You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive's centralisation problem

in Deep Dives • 4 years ago

Great post. Great work. Good job! AFAIK anyway. 😂

So, the bottom line for us security freaks is:

The best is to only use standalone apps to interact with Hive, such as Ecency Desktop/Mobile and Dapplr. These are stored locally on your device and can't suddenly become compromised from a central authority.

I'm going to take your advice.

And how does HIVE-ENGINE figure into things? I'm a little concerned about how Hivesigner is constantly asking me to import my active key, for example ... haven't tested it enough, but it could be that every time I change device ... doesn't seem to happen with PeakD ...

Sort:  

Hive-Engine does transactions so it makes sense that it uses your active key to sign them. If you went to power up or transfer in PeakD, you'd likely see the same thing.

Yeah, but the import active (or even posting) key should be a one time affair, not every 3 or 4 times you login. The Hivesigner password should be all you need after you've imported your key ONCE I should think.

BTW, I've tested a bit more and it has nothing to do with changing devices. It looks like if you're logged in normally, trading, making and canceling orders, Hivesigner works as set up across platforms without asking to import your key again, BUT if you claim rewards, you get asked again to import your account again, AND then you can't place orders again until you repeat the process again for that. Going back and forth from trading privileges to claiming rewards privileges causes Hivesigner to sign you out on the prior, but sign you out hard since your Hivesigner password no longer works and you're asked to import again. I don't know if I've explained this very well, not knowing the specific terminology, etc., but I'll keep documenting my experience. I seems a little weird ...

Edit: Open source?

Ah, well during the short time I used Hivesigner it seemed very buggy and would never actually save my account info, I had to re-enter it every time. Hive Keychain has worked flawlessly, although the interface it has is a little peculiar and due to how it works it opens up a potential browser fingerprinting vector. The fingerprinting vector isn't going to be a big concern for most people, though if you're using Tor Browser it would be a concern.

!ENGAGE 50

Thanks for the tokens

Just a heads up, looks like the engage bot only processed your comment without the value.
https://hiveblocks.com/tx/a7a5d1e8806c58519e7935265e7de48258762b71

Does it not show in your wallet?

This kind of analysis is invaluable. Just noticed you posted it in Deep Dives, BTW. Very cool.

Yeah, I'm starting to get used to the communities and tags here.

I might start development on a Hive DApp soon, I have one idea in particular that would be interesting to implement, though I'm not sure how much the art and music communities around here would enjoy it.

Good communities to target, if you've got something that would interest them, you know, that satisfies a need. The art community looks very active and vibrant to me. I remember seeing a trending post on commissioned art from an Italian artist, if I remember correctly ...

Can't hurt to ask around. It's the only way to find out.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.