Mental health and PTSD ....The long term mental health effects of cognitive dissonance.

in Deep Dives4 years ago

PTSD, (and other mental illness) are on the rise throughout society.

cd.png

I think their may very well be ONE, main, underlying reason - in regards to PTSD, CPTSD, and other anxiety based disorders.

COGNITIVE DISSONANCE!

Before I dive into my theory even more, let me give you an example of my own cognitive dissonance issue - And how it makes me feel.
This example is not a serious issue, which is very relevant as we go on.

For those not aware of what cognitive dissonance is, here's an explanation...

Cognitive dissonance –
In the field of psychology, cognitive dissonance occurs when a person holds contradictory beliefs, ideas, or values, and is typically experienced as psychological stress when they participate in an action that goes against one or more of them.
When two actions or ideas are not psychologically consistent with each other, people do all in their power to change them until they become consistent.
The discomfort is triggered by the person's belief clashing with new information perceived, wherein they try to find a way to resolve the contradiction to reduce their discomfort.
Human beings strive for internal psychological consistency to function mentally in the real world. A person who experiences internal inconsistency tends to become psychologically uncomfortable and is motivated to reduce the cognitive dissonance.

Ok, back to my own personal cognitive dissonance story. (as I just said, the minuscule effects this has on me, just goes on to illustrate later on in the post just how big a deal it is ).

My brief cognitive dissonance experience..
I grew up in the UK. There, we drive on the left side of the road.
During my travelling years, I lived in Hollywood, CA - for three years or so.
During those three years living there, I drove a certain route, maybe three or four times a day, minimum.
In the US, people drive on the right side of the road. (the opposite side of driving in the UK)

What does this have to do with cognitive dissonance?

fs  Copy 5.JPG
Green line = the route I drove several times a day

...In my 'minds eye', when I picture that 600 yards journey - I imagine me driving on the left side of the road!
I imagine, in my minds eye, turning left off Hollywood Blvd, driving down Le Brea, turning right onto Sunset Boulevard, and then turning right into 'Ralph'S supermarket' car park.

ALL FROM THE PERSPECTIVE OF DRIVING ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE ROAD!

WTF!!!
I know this memory to be a false one.
I KNOW this did not happen.
I also KNOW that I relive that journey in my mind, incorrectly.

fs  Copy  Copy.JPG

THAT is cognitive dissonance in action.

(two opposing realities competing. In this case, I'm aware of them consciously).

As I've said, this is a minor example - but it still causes feelings of negativity within me, and a strange sensation deep in the pit of my stomach (anxiety).

Ok, so if this is the reaction to my own tiny experience of it, how does it effect people in more extreme circumstances?

This is my own hypothesis.

what is PTSD?

PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder).
Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is an anxiety disorder caused by very stressful, frightening or distressing events.

What if this is an incorrect diagnosis?

What if the PTSD is an extreme expression of the distress caused by cognitive dissonance?

I've seen many ex service people (and a couple of policemen) suffer from PTSD.
Depression mainly, but also uncontrollable rage, and other symptoms.

I think what may be attributed to the cause of PTSD may not be the traumatic event.
That extreme circumstance may well have been the trigger - but not the cause.
The cause may actually be long term cognitive dissonance.

I'll use real life examples to better illustrate my point.

Think of the police in Melbourne, right now - arresting people for what they know is a hoax virus.
Cognitive dissonance will kick in (maybe unconscious at this point).
They can rationalize their behaviors ' just following order's', kind of thing - in that moment.
But later on, months, or years, later - they still have the two conflicting realities going on inside their heads.
They know it's wrong to go along with incorrect actions from their employers.
They know the people that they are arresting (incorrectly according to law) are the same people paying their wages.

fs  Copy  Copy.JPG

Now, imagine if that unresolved conflict of realities festers - for years and years.
Is the resulting depression and anger resulting from the cognitive dissonance, expressed in ways that we now define as PTSD??

NOW..imagine how much worse it might be for soldiers fighting in war doing things that they would not normally do - and they know, deep down, that the 'reasons' for them being there, and the violent actions they rationalize as legitimate, are not the real the reasons at all?

