking now

After the bottom part is cooked, you can flip it. Make sure to do it right. 😂 You can add the toppings at the bottom or at the top. Since we cooked it separately, we added ours on top. You can have other toppings too, it's not just limited to eggs and pork.

Almost an Okonomiyaki

If it's cooked, you can add your Okonomiyaki sauce, mayo and aonori (dried seaweed powder).

Success! Okonomiyaki looks legit!

Pizza-like slices after!

After finishing the 2 Okonomiyakis we ordered, we started cooking Monja.

How to cook Monjayaki? TBH I am also not sure because we didn't religiously followed what was in the instructions (the restaurant has printed instructions and is found in their menu). So what we did was to cook the dried ingredients first in the pan and mix it there. Don't forget the oil.

Mixing the batter

Then make a hole in the middle, just enough to put the remaining liquid in it.

Pouring the liquid ingredient in the middle

The liquid will find its way out so this time you can mix it well.

Then after mixing, flatten it. Unlike Okonomiyaki, Monjayaki is flat, as in super flat. You can add the sauce here if you want.

Flat

It's actually better if you cut it into thin slices so that's what we did. I saw someone doing this in the other restaurant so I told them we should do the same.

Wait for a while and it will be cooked then you can start eating using the small spatula. It's hard to tell when it's cooked so you can just decide for yourself when to eat. This is great for sharing.

Monjayaki on my small spatula

I actually thought we were done eating but my friends still want to eat more so we ordered yakisoba. Again, we need to cook it for ourselves.

I cook yakisoba at home so I'm kinda good at this already. 😂

How to cook yakisoba? Just cook the meat first, then add the cabbage and lastly add the noodles. Add the yakisoba sauce too, just enough.

Yakisoba looks legit, right? I made this LOL

We ate a lot of cabbage and flour and drank a lot that day. We rarely see each other these days so it was really a nice conversation with my closest friends. My tummy and my heart were full that I paid for what we ordered. 😌 Maybe if you catch me here in Tokyo, I'll be treating you too

It's really nice to be able to cook our own food. It's unusual but it's also therapeutic and funny because we just kinda made our own version. 😅

If you happen to come to Tokyo, maybe you can add this restaurant to your list of dining areas.


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1592540413822631938 twitter metadata:OTQ3ODgxMDF8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vOTQ3ODgxMDEvc3RhdHVzLzE1OTI1NDA0MTM4MjI2MzE5Mzh8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jane1289, @wittyzell ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What a cool place, where chickens and foxes are eating 😂
Now you made me hungry! I am starting to realize your blog is dangerous to my diet 🤣

HAHAHA! It's a small chicken so it's a chick for now. Needs to eat a lot to grow up healthy and strong. 🤣🤣🤣

I'm also on a diet now. Before dieting I ate this though 😂
Now, I'm missing it but it's okay... I need to share it so I won't be hungry by myself 😂

Hahahaha, I'm not going to lie all of these names are like anime hero names. For example I'll not be surprised if I saw some of them in Tsubasa hahaha but I have to admit all of these are looking yummy 😋

Hahahaha! It would be fun to know a hero named Okonomiyaki and Monjayaki! 😂
If you’ll be more familiar with Japan, eventually you’ll learn to know the food. It’s like a tongue twister though 😅

Thanks to you, I am getting more familiar with Japan every day. I hope I can come one day and we can have a double date. We'll eat Okonomiyaki while you eat Monjayaki 😂.

I’ll be waiting for that day to happen! 😇

Now I want Yakisoba! At. This. Hour. 😭😭

Maybe if you catch me here in Tokyo, I'll be treating you too

flies to Tokyo HAHAHA

That's the Sake I want!
The foods look yum, I think there's a resto here that offers Monjayaki. I want to try them!

Sorry C! But I was also hungry making this post. Damay2x na this hahaha
See you in Tokyo? hahaha
We can drink sake til morning, charot!
Ohhh there's monja there. Nice! You should try!
Then try it again when you come to Japan and compare haha

Oh, a hidden gem. I like my okonomiyaki a bit crunchy with lots of green onions! Ugh, I might buy tomorrow an instant yakisoba haha! Sherep!

Hahaha! Instant is really so different from the actual but yeah, that can do for now, char!
I'm waiting for you here! Ano na hahaha sama mo na si @cthings at @jude.villarta hahaha

I want to experience cooking my own order of okonimiyaki. The last time I ate one, I was just watching the staff cook it from a glass window in the kitchen.

Bigla ako nagcrave sa yakisoba ~kainis

You can cook it at your home but it's a different experience cooking it at a restaurant, ung legit talaga hahaha
Try mo someday! Sabihan mo ung cook na "ako na" charot

tumabi ka chef, ako na char🤣

Nakita ko to sa mga videos sa youtube eh kung pano siya nagagawa.. Hahaha ang sarap naman nakakagutom sa ganitong oras

Hahahaha! Nag publish kasi ako gabing gabi na kaya magutom ka nang madaling araw talaga hahahah sorry naman powzh
Try mo din to pag makapunta ka to Tokyo

Omg this place look so good I really wish I can visit Tokyo one day, the okonomiyaki looks super, it's hard to find okonomiyaki restaurants in my area, its first time I hear about monjayaki, looks so good too ❤️❤️

The okonomiyaki is really good! Actually it's one of my fave food in Japan~
Monjayaki is popular in Tokyo. I also just recently found out about it. It's not usually shown in anime or tv shows (or maybe it is and I just don't watch those shows)
Hope you can visit someday!

