A Broken Promise - My Teacher Journal 2

in Education4 years ago (edited)

During the HBL week, my students were given assigned work through google classroom and they were supposed to follow the instructions and complete their work.

I would usually check and mark their work. By checking and marking their work, it would provide information about how well that they had learnt.

There was a particular female student that did not do her work. She said that she wanted to do it but she forgot about it since she was planning to do it last minute.

I decided to give her another a few more days and she agreed to it as I would often give chances for my students to complete what they were supposed to do.

promise.jpg
Image Source

I was unhappy when she did not complete her work that she agreed after warning her about the need to inform her parent about this if she did not do what she was supposed to do.

I informed her parent as a result.

As a teacher, we should never give empty threats that we do not carry out. We should set good example and do what we have said.

Last Thursday, I decided to play a game called ‘Average Hunting Game’ for Math.

The winners would get prizes from me the next day. I did go and buy the prizes after school and gave out the prizes the next day.

By doing so, I kept to my promise.

In the current society, there are many people that may not always do what they have promised but those who always keep to their words are valuable regardless of where they go as people can trust them.

A good reputation can go a long way regardless whether we are bosses or employee.

There are people who would lie or deceive for the moment of benefits but honest and trustworthy people may be rewarded for the long term even though they may look like they lose out at the moment of time.

Disclaimer: This is my personal reflection and I am not in any position to instruct anyone what they should do. I am not responsible for any action taken as a result of this post. My post can only be a reference for your further research and growth. By reading this post, you acknowledge and accept that. All images and pictures were taken from google images that are free from copyright under labelled for reuse.

uniquely hive post.jpg