Slow Cooked Lamb Shanks in Red Wine Sauce

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

I’m a huge fan of my crockpot, as I leave for work very early in the morning, sometimes only returning late afternoon. Therefore, during the week, dinners are usually quickly thrown together, or if I’m in the mood for something heartier and more substantial, I let it simmer away while I’m at work during the day.

This lamb shank recipe is a perfect example. Filled with luscious lamb, various veggies and saucy potatoes, it it keeping our bellies full for a few days!

IMG-3411.JPG

Ingredients:

3 Large lamb shanks (approximately 3,5kg with the bone)
A heaped spoon of crushed garlic
Tablespoon of dried rosemary
Stock cubes
500ml water
400ml red wine
1 Teaspoon red peppercorn
Ground cumin
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
1 Cup brussels sprouts
2 Cups diced butternut
2 Small white onions
1 Large red onion
2 Cups baby potatoes

Instructions:

Arrange the lamb shanks in a crockpot and sprinkle with rosemary.

IMG-3402.JPG

Add a heaped spoon of crushed garlic.

IMG-3403.JPG

Dissolve the stock cubes in boiling water and pour over the shanks.

IMG-3404.JPG

Chop the onions to a chunky consistency and add to the shanks.

IMG-3405.JPG

Drizzle a generous glass of wine over the ingredients, making sure the lambs are submerged in the mixture. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy a glass of wine on the side, as it was 6am in the morning, while we were getting ready to leave for school.

IMG-3406.JPG

Leave it slowly cook on a low heat. I left for work and left the ingredients to simmer for 8 hours.

IMG-3407.JPG

Upon my return, the lamb was falling off of the bone. I deboned it and divided it between two medium casserole dishes. As I was a bit strapped for time, with two hungry kids waiting for dinner, I popped the veggies and potatoes in the microwave for 10 minutes to partially cook.

In the mean time, I developed the broth.

IMG-3408.JPG

Use the gravy left over from the lamb shanks that has been cooking the whole day, add red peppercorns, lemon juice, ground cumin, salt and ground black pepper.

IMG-3409.JPG

Add the partially cooked veggies to the lamb and generously cover with the broth.

IMG-3410.JPG
Place in the oven on 140 degrees Celsius for 2 hours, stirring occasionally.

# The result, a succulent, hearty, home-made lamb casserole, perfect for the last stirrings of winter here in South Africa.

IMG-3411.JPG

### I hope you enjoyed this recipe; we are still licking off our fingers and enjoying the leftovers!

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @wynella! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

https://twitter.com/ella1/status/1428063429403742209
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Very yummy @wynella, this is my kind of food, we all loooove lamb shanks!
I don't have a crockpot but will certainly be trying this in my instant pot on the slow-cooking setting, should also work?

Definitely, I've used mine many times on the slow-cooking setting for the same results as well.

Slow-cooked for the win! This looks so good. I am craving a good lamb shank. Any lamb is so expensive these days.

I know, was shocked at the price, but haven't made it in ages, so couldn't resist!

I can die for a lam tjoppie and they are almost R200 a kilo!? And salaries don't get raised so it is a sad story haha


Hey @wynella, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

That looks delicious!

Have an !BEER to wash all that down.


Hey @wynella, here is a little bit of BEER from @rentmoney for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.