The Old Dog Explores: Pasta, a Simple Meal Served in Many Ways. Contest!

in Contest Fun4 years ago (edited)

Like most of you I'm still here on lockdown and I've been going through some of my photos. I came across this dish which I enjoyed last summer in Novara Italy, Trofie with Pesto sauce.

Pesto Trofie.jpg
In this case it was served with a nice piece of fresh mozzarella.

In Liguria Trofie are traditionally served with little cubes of potatoes and string beans which are cut the same length as the pasta. I enjoyed it served that way when I visited the Cinque Terre.

Trofie: A short twisted pasta from the region of Liguria which encompasses Genova. They are most often made from flour, salt and water but no eggs. The twists are thicker in the center and pointed at the ends. The name trofie is derived from a Greek word meaning nourishment.

Pesto: A sauce which originates in Genova and it usually consists of garlic, pine nuts, coarse salt, basil leaves, hard cheese such as Parmesan and then it is blended with olive oil.

The name pesto means to pound or crush.

Now It's Your Turn. Show me How You Enjoy Your Pasta!

Here Are The Rules:

● Show me a nice way to eat pasta

● Post your photos in the comment section below

● The photo must be yours NOT one that you find on the internet.

● Maximum of 2 entries per person

● If you make a post promoting the contest I'll try and give it an upvote as well

● There will be at least 5 prizes of 2 Hive each!

● The contest closes in 7 days

If you like contests and would like to see more of them here on the Hive Blockchain please consider upvoting my posts. Contests help our community so spread the word!

Until next time,

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)
Hnn9KVMPzMZMLnVWGphfdaziivwC2z8fiYJZsSfDtNd2frSNNgLyajK4L3TqEoZChNRursw8RvPCjVQ8hsGgsHKeoycPLeNEhph5hGWEt443Sjp7qNCPciGoDhgHpBZ861REmqrMv3jAjLEPBuxDP2mvmwEPYJcScW4TRbaZNV2XYmjqUErC2ts8WZoJnUBTP5y1hhn9LpeJrGqCRwskSfsPbQTRLxF.png

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

A shout out to all the good people in Italy. I know they have had a time of it lately with the virus. I did a little promotion post and will enter this shot of some pasta I bought that came from Italy...in the color of their flag 😊

20200423_174856.jpg

Great looking pasta and a nice shot to boot!!!!

I've had an ongoing love affair with pasta as long as I can remember! It all started with canned Chef Boyardee ravioli and Campbell's Spaghetti Os then evolved into preparing various pasta dishes as I learned my way around a kitchen. I was also strongly influenced by growing up near the Italian community called "The Hill" where Italian chefs prepare authentic gourmet meals at the numerous amazing restaurants located there.

Without further ado, here is my entry:

mas854.jpg
https://peakd.com/hive-122136/@ninahaskin/pasta-la-vista

Great entry, thanks!

I love pasta - whenever it is done properly....

My fav is lasagne, but this eat a lot prep time.

A few days ago, we made colored pasta. Have a look
image.png

Fabulous!


Hello dear friend @ kus-knee. What is promised is debt. This is the link of my post. I hope you like it
I wish you a great day
https://hive.blog/hive-148441/@jlufer/cassava-gnocchi-a-simple-pasta-served-in-many-ways-contest-noquis-de-yuca-una-pasta-sencilla-servida-de-muchas-maneras-concurso

Excellent and nice to see how you do things!

Thank you very much dear friend @ kus-knee, I really appreciate your comment.
it is always a pleasure to accompany your contests
I wish you a splendid afternoon

Oh I love Pasta. I had these Trofie as well, they are yummy.

A couple of days ago we made MANTI, a turkish style Ravioli. We´ve spent hours in the kitchen, making the dough, rolling it out very thin, cut small squares, put a small piece of seasoned minced beef in the middle and fold it. We then baked it for about 15min. After that they are ready to cook. We made a lot of them and put the rest in the freezer. It´s a very traditional turkish dish and you eat it with garlic yoghurt and a red sauce of tomato paste, mint, butter and other spices. A lot of work but it´s worth it.

IMG_5867.jpg

Amazing. It looks fabulous!

thanks :). We just had the rest of for dinner. so good

Your Liguria Trofie looks really delicious! Sharing our comfort food is a great idea @kus-knees.
My contribution to the pasta party is a simple wholewheat linguine served with a Basil Tomato, Onion & Baked Beans sauce which more than sstisfied; can't run to the stores like before as we're in a strict lockdown in my country! Cannot wait to have freedom of movement again.
20200301_132323.jpg

That looks soooooooo yummy!!!!!!

This is my own pasta I prepared by myself...
I always love it when egg is added to it.

IMG20200408WA0089.jpg

Here is another one cooked for me by my younger sister, tho I didn't like the look but, it taste well.
She added fish, eggs and sit of things in it to make it tasty.

IMG20200417WA0054.jpg

Thanks for stopping by...

Well done! What a nice sister you have!

I´ve got one more. I had these yummy homemade Orecchiette Pasta at a italian restaurant on Bali.

IMG_2085.jpg

Great. Thanks!

The Thai Spaghetti pasta with with seafood known as....Spaghetti Kee Mao Goong in Thailand is one of my favorite spicy spaghetti dishes in Thailand simple to make and very nice taste with the added garlic, chilies, onion, and pepper and some Thai Basil..... just superb.

n9nrac.jpg

Hmm, no pasta here! Only boiled rice with others and sometimes noodles or other biscuits/snacks! 🍜

I imagine noodles could be considered pasta.

Hi, this is my favorite pasta dish:
Homemade pasta with "cruschi" peppers, fried bread crumbs and grated ricotta strips.
"Cruschi" peppers are peppers first dried and then fried in extra virgin olive oil.


Copertina1.jpg


rq0p3c.jpg

Beautiful Presentation!

Hello dear friend @ kus-knee. In my country we are great eaters of pasta, in my province we eat some delicious gnocchi made with cassava, I am going to make a post on this specialty.
Excellent contest. I wish you a great day

I shall wait patiently!

I love my pastes in many ways whether it be seafood , carbonara spaghetti or spicy seafood but i do love a plain fat spaghetti the way my Italian sister-in-law does it with her rich home made red sauce mixed in with some Italian basil sprinkled with some slices of parmesan cheese just the best melts in your mouth 😊

2qstfr.jpg

Looking good. What a blessing to have an Italian sister-in-law! In Italia si mangia bene!

Yeah i think that's were my extra 5 kg has come from she's definitely a great cook 👍

Bellissimo 😊

Oh, this looks amazing! I could have stayed living in Italy, if only for the food! Dare I say that there has never been another cuisine that has totally turned my head like theirs?

Thank you for sharing this delectable dish of deliciousness!

Upped and Reposted

!tip .20

Thanks. Will you share a photo with us?

Nice contest, I did do a post on my bachelor pasta recently, perhaps I can redo a post on it or try something new!!

A few photos from you original post will be good for the contest!

I love pasta, I would eat it every day!

This is the baked pasta that my wife and I made on Easter. Homemade gravy cooked for more than two hours, meatballs, mozzarella and a sprinkling of Parmesan.

With a nice bottle of red wine it was just perfect!

After eating it we both fell into a deep sleep.

Really exceptional!

It looks fantabulous!

My entry

IMG_20200426_103213973.jpg

Great, thanks!

Thanks for entering!

🎁 Hi @kus-knee! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.