Endless lines of song - words into Art

Following on from my most recent post about Rosetti's poem, referring to "their path was vague in distant spheres", I decided to listen to some music and see what I could fathom up into existence using Mid Journey and additional prompts.

The Ritual

Here, I simply described a ritual that took place inside of a cathedral, inspired by the many hundreds of hours of symphonic and gothic metal that I've listened to throughout the ages. I asked for it in the style of a journalistic photograph, and this is the outcome of many different iterations being tuned.


Unto The Locust

A line from the MachineHead song, "Locust";

Tear the veil the lies prevail trumpets sound the shattered crown the whole charade comes down, realistic, photographic, incredible detail, masterpiece

This is a pretty impressive rendition of an etching, marred by dust, smoke, and decay. It is a fairly abstract composition that has a fair amount of disharmony. I fed the bot a pretty esoteric bunch of words here, so it is no surprise that the result is exactly that.

The lack of balance between the two figures in the centre of the composition is really interesting, as are the smaller figures in the background, enveloped by smoke.

The Marionettes

image.png

Further lines from the same MachineHead song:

strings pull the marionettes see how they dance upon the winds that begat our pestilence, realistic, photographic, dramatic, highkey, incredible detail, masterpiece,

I don't really see the High Key elements of this composition, but again, it certainly does capture a feeling of pestilence and decay. Given that the source material is all about a literal, biblical plague of locusts having their way with the crop of humanity, this is an apt representation.


Converting song into visual is something that has constantly fascinated be as a creator. My first major piece of work at high school (Go read about how I ended up with a Master's Degree in Visual Art) was inspired by song, and I would go onto to use music as a major influence in my work, all the way through Photographic outputs, where I took a "playlist" of favourite songs and completed a portrait image of each, accompanied by the lyrics.

Look hard enough into my past on this blockchian, and you'll find those too.

I hope to produce more in this style, and there's a certain piece of music that has haunted me in terms of its powerful representation and narrative that I simply just must produce something to get the imagery out of my mind. More to come on that one. Possibly in the next 48 hours!


Want more content from me?

Witness my futile efforts to play my Steam Game collection in alphabetical order.

Are you aware that I love photography? Check out my work in a collection.


If you haven't started playing Splinterlands, you should do that immediately. It's very good fun.

If you want to see my Splinterlands antics and rants live, Find me on Twitch

If you prefer sleeping in your designated time zone, go watch replays on YouTube.


Thanks as always for your time!

Sort:  

Wow I really like the atmosphere of the last picture "the puppets" really cool

Thank you very much! Curating these images is a fun experience. I learn so much about composition, lighting and other fundamentals by doing so.