My Favorite Comedy: Which will it be?

in CineTV2 years ago

best movie.gif
Source Edited by me in LunaPic

I just discovered this contest yesterday, and then now that I'm late to join. However, I still want to take the opportunity to write about what my all time favourite comedy movie is. Just because it's one of the genres I love the most. If I'm in a bad mood, or sad, the best way to snap myself out of that is beach, sun, or cenote. However, if it's late at night, that's not exactly an option so I'll opt for a comedy movie and will bring my mood right back to where it needs to be.
So without further ado, here's all about my all time favourite.

The one and only Messiah, or not?

In a time when political incorrectness and hilarious satire didn't offend as much as it would these days, Monty Python was absolute king.
The MP crew, which consisted of the five Brits John Cleese, Graham Chapman, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, and last but not least: Michael Palin, as well as the American animator Terry Gilliam, were sure to amuse, confuse, and entertain many people worldwide.
Their Monty Python's Flying Circus as well as their movies was something I grew up with, and found funnier than any of my family members, who never seemed to have the same kind of dark sense of humour as I had.

The team produced a few movies, like The Holy Grail, and the Meaning of Life. However, my all time favourite, and undoubtedly of many others, is the movie: The Life of Brian, where a man, born in a barn, next door to, and on the same day as Jesus is mistaken to be the Messiah.

life of brian.jpg
Screenshot Source

Brian goes through all kinds of hilarious moments, from being hunted by followers and talked into admitting to being the Messiah, all the way to being captured and Crucifiction.
Those among you who are on the more religious side, and have never seen the movie might think: "What on earth is funny about this?" I have just one thing to say: It just is. You'll have to see it to know what I mean.

John Cleese, alrernated by Eric Idle were always my two favourites in the Monty Python's Flying Circus scetches, as well as any productions they starred in separately with the series Fawlty Towers with Cleese, and 'A Fish Called Wanda' taking the lead. However in The Life of Brian, my absolute number one role was played by Michael Palin. He portrays Pontius Pilate in the movie, and oh my, what a great job he's doing as a speech impaired Pontius. There hasn't been a dull moment in the whole movie but his part in it made the whole thing even better.
His speech issue makes for quite some hilarious scenes, and even though I've seen the movie probably more than 15 times in my life, it always has me in stitches.
Every Single Time.
It's the one movie where I must have uttered numerous times: "Guys, I think I've just peed myself laughing." So yeah, it's seriously funny comedy that should not be taken too seriously, if you know what I mean...

Conclusion

Life of Brian is hilariously funny, if you can handle a sarcastic kind of dark British kind of humour. The cast is so used to working with each other, their acting is effortless, almost second nature. One being as funny as the other, it's hard to pick a side, although I choose my favourite in this movie. Michael Palin stole the show for me, hands down.

If you're finding yourself bored, or not in the best mood, with nothing much on your hands, please consider watching this crazy, hilariously funny movie. It will bring your mood right back to being great.

bye text.png


imageedit_0_8411722046.png

Join me on ListNerds Here
last-design-listnerds


As an affiliate with ledger, I receive a percentage of the sales generated through this link

Posted using CineTV

Sort:  

That was a pretty hilarious one. I was raised Roman Catholic so my parents didn't want me even watching that movie. But when it came out I was in my first year in college and there wasn't much they could do to stop me. So, while I thought the movie was funny and I saw it a few times, I think it was more about defying my parents at that time that made it more attractive to me.
A Fish Called Wanda is pretty hilarious too.
!CTP
!ALIVE

Hehe, defying parents is always a good reason to do these innocent things LOL.
Yeah, my parents didn't think it was funny at all, so with only one TV in the house, we had no choice but to bide our time until we could finally see it somewhere.
Yes, a Fish called Wanda was great. I want to watch it soon, because I was watching a trailer of it, and remembered how funny it was.

Thanks for sharing your story!

You're welcome, @misslasvegas. I remember having only one TV in the house. Sheesh! How did we survive? LOL
Have a great day! 😀

We still only have one now...Too many screens already.
I need time in the jungle, I think haha.

👍😀 Yeah, no jungle for me. I am an indoor girl. I don't like to even be outside if it's above 75 degrees farenheit. LOL

Excellent choice. I remember laughing so much at school with my pals when we all watched this film. It really was comedy gold. The Monty python team are each differently funny and compliment each other so well which made them great together. John Cleese has also excelled in some of his more serious roles as supporting actor. later on, I think he was even Q in a Bond film.
Along with the Carry on team, they are a British institution.

Absolutely! Oh, I remember laughing so hard that we'd have to rewind the VHS tape over and over because no one could hear a thing for 2 minutes or so.
Life of Brian, The Holy Grail, Meaning of Life...all of those were absolute master pieces. I also enjoyed Michael Palin's cooking shows, in which he was pretty much drunk most days haha.
The ONE thing I wished I would have been able to go to was their good bye show. What a blast would that have been!

Those were some Comedy classics. They don't make them like that anymore which is a shame.

Yeah, it is a shame. But I'm not even sure if it'd even be possible now. Everyone gets offended about everything these days, and everything is an insult.
If you think about it, people like Chris Rock, Eddie Murphy, and Richard Pryor wouldn't get away with their stand up comedy shows anymore like they used to.
Imagine a show like RAW now! Half the world would be up in arms lol.
And one of my favourites from the past, Richard Jeni...wow. He'd be shot!
That is the real shame, if you ask me. :) Doesn't stop me from speaking my mind though hehe.

Very true. Speaking the truth is now funny because it's true.

Keep on speaking your truth. Peace and light!

Comedy movies speak greatly into our souls, they make us happy and laugh, it is true with what you have said here, just as what we encountered in thehe Monty Python.
Nice entry.

Thank you!
Yes, you're right, it's good to laugh, so comedy should be a must for everyone :)
Thanks for stopping by :)