Comparing Stickers in Midjourney By Versions

Vesion header.jpg

Couple of new things going on in Midjourney for me. This past week I learned how to create stickers using MJ. I still am playing around with parameters but am pleased for the most part on how they come out. I have some ideas for what I want to do with stickers.

Version 5 of Midjourney was released for paying members like myself. One of the big changes with the new version is they encourage you to write natural language descriptions of what you want to create. I’ve done a couple of images for posts and been pleased with their quality.

But, what I decided to play with today was seeing how stickers could come out in the different versions of MJ. I’m thinking versions 3, 4, 5 and niji. The niji version produces anime type results. I’m going to use the same prompts for each version. Let’s see what happens.

I quickly found with version 3 I needed to add a stylize value on to the prompt I didn’t need with the other versions. Interesting results. Notice that the white background part of the prompt was ignored on each of the images. The big eyes normally part of a “kawaii” design didn’t appear on the ice cream, nor did the white cutout around the image. Overall, not a bad result.

I’m most familiar with version 4 as that is what I learned with. Overall the results came out well. I’d be able to use these for use from realistic images to more playful depending on how I craft the prompts. Nija I’ve not played with much but I do like the anime effects and it is a popular style for graphics in some areas. Some of the version 5 came out much more realistic than version 4.

Let’s look at the results for the different prompts. On all the images top left is version 3, top right is version 4, bottom left is niji and bottom right is version 5.

red fox, sticker, cutout, factor, white background

Red Fox.jpg

I think I’d use niji for playful and version 5 for realistic.

kawaii ice cream, sticker, cutout, factor, white background

Kawaii.jpg

Kawaii images are meant to be playful. I think I’d use all but version 3 which didn’t put the eyes on at all. I really like version 5.

cyberpunk kitty, sticker, cutout, factor, white background

cyberpunkkitty.jpg

Version 3 is more like a little doll, niji is a playful but very much cyberpunk. I like both version 4 and 5.

boho puppy, sticker, cutout, factor, white background

bohopuppy.jpg

Version 3 is kind of cute but not in a boho way. I’d use niji as a playful sticker. I really like version 5.

Final Thoughts

Overall, each of the midjourney versions have their value and you can switch between them depending on your needs. I love how much version 5 has brought image generation forward and will be doing more playing with it.

As for the stickers, I plan to be creating and selling some in the near future.

I hear they expect to have version 6 out within the next couple of months. They sure do keep things interesting.

Badges 2023.JPG

Shadowspub writes on a variety of subjects as she pursues her passion for learning. She also writes on other platforms and enjoys creating books you use like journals, notebooks, coloring books etc.
NOTE: unless otherwise stated, all images are the author’s.

Some of the image work may have been done in Midjourney for which I hold a licence to use the imges commercially.

Cat divider.PNG

How to Connect With ShadowsPub:

Twitter: @shadowspub
Instagram: shadowspublishing
Medium: @shadowspublishing
Publishing Website: Shadows Publishing
Nicheless Website: Nicheless & Loving It
(Podcast & subscriptions for: Prompt A Day, PYPT Reminder & Newsletter)

Pimp Your Post Thursday (PYPT):
join us on the DreemPort Discord12pm EST Thursdays


Cat divider.PNG

Get eyes on your content and meet new friends. Join DreemPort.

Sort:  

I love the cyberpunk kitty stickers, they are really fun! 😃

I think I'm going to have some fun with the punk designs.

Very cool work you're getting out with MJ.

I found myself researching (and officially making notes now) more about sound healing, this very morning :D

It's very interesting stuff! And then you popped into my head so I came to say hi and hey... I've finally gotten around to researching sound therapy/ healing.

This makes absolute sense, you know. It works with brainwaves and uses rhythm and frequency to induce different states of consciousness. (Same as hypnosis)

I think this may be my new thing actually...

So thanks for that original post! I would have thought this was woo woo - as it turns out... it's pretty scientific and (for me anyway) a very powerful tool. 👍

Have a great weekend.

!LUV

it's interesting the things we discount ends up turning out to be pretty interesting when explored further. I also find the recordings relaxing to work to.

it is though... I think we are led to where we need to be as we are ready to understand more.

Both my son and my daughter use music to concentrate as well. My daughter listens to trance while she studies and she's an A+ student. If you can believe that!

Makes me wonder how many kids are struggling in school simply because of the enforced silence in class, huh?

It will be an interesting new learning curve on my side for sure!

Have a chilled, easy Sunday :)