Sort:  

and meanwhile... the person with the alleged 'highest IQ out of anyone that's ever been tested' can't figure the meaning of this cartoon out... and proceeds to brag about how much he works out.

rather hilariously ironic, given the nature of the cartoon, isn't it? 🤣👏🤓

Every academic I know criticises the government.... The trumpets and bolsominions (brazilian version of trump pets) all were crying against science exactly because the scientists said the government was handling bad the pandemic both in USA and brazil, by not restricting correctly and by delaying vaccinations....

Think before you meme. Think. Maybe if you are against most people that dedicated their entire lives to research biology throroughtly then maybe, just maybe, you are the brainwashed one....

Wiser people than you realized most people are ignorant and can only approach (even without reaching) the truth by trusting and working with others.

You can question, but from what I have read you are most likely, best case, just wrong and dumb, worst case you are knowingly putting people at risk.

plato

descartes

Boy, did I hit the nail on the head...Okay, okay, "I'm convinced", how about you?
;-)

Hi,
I followed this exchange.
So you are saying that most of these people have dedicated their lives. Personally, I don't know any such passionate people who devote their lives to their profession, for instance. Do you?

It seems to me like an ideal of the selfless researcher who devotes his time and energy to nothing but altruistic motives. Whereas the reality of life is rather that one has to pay the rent, buy food, bear running costs. On top of that, there is pressure to adapt, both socially and economically. Add to this the interests of those who, by virtue of their corporate form, wield far greater influence than you and I, and their profitable interests, and then consider what their priorities might be.

The moment you insult someone you meet online as stupid and inconsiderate, however, you disqualify yourself. Would you do the same in direct contact with your fellow human beings vis a vis?

Why do you comment in this way? I suppose you don't assume that your interlocutor, addressed in this way, will change his mind and reply: "That's right, I'm stupid and I'm a reckless person"? Where is the gain for you in your comment? I do not understand it.

By dedicating their lives I mean they focused on a field of research. You seem to imagine I meant they worked 18 hours a day, so no. If you want to get a masters degree, a Phd and discover something you have got to put effort in working and studying at the same time, does not necessarily mean you won’t do anything else.

Yes, I do know people that dedicate their lives to science because they study and work the same field at the same time, it is quite common for doctorates. How is this not dedication? I plan on doing the same. If I planned on not dedicating I would, for example, finish my degree and just work a good paying job in computer science, but I plan on studying and working in parallel until I die.

And yes, I expect people to reflect “well, actually yes, some people spent years studying something on real labs doing real math and peer reviewing and getting scrutinized at each step to get a masters or PHD or publish a paper, maybe they know more than me about vaccines and infections”

If I did not expect to change someone’s view I wouldn’t write. We all expect to make a difference. For instance, why did you reply? Did you want me to reflect on what I said? Did you write just want to waste electricity? What was the goal of writing to me?

I pointed out to you that you will not achieve someone's goodwill - and thus their compliance or reflection - by directly insulting their person. Even my criticism, in which I said that you would disqualify yourself by doing so, did not cause you to affirm that insults have no positive effect. You are welcome to your expectation that the other person should nevertheless reflect, but it is unrealistic.

No idea what you wanna say. What i understand does not fit to me
(says the person with the alleged highest IQ out of anyone that's ever been tested.)

I might be the first man you ever „met

I worked out 4 hours today like almost every day (sometimes just 2-3...)