Stuff of Dreams🤌
I wish i could find myself here, so much fun and dish looks yummy tbh.
You're a great guid for excellent food stops Witz❤️

I would treat you to this restaurant if you come here @queenstarr!

You're a great guid for excellent food stops Witz❤️

Ohhh thank you!! Means so much to me!

❤️❤️

I don't wanna take names of the food you mentioned 😂. I don't wanna break my jaws.
Though the food looks very delicious.It is hilarious that you find duckling to cover his face while he was cooking.The eggs needed for the dish could be got directly from it if it were a duck. 🤣🤣

Japanese food is very good. There is a few resturant cooks them. When I went to Darjeeling we ate a lot of Japanese and Chinese food. Yammi ofcourse

Hahahaha! The names can be a tongue twister! That was what I thought at first too. So hard to get it right but eventually I got used to the Japanese names. 😅

Japanese and Chinese foods are so tasty! Love them really!

Ang astig, you cook it on your own talaga UwU. Although nakikita ko din sa Anime ang ganito na sila nag luluto. Mas maganda kapag real time experience. Ang maganda you can cook it the way you want it UwU. Ang ang sarap nonng yakisoba sa huli mulhang masarap pagkakaluto. Grabi madaling araw pinagki crave mo ako huehue 🤤🤤

Yeah there are some anime na pinapakita na you can cook it by yourself. Lakas maka anime talaga. hahaa
Nice din sya talaga to cook on your own, you can decide sa mga sauce and all.
Galing ko ba magluto ng yakisoba? Charot hahaha

Kainggit tuloy huehue. Lalong lakas maka anime kasi real life experience sa Japan talaga huehue

Magalinggggg, hahaha tantya tantya lang ba yarn hahaha

Syempre naman! Nakuuu if you try cooking it, you will say na parang same2 lang naman to sa pagkaing pinoy hahaha

I love Okonomiyaki. You can buy it pretty much everywhere in Melbourne, it's a popular snack. I like the homemade one the best.

Really?! That's really great! Are there many Japanese nationals there? It's so rare to find it everywhere in another country.

Oh yes there are! Many study here. You can find Japanese restaurant in nearly every town. Even hand rolls in school canteens!

That's incredible! I could always imagine JP and AU having good relations (I saw it in one Japanese TV drama 😂)

Kainggit (good inggit) haha! I want to go back to Japan!!!

Go na yan! HAhaha! Open na ulit for tourists~

Ipon muna haha

That looks so good! Tokyo is a bit far to go out for supper for me, but I hope I'll be able to recreate the experience at home some day. Putting a baking sheet on top of the bbq grill might work perhaps...

It is so good! Hope you can recreate one at home. I'm not sure about a baking sheet but if you have a flat pan, that could work~

Mukhang masarap syA.. Ngayon ko lang narinig yan actually hehe

Baka meron dyan, try mo hanapin. 😅

For sure mahal..japanese eh 😂 wag na bka matempt ako 😂

Hahaha! You can do homemade naman, kaya lang di pa ako sure sa ingredients in detailed. For sure may cabbage at flour. 😅

I miss okonomiyaki, monjayaki, and yakisoba a lot! You guys look happy at the nice store!

You could always make one at home~
We enjoyed a lot! Thank you!

Excellent

Thank you!

They all look soooo yummy! 💯😋

they are! a must try when you visit Japan someday!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Mukhang ang sarap. Nakakagutom kahit pictures ha. I wonder who is that chicks/fox?😅

Ahihi gutom ba? 😂
Lunch time na kasi! Kain na daw~

I wonder who is that chicks/fox?😅

HAHAHAHA parang blind item LOL

Ayy oo, gutom na nga. Kaya place halos maglaway na ko sa mga foods. 🤣

Inisip ko kasi baka yung bf mo.,😅

Hahaha Hindi 😂

ayyy, oo. kaw kumukuha ng pic so alangan nasa harap si bf, at katabi iba. Anu ba jonalyn. 😅 Malamang katabi nya yun. 😁

Para kasing ang gwapo nung kaharap, char! 🤪

HAHAHAH! wala si BF sa kainan na to hahahaha mga bisaya ra ni tanan hahahaha

Para kasing ang gwapo nung kaharap, char! 🤪

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Heavenly. Omyy. I would love to try those.

Thank you so much for your support of my @v4vapp proposals in the past, my previous one expired this week.

I'd be really happy if you would continue supporting my work by voting on this proposal for the next 6 months:

Additionally you can also help this work with a vote for Brianoflondon's Witness using KeyChain or HiveSigner

If you have used v4v.app I'd really like to hear your feedback, and if you haven't I'd be happy to hear why or whether there are other things you want it to do.