Brownies that take my cravings to a healthy place!

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

B86F5B15-AABA-4F03-A83E-24C70DC8DBD5.png

I’ve been on the search for a healthy chocolatey option for the longest time and my search is finally over!!!!! Hannah Grant has met every expectation so if you’re in search of a healthy sport nutrition snack then head over to her website www.hannahgrant.com

Today we’re working through a Brownie like tart with a topping that has the most beautiful silky texture that I’m tempted to use on all my other chocolate cakes from now on. And the crazy thing is that it is Sugar free, dairy free AND wheat free!!! Whaaaaat!!!?!

I know! No more tummy troubles with this one up your sleeve and no sugar guilt either.

Here’s how to make it:

3E9A1504-E0C4-495D-BDB0-A2DF15D1C0D2.jpeg

CAKE INGREDIENTS
200g Sweet potato (raw, peeled and chopped)
2 large Eggs
2/3 cup pitted Dates (100g)
2 Tbsps Coconut Oil
1 tspn Baking Powder
4 Tbsps unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1/4 tspn Salt
½ cup Almonds
1/3 cup Rolled Oats

METHOD
Preheat oven to 175C
I pre-peeled and chopped my raw sweet potato

30A7265E-B540-4AFD-BC8A-9D321CB13510.jpeg

In a food processor (I used my nutri bullet) add all the ingredients and blend well until a smooth granulate.

59650224-301B-4C48-9738-DF5DDBA391F1.jpeg

Grease your tart dish and pour the thick batter into the dish.

25D1C7C0-F6FD-4AEC-B40E-A531B8EB0F98.jpeg

Smooth it evenly for even baking
Bake for 45-55 mins - check at 45 minutes. If it bounces back it’s cooked, if your finger breaks the top then stick it back in for a few more minutes.

76BFBDAA-B7B3-422A-BC1D-EA2BDD55D85F.jpeg

Allow to cool.

D2EBC32E-4163-4917-96A1-D6E8CD4E25B8.jpeg

CHOCOLATEY SPREAD INGREDIENTS
12 pitted dates ( if they are very firm then soak them in warm espresso while you bake the cake.)
2 tbsps Cocoa
1/4 cup Espresso
6 tbsps melted Coconut Oil
Pinch of salt

5F561996-6C67-4318-B6DF-E0581B2F2AE9.jpeg
I definitely pre-soaked my dates to make a beautiful smooth textured finish later on.

METHOD
In a blender Combine all the ingredients except the coconut oil.
Once combined, add the coconut a bit at a time until you get a smooth glossy consistency.
Pour over the cooled or slightly warm tart and decorate with almond slices.

295A1729-AB0B-4137-96E5-C78A6C93992F.jpeg

I’m very tempted to use this spread on my other chocolate cakes - it’s just so rich and chocolatey.

E8C37CFF-F978-4BAF-8A53-FC0EFDB8BB55.jpeg

This is a nutrition and energy packed healthy tart that you won’t need to feel guilty about!

894E87BC-5446-4741-BFB5-FF41A36A3A75.png

Sort:  

Sweet potato... that's interesting! The end result look delicious though. I see you have a nutri bullet. I have been tempted to get one myself... how do you find it?

ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER

I LOOOVE my nutri bullet! I actually saved up Bruce’s with FNB and got it free that way. We make smoothies, make your own almond flour with raw almonds, make castor sugar from regular sugar, basically anything that can be ground up. It’s awesome. I just sold my old blender because it seemed useless compared to this.

That sounds fantastic! Yeah I would imagine a traditional blender would become relatively obsolete by comparison, lol.

These sound really good @zo3d and the fact that it's sugar-free makes me want to try them as hubby's a type 1 diabetic so he's allowed a little natural sugar; just gives a little extra shot of insulin;) My friend @plantstoplanks first showed me how to use dates as a sugar replacement, works like a charm!

So do grated apples. I'm sure you already knew that so just appease me like "no way!! Thanks DanDays!!"

Thanks Mr. @DanDays!!

I love baking with apples - one of my favourite fruit to bake with! But I usually still add sugar... I’m a diehard.

Pura's all about more Keto and less sugar these days. One of my favorite substitutes for sugar is apple.

Great recipe @zo3d. And congratulations on all the traction you're gaining around here. Now go rub your man's bad foot!

😂 he went for his first surf today after a month so I think he’s already feeling better. No need to touch anyone’s feet.

Whhaaaatttt?!? You mean pedicures and nightly foot rubs are off the table?!

You might wanna keep that one to yourself.

Just sayin

Yes!!! Give it a try!

Congratulations @zo3d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Communities
Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png