You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leftists are outraged as a GOP suggests something they have suggested in the past.

in Deep Dives2 years ago

I realized that at some point I accidentally upvoted my own post here. First this is not something I do intentionally. Second my vote at the moment is worth so little that it is not wise to do so, especially since it removes me from the VYB pool and other things. Oh well. I must have gotten click happy at some point.

Sort:  

I was wondering if there was an informal rule about that. I read that you can upvote your own but always felt reluctant to.

Culturally it is generally frowned upon. It is a personal choice. I have a rule that I will only upvote my own posts if they receive downvotes with no explanation for the downvote.

However, once #vyb became a thing you were rewarded vyb for posts that you put in #pob or #proofofbrain and #vyb. Yet if you upvoted your own post you did not receive that reward in vyb.

It provides a good incentive for never up voting your own post. Now at the time that was done #vyb was worth a lot more in terms of financial value than it currently is.