A post about bliss and the lessons of the Zen master

IMG_20221025_215354.jpg

You know that expression "cat's life".

IMG_20221025_215415.jpg

For me, it is an expression and symbol of bliss, of the easy and carefree life, full of pleasures and sense of freedom, which only cats are capable of.

IMG_20221025_215438.jpg

And which I think you will see represented best in these pictures.

I've told you before that cats (unlike us humans) are great at enjoying life. Here and now. In the most primal way possible, but at the same time in the most elevated way possible. In the wisest way possible - since these creatures are wiser than us anyway.

IMG_20221025_215503.jpg

It's clear from the way the cats are enjoying life that they are in the here and now. There is no tomorrow, there is no: what happened yesterday? Why didn't I catch that damn mouse? And why did that pigeon slip away from me? My human didn't give us pate today, damn it, I'm going to suffer today because of it, etc.

IMG_20221025_215527.jpg

It's rather: what warm sunshine there is today, and the tiles are so attractive, I love them, now I'm going to give myself completely to them, what happiness... (remember those pictures I showed you recently of our princess sleeping on metal pipes). 😄
Happiness. And carelessness.

IMG_20221025_215637.jpg

The cat I'm showing you, our princess, is no more. But I'm sure she never occupied her beautiful head with thoughts like: How long will my life be? Will I be there tomorrow? Will I go back home tomorrow?
She enjoyed every single minute of her time here on earth. In our yard, on my windowsill.

IMG_20221025_215707.jpg

In a way only she can.
In a way only a cat can.
In a way that I personally cannot.
(yes, I know she was sent to me to be my zen teacher, and even now that she is gone, her pictures remind me constantly of that mission of hers 😍)

IMG_20221025_215804.jpg

So when I start to mourn her absence, I remember one thing - she lived a great life (like any cat), wild, free and crazy. She always did what she wanted. She went wherever she wanted. She lived 100%.

IMG_20221025_215849.jpg
(You could tell by her look how confident she was. Uncompromising and self-confident.)

You know that parable about the inscriptions on tombstones in a cemetery indicating not the length of life, but the time during which the particular deceased person was happy.
This time, compared to the length of any one life, is negligibly short.
In people's lives.
But in the lives of cats?

IMG_20221025_215600.jpg

I'm not sure there is such a term as "happiness" in cat life. There is rather the term "enjoyment" and "full value".

IMG_20221025_215737.jpg

Name another animal, a pet, that is capable of that.
Dog? No way. Dogs are so focused on pleasing their owners that they are unable to fully enjoy life.
Or they are capable, but not in the way we understand it, the way cats understand it.

IMG_20221025_215919.jpg

Cats are unapologetic enjoyers. They take no account of anyone. They don't ask anyone, they don't seek approval from anyone. They are just looking for the most comfortable (for them) place where they can enjoy life peacefully without any intruder interfering.
"Leave me alone" - that's what our princess's face said every time I photographed her while she rested and enjoyed herself. "Go do your mindlessly-important human activities while I do the all-important cat ones" - that's what she said.
Unforgiving and unapologetic.
Not tolerating objection.
My beloved Zen teacher. 😻


Happy #CaturDay to you all, cat lovers!


Copyright: @soulsdetour


Hive.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lightcaptured ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 133 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9

All yoga teachers must resign. Cats do better :D

!PIZZA
!PIMP

Oh yeah, Cats do everything better. They are the best at everything. And let me tell you, I think I learned a lesson from this post. I don't feel like doing anything today. 😄 But I also have no remorse for this lack of desire. For the first time in my life. I think I am progressing in the lessons given to me by the best Zen teacher ever. 😻
!PIZZA

Probably you're right about the cats. With one small exception - the things they sometimes eat... I wouldn't :D

!PIZZA

Well, don't forget that cats are professors. 🤓😹 What they eat... is just good for them. Besides, what I've seen dogs eat, no cat will eat!
!PIZZA

Ditto! :D
That surely ends our "argument" :D
!PIZZA
!PIMP

Have a great Sunday!

Ha ha 😄 Have a great one you too!
At least, what's left of it 😊
!PIZZA
!LUV


You must be killin' it out here!
@lightcaptured just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @soulsdetour.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


You must be killin' it out here!
@lightcaptured just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @soulsdetour.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

🍕 PIZZA Party!

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
soulsdetour tipped lightcaptured (x3)
@soulsdetour(3/5) tipped @diziette (x1)
lightcaptured tipped soulsdetour (x3)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

So sorry to hear about the loss of your cat!
But indeed, there are many things we can learn from cats (and many other animals, or nature in general), that would make us much more happy…

Observing the objectivity and impartiality of nature certainly teaches us many things. And it definitely makes us happier.
Man is destined to die. Point. Let's make our time here before death a little more pleasant.

Nothing but truth in that!

Hei Why does the guardian look so lethargic like a person who is heartbroken😅

Oh no, you can't break a cat's heart. It is unbreakable. 😹 She looks like this because this is a way for cats to rest - lethargically. Or in short - in the best way. 😃 She rests in the best possible way, as well as doing everything else in the best possible way - fully committed to what she is doing, here and now.

Haha, I liken it to me when I feel heartbroken🤣, It's good if your cat is doing well and his heart doesn't break either

“Name another animal, a pet, that is capable of that.
Dog? No way. Dogs are so focused on pleasing their owners that they are unable to fully enjoy life.
Or they are capable, but not in the way we understand it, the way cats understand it.”

It’s true, I can’t find the words to describe just how true this is.

I can imagine me calling a cat by the I gave her and she just lies there enjoying her time alone 😂😂

Exactly - her time alone. 😄 Cats get so irritated when they are not left alone. There are times when they want to be stroked, the rest of the time they just want to be alone to do their important cat things - lounge, sleep, hunt and play.

Thank you for your beautiful post. I like dogs, but in my heart I am a cat person. I simply love their sense of humor

I don't know how you can like dogs but be a cat person at heart. 😄 Of course, one can love all animals. I, for one, love most of them, but my last dog helped me see through canine nature, especially after he tried to kill me a few times... (bekloppter Malinois)
No, I don't like dogs anymore. And yes, I love cats' sense of humor too. Even their capriciousness and their treatment of us as masters to servants.

I have known a few good natured dogs. An untrained or badly trained dog is no one's friend. That is why I will never adopt a grown dog. Most important, it should love cats

That's exactly the point - 'untrained or badly trained'. This means that one has to devote endless amounts of time to training this dog, as well as being constantly engaged with it. The cat, on the other hand, does not lend itself particularly well to training. It doesn't need it either.
You are so right about adopting grown dogs. Things can turn out well, but there is always a danger, a huge danger that something bad will happen because of things from the past.
!PIZZA

What a simple life a cat lives.

Simple, yet so meaningful. Personally, I envy the wisdom, the simplicity, and the ability to sift the worth from the less worth. 😃

It's a sweet cat, it's a pity that she's not with you anymore, and I also very much agree that cats are indeed wise, she just chooses a comfortable place for her and there are no intruders😊

Thank you for the kind words, @poetjuet01 😊

You're welcome soulsdetour🙏