You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ...

in Deep Dives3 years ago

By dedicating their lives I mean they focused on a field of research. You seem to imagine I meant they worked 18 hours a day, so no. If you want to get a masters degree, a Phd and discover something you have got to put effort in working and studying at the same time, does not necessarily mean you won’t do anything else.

Yes, I do know people that dedicate their lives to science because they study and work the same field at the same time, it is quite common for doctorates. How is this not dedication? I plan on doing the same. If I planned on not dedicating I would, for example, finish my degree and just work a good paying job in computer science, but I plan on studying and working in parallel until I die.

And yes, I expect people to reflect “well, actually yes, some people spent years studying something on real labs doing real math and peer reviewing and getting scrutinized at each step to get a masters or PHD or publish a paper, maybe they know more than me about vaccines and infections”

If I did not expect to change someone’s view I wouldn’t write. We all expect to make a difference. For instance, why did you reply? Did you want me to reflect on what I said? Did you write just want to waste electricity? What was the goal of writing to me?

Sort:  

I pointed out to you that you will not achieve someone's goodwill - and thus their compliance or reflection - by directly insulting their person. Even my criticism, in which I said that you would disqualify yourself by doing so, did not cause you to affirm that insults have no positive effect. You are welcome to your expectation that the other person should nevertheless reflect, but it is unrealistic.