Katla | A new worthwhile TV show from Iceland

in CineTV3 years ago

Katla


image.png
source


A small, secluded, restricted town near the active volcano Katla in southern Iceland is astonished to see a lost woman wandering into their town, shivering in cold, naked, ash-covered—from top to bottom. Upon receiving some treatment from the local hospital, the woman claims to be living and working in the town hotel. But no one really knows her there. Turns out, she is claiming to be a woman who worked there 20 years ago. But for her, not a day passed since then. They contact the woman who was living in Sweden. And there is an uncanny resemblance. Both women know things only they could have known. It cannot be doubted that both of the women are the same person.


image.png

It doesn't stop there when another woman who gone missing on the glacier about a year ago, comes back. Also naked, covered in volcanic ash. She too has no memories of what happened at that time. And thus the show begins, with a mystery that had time implications of time travels.

This new show called "Katla" from Iceland popped up on my radar recently and my subsequent viewing of its trailer made me curious enough. I admit the trailer gave an impression of a popular German sci-fi show called Dark, which thrived on its complex plotlines, time travel, multiple timelines, and so on. And that is one of the reasons I wanted to see Katla—fully aware that if it turns out to be a Dark copycat, I wouldn't feel bad. I don't mind watching poorly made sci-fi once in a while. Fortunately, it isn't like dark. It is also not sci-fi as many would claim.

For my personal amusement, I have a set of clear conditions on what makes something sci-fi or fantasy. Any story element or function that is probable in the future or has the possibility of happening according to our scientific understanding, is sci-fi. Flying cars, aliens, space travel, zombies, genetic mutations, and so on. And anything that impossible scientifically, or more accurately improbable in relation to the natural laws is fantasy. Telekinetic abilities, gods, spirits, star war's "force" and so on.
Although, I will admit that what is fantasy today may become sci-fi tomorrow, or vice versa. A book written in the 1930s with aliens on mars may be sci-fi in the 1930s, but today it is fantasy as we objectively know there are no Martians on mars.

The mechanism Katla presents before us as to explaining the act of duplicating human beings (which I will not describe here to avoid spoilers) while keeping both versions at the same time is not physically possible. Perhaps a near-identical body is not impossible to recreate using DNA information, but the consciousness and personality that shapes a person cannot be replicated best to my knowledge and therefore I'm considering Katla as a fantasy narrative.

Being fantasy is not a defect of the show, I enjoy the genre as much as I do sci-fi. The distinction I made here is just because I like categorizing things.

Katla is an interesting show at any rate. The plot is captivating enough. Although it has some pacing issues. I got bored many times and wanted to rush. It is bad with anticipations. You ignite the audience and then you keep feeding them stuff to keep it lit—Katla forgets to do the feeding part. While the cinematography is quite charming and pleasant to the eyes, the show doesn't offer them enough. Nonetheless, I loved the cool tones and the harsh geography of Iceland. The set design is amazing, you feel yourself near a very active volcano, waiting to erupt and swallow everything with fiery saliva.


image.png


image.png
source


image.png

But it does stand out with its philosophical implications. While I liked Dark, the biggest complaint I have against it is that it is too mechanical and heavily relies on the sci-fi aspect. Katla on the other hand uses the mystery to build relationships on set and questions the motives of living. Shared unhappiness and expectations we face every day in our lives. Loss, pain—what could have been and what has been.

The show might not blow anyone away but definitely a good watch.

Trailer

attached photos are screenshots, if not otherwise specified.


divider 1.png

You can read more of my film and literature related articles on my hive blog page.


2.gif

Hive footer notacinephile.gif

Sort:  

Gasps There are no Martians on Mars?! 😳 But I like Martians, lol! Any sci-fi I watch that refers to Martians as beings on Mars usually makes me laugh. Such comic relief!

I like your distinction between sci-fi and fantasy. While I partially agree with your stance, for me any movie that focus on something which is impossible scientifically but the movie portrays it as possible is sci-fi for me.

I'm liking this Katla tv series already!

Hi, sorry for being late.

The general notion would go along with your stance, to be honest. That is the norm.

If you see the series, do tell me how do you like it!

Congratulations @notacinephile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

It seems to be very interesting TV show and visually, a very neat production.

It actually is! You might have a jolly time seeing it. 👍

On a side note: Several years ago, that Volcano almost cost us a very expensive "Cruise Ship" Holiday. All week I was watching the News and Weather and finally accepted that this particular Holiday was just not happening. At the end of a very stressful week I got a phone call from the Travel Agent, saying that Gatwick Airport had re-opened for flights.

Can you imagine the excitement and panic? when I told my Wife that we had to go pack and get to the Airport in less than 3 hours. Somehow me made it , and was an amazing Egyptian Cruise.

Heya mate, I'm late to reply.

Wow, you live near that area? Despite the Volcano butting in, it's nice that you've managed to make the trip.

Seeing the show, I wondered why people live so close to active volcanos. Economic reasons were the answer when I looked it up.