Jalapeños, France and me ( Part.3 )

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago

This post is the third part of previous posts : Part.1, Part.2

While I was looking for more Jalapeños I abandoned the idea to find it in a jar. I started to want to do the brine myself and to buy entire Jalapeños peppers. 🌶️

I looked on the internet and I offer saw "Buy Jalapeños in a supermarket" I LOOKED FOR IT ! I didn't find any supermarkets with the good peppers.

Green peppers, red peppers, sweet peppers. I just wanted to ask one simple question : WHERE CAN I FIND THEM ?

I looked in smaller, organic markets. Nothing. I'm loosing my last hope.😔

The last solution I saw is to buy it on the internet, but I try to buy only local vegetables. And bringing it to my with a plane from mexico isn't what I call local food. It's even more polluting than buying it in a supermarket. 🛬


I realized a few week after knowing that that I have a little vegetable garden on my balcony. So, obviously I wanted to know if I could plant jalapenos on my balcony. If I can't buy jalapenos, I'll do it myself ! 💪🏻

I may buy the seeds on the internet but only once and I'll be able to have "unlimited Jalapeños" 🌶️🌶️🌶️🌶️🌶️🌶️🌶️🌶️

I found the solution but now :

The sowing of Jalapeños' seeds is from February to March, inside.

pexelsinzmamkhan1134204__01.jpg
(Source)

𝕆𝕦𝕔𝕙. It hurts 🤕

I would like to start now but it's too late for this year. Next year will be the good one I hope. For the moment I'll just wait and continue to try to find some in supermarkets.


Maybe I'll do a post next year. I would really love to write that I finally have my own Jalapeños plant and I'm not looking for it anymore. The price is around 2€ for 20 seeds so it's worth it.

My balcony isn't large enough but I may have at least 2 plants I think. 🙄


If some of you know where to find big jars of Jalapeños in France, at a descent price, I should like to know !

While I was writing this post I went to La Roche sur Yon and in a supermarket I saw some Jalapeños, as I said before I bought 3 jars at once.
IMG_20200804_094521_compress22.jpg

I know the brand OldElPaso and I know they sell their products too expensive compared to their quality.

This is still true for this. The jalapenos have exactly the same taste as an usual green pepper and it was around 3€ for each jar.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!