Sort:  

That scene is in the official trailer linked above, and what I never knew until watching the beautiful documentary I'll link below this post, is that the film was in large part a product of one man resisting the aver stricter traffic-laws and speed-limits. That man was Brock Yates a print and TV journalist, screenwriter, and author who was a longtime executive editor of Car and Driver, an American automotive magazine. The Cannonball Run was, to me at the time at least, just a fictional race across America, from New York to Los Angeles. Much later in life I learned that the Cannonball Run existed IRL as well, but only yesterday I learned just how much the film was based on the real thing. You see, to race from the east- to the west-coast as quickly as possible, is a matter of smart driving, avoiding traffic jams, adjusting your car with a larger gas tank as to minimize fuel-stops and avoiding the state highway patrol ("smokey" in slang) among many other things. In the film, Burt Reynolds and his partner (played by Dom DeLuise, drive an ambulance. Or a van disguised as an ambulance, because who would stop an ambulance? And they hire Farrah Fawcett as their fake patient, as well as a rather suspiciously drunken doctor to complete the picture. Of course they are stopped by the highway patrol, but some quick thinking by the fake doctor rescues them and they can proceed on their way.

Dear my amigo @zyx066, I also remember the movie The Cannonball Run. I remembered the movie as simple American commercial entertainment.

By the way, It's interesting to see you claiming that the film's purpose is to resist American laws and institutions!

By the way, I am very curious about what American laws, systems, and ideas my friend
@zyx066 opposes! 😄

What does the future utopia dreamed of by my dear friend @zyx066 look like?