Spelling spelling and spelling!

in Education2 years ago

Image source

Learning to spell correctly has always been very important to me. In school we were taught the spelling rules and we were in deep trouble if we did not use the rules when writing. I can remember my grade seven teacher had a wooden plank, and we were so scared of being punished that we made sure to learn those rules. Even today I can still recite all the rules!

I just can't figure out if corporal punishment was in fact a good or a bad thing. Even though I am totally against corporal punishment today, it really worked on some kids back in the days.

We did not have many rights as kids and corporal punishment was used often in schools to ensure proper discipline. Later on kids suddenly received all these human rights and corporal punishment is now banned and totally against the law. Good riddance!

Let me get back to the spelling issue...

Even though these rules were forced onto us, I believe that spelling is of utter importance. Learning to spell helps to add the cement between letters and sounds and this improves how we read and write. If a student can spell a word correctly, it is quite certain that he would be able to identify and pronounce this word correctly, hence making him read with more comprehension.

There are so many words in the English language that can confuse kids, and if they don't spell correctly their sentences might have a totally different meaning altogether. If the wrong spelling is used in a sentence it would be really difficult to differentiate the meaning.

Image source

Even though I am fanatic about spelling, I have found this interesting paragraph on the internet and it just shows us, that it doesn't matter in which order we put the letters of a word, we can still make out the sentence.

Aoccdrnig to rscheearch by the Lngiusiitc Dptanmeret at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn’t mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a total mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.

Isn't this interesting?

What kills me today, is the new text language that kids developed. I must plead guilty on this. I often use the abbreviation LOL which means laughing out loud but what amazes me, is that I have never typed out the words "laughing out loud" to anyone!

Ever since I found out what LOL means, I use it more and more. It is easy to type and everyone knows what it means. Kids start using these abbreviations because it shortens their text messages, and we all know that texting is the most important thing on a student's mind.

Please enjoy this video as I absolutely love this and it totally express the way I feel.

Sort:  

Written language has changed, spell checker cannot spell, texting with auto-text correct on is dangerous.

We were taught English as we know it, America have different spelling to ourselves, most spell checkers based on American spelling.

Oh dear @giantbear something I too find complicated, sometimes give in to have a good laugh. The world is becoming a village!

@tipu curate

Oh I hate auto-correct @joanstewart! This is a good video isn't it?

Video was good to watch, explains concept. Alas the written English we grew up with has been watered down to a point where you question yourself.

Even with Seth spelling issues I had him typing up a grocery list the other day and everything on the list was spelt correctly! And I also enjoy his personal vocabulary 😂. He uses bigger words than I do!!! There may still be hope for the younger generation.