If my cognitive dissonance of driving on the left side of the road still reverberates within me - 20 years after leaving LA - Then try to imagine the reverberations of killing innocent people in war that was a total sham.

PTSD seems like a very likely outcome to me....

The trauma of the events may well be the 'in the now' flashbacks that the PTSD is attributed to - but the underlying cause might well be the cognitive dissonance building up over years of the two opposing 'realities'.

If this is the case, then the treatment of PTSD is woeful.
It is treating today's symptoms, rather than rooting out the underlying causes.

Imagine if you could reconcile (therapy for most people suffering, I would presume - I don't know), the fact that you were lied to - and the fact that your actions were, back then 'in the moment' - and essential for your own survival - but then also accepting - taking responsibility - for your actions - no matter how bad they were.
Your actions were as a result of being conned by 'the authority'. Your employers. The people that you respect(ed).

"it's easier to fool someone, than for them to admit to themselves that they were fooled...."
Hello PTSD...?

I think my examples more than explains my hypothesis.

I hope you found this useful.

(do you like my footer?)

fs  Copy  Copy.JPG

Sort:  

and then add lack of oxygen from wearing masks - what then? by the way - PTSD is simply the dumbed down way to say SHELLSHOCK

'shellshcok' was the term used to cover ex-servicemen condition (originating ww1)
PTSD (and cptsd) is an attempt to cover more aspects of trauma/anxiety in an individual - not just the effects of being in combat zone's,
(the term that 'shellshock' was originally intended for).

Oxygen deprivation is fucking torture!
(see my latest post on conformity - posted an hour ago - to help to explain this obedience to a slow suicide)

I never thought about it like that but now I'm thinking about 90% of the population are about to get a big dose of PTSD

When American tourists come to NZ and hire cars they drive on the wrong side of the road and cause crashes, so there are arrows painted on the road for them. That is FTOTWSOTRD - fucking tourists on the wrong side of the road disorder - but that has just been fixed by banning tourists...

Good post - I'll fling some pocket change at you now I know you live on 75 cents an hour (I'm still freaking out about that)

image.png

yeah..... I've not seen this hypothesis put forward anywhere else - but it does kinda fit (from my own experience and from people I know).

55 cents an hour? fuck off !....$1.75 - if you don't mind!

You are the cheapest counseling rate on the planet.

are you on peakd?(it won't let me hivesigner in?- keeps on whirring)
....and hive blog is a bit sticky too...

PTSD is stamped big on my medical files , very stressful, frightening or distressing events filed my life in the view of the doctor's . Duh... yeah .. welcome to my normal . And yes i might have some cognitive dissonance issues with authority and government rules these days ;-)

That's shit for you, matey...
It makes you wonder that if, somehow, you can 'fix' (unconscious) CD somehow, the PTSD symptoms might dissipate..?(I dunno, just throwing out there).
I've not seen this hypothesis talked about anywhere else..

Fix my free-thinking unconscious rebelling agorist mind , change it in to a static democratic commie living in fear for fuck all . ... no thanks , then again , i do not have symptoms like PTSD normally shows , it's the doctor's that from there fears calculated that i must have them .
The only CD i practice comes from contradiction between my reality and that of this worlds governments . Kind of makes me rebel .

So to go full conspiracy , they stamped me with PTSD to silence me ....
.... fuck i think i am paranoid , now am i ? ;-)

lolololol ...I'd never trust a doctor to even diagnose me with having two arms and two legs matey!!!
(I saw how they virtually killed my dad off with drugs that were 'meant to help' - that was before I knew 'what was what ' re the pharma/medical cabal.. )

They offered me relief and comfort true "drugs" ,... i refused , my medical box is empty ... except for Marie Jane ,.. she helps to deal with the pain .
It's hard to see others walk straight in to that pharma/medical trap and vanish .
Sign's that we reached the end of our civilization ? A planed , or natural happening to reduce population ?
Sorry my mind went in override a bit there ,... so mush info ;-)

...there's nothing I can see (for the last 5 decades) that doesn't point towards a planned depopulation...

Ho'and ,.. nice cool footer :-)