You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leftists are outraged as a GOP suggests something they have suggested in the past.

in Deep Dives2 years ago

Man, you've just made one of the most brilliant arguments I've ever read about this whole left vs right thing. I'm not an American but I follow American politics quite a lot, I know the left paint themselves as freedom loving, liberal, progressives while the right paint themselves as conservative, religious values kind of guys.

I myself I'm a freedom loving, liberal progressive guy (or so I paint myself?😅😂🤔. Actually, though, I'm all of that.) and most of the times that I look at American politics I side with the left. But a further thing about me is that I am very objective, all I'm in for is logic and common sense. What you've just presented here is straight up common sense, it's just that I've not verified those additions to the bills you talked about (my bad), but certainly using the titles of bills rather than their contents to make people support or not support it is total bullshit and it's a shame we have to explain this to anyone.

What Boebert said is also common sense and your suggestion perfects it even more. It should all depend on the size of the bill! Whatever side a person wants to be on should never affect common sense.

Sort:  

I am more center. Though I'd be called Right or Alt-Right these days because I disagree with what the "left is doing".

These days I am closer to a Libertarian. "Socially liberal, fiscally conservative".

Which believe it or not is close to what Liberals used to be.

The word was hijacked and tarnished so the phrase Libertarian came about to describe what Liberals USED to be.

The important thing to realize is that today is the product of manipulation. If the traditional mainstream media is telling you something it is very likely being sculpted to illicit a very specific response. It is manipulation. It is propaganda.

It is repeated over and over and when you hear something over and over again that can effect anyone. That is why propaganda is so effective.

When you hear something declared debunked the moment it was announced you have to realize no time has passed. Nothing could have been debunked.

Yet these days that happens frequently. Many people just in a conditioned way accept it as true because the media outlets they've heard their entire lives have told them to.

Yet what if the media outlets are controlled by power seeking criminals?

I'll tell you now. That is NOT a what if. It is the state of things in the world at the moment.

Let that be in your mind any time you are consuming information. Then you can review the information without immediately thinking it must be true.

That's what's always in my mind when I'm consuming any sort of information, I start thinking of all the thousands of reasons and incentives for why this information may have been manipulated and all the thousands of ways they could have manipulated it. At the end of a lot of my information consumption I come out just feeling like I have a lot of research to do to make up my mind on this thing, I also have to know that since sources are limited I might never know the truth on a matter.

Yep. That's all anyone can really do if they are trying to be informed. We can't know everything.

I view the world as a changing set of probabilities. I just change the way I think and adapt as new information makes some things more probable or less probable than others.

I don't dwell in an area of certainty and absolutes. Not even my own thoughts remain absolute. I change my mind just by thinking all of the time. It is not static.

That's great, man, that's about how I roll too. 👌