Feast of Saint Nicholas, the most feline holiday

For several days, our cats persistently smell of fish. 😁

IMG_20221121_002011.jpg

This smell is tangible when I pick up one of them and hold him close to me.
I often kiss our Blacky when he looks clean enough, πŸ˜ƒ but now it's not very pleasant. Because the smell of raw fish overpowers the pleasant cat smell.

IMG_20221121_002044.jpg

Our three cats also seem to be fed every day for the past few days. Looks like someone somewhere is feeding them again. This time with fish. And this fact again fills me with wonder.

IMG_20221121_002127.jpg

But let's get back on topic. Fish.
Yes, Saint Nicholas Day is coming. And today I thought of these funny photos I managed to take last year at the same time. Or rather - one day after Nicholas Day.

IMG_20221121_002156.jpg

I decided to post them today rather than on Saint Nicholas Day itself because today, #Caturday, is the official cat day on Hive. 😺

IMG_20221121_002315.jpg

Although the Feast of Saint Nicholas is the most feline holiday for me.

I'm not joking. I remember years ago when in Malta I saw that infamous monument on the coast with a fisherman and a cat. Then these figures seemed strange to me.

IMG_20221121_002439.jpg

It was strange to me that they were standing next to each other. And most of all - it was strange for me that the cat was standing on the coast. So what will a cat do on the coast, near the water - it does not like to swim.

IMG_20221121_002542.jpg

Later over the years, however, I realized that these two figures are so inextricably linked that perhaps they cannot even live without each other.

And further over the years I have witnessed strange scenes to me such as a cat standing on the seashore, sleeping on the seashore, sleeping in a boat on the seashore, lurking behind a fisherman sitting on the seashore, or trying to steal the freshly caught fish from a fisherman sitting on the seashore.

IMG_20221121_002631.jpg

The island of Malta is full of cats. As are all coastal towns, as are all fishing villages. Cats can swim very well. They just don't love it.
I saw how our three cats this summer were not quite happy when I tried to cool them down in the hottest heat by dousing them with water. Although here, in recent days, when it has been raining non-stop and it is already quite cold, I see them walking wet in the garden and the water does not seem to bother them.

IMG_20221121_002824.jpg

On the other hand, we've had cats that didn't want to eat fish. Yes, there are such strange creatures of feline origin.

In general, cats will not stop surprising us with their behavior and preferences. I'm sure.

IMG_20221121_002859.jpg

But I think you already see where my post is going and what I'm trying to show you through it. πŸ˜ƒ
It was one day after Saint Nicholas Day last year. When I saw our princess Stefka carrying something huge in the garden.

IMG_20221121_003009.jpg

You can clearly see the dimensions of the photo. This "thing" is bigger than her head. So don't ask me how she managed to get it into the garden. Where did she get it and how did she get it, jumping over house fences and sneaking through bars. (She was our little magician, doing seemingly unthinkable and impossible things.)

IMG_20221121_003156.jpg

Stefka was an uncompromising hunter who stopped at nothing. Nothing could scare her. (And of course, one day he had to pay the price for it.)

IMG_20221121_003300.jpg

So she brought this big thing from somewhere to eat it in the garden in peace. And as you already saw it in my post about Professor Shisho, these little beasts, cat brothers and sisters, even though they fight with each other all day, it turns out that they have respect for each other. Because they don't hook the prey that someone else has caught. Shisho managed to eat the giant water bug by himself, while Stefka then calmly ate this huge thing, under the calm eyes and company of her brothers.

IMG_20221121_003421.jpg

What gentlemen! πŸŽ©πŸ˜„
And what a lady she was, biting that huge carp head. πŸ‘‘πŸ’„

IMG_20221121_003453.jpg

Well, I hope you again don't judge me. You know I'm a nature lover. It's just that nature is cruel. Although this is not even about cruelty here. It's just a piece of dismembered fish that was cooked by some neighbor. There is nothing sinister here. Nor cruel. These are the things of life. Which my camera (phone) shoots impartially.

IMG_20221121_003610.jpg

I remember that Stefka's brothers still managed to patiently wait for her to have enough of the carp head so they could taste it too. Everything went very smoothly and in a friendly atmosphere, not typical of the bloodthirsty beasts they inevitably become when they smell flesh and blood.

IMG_20221121_003706.jpg

Well, that's it from me. I hope I haven't affected your holiday somehow with these photos. Still, it's A CAT'S HOLIDAY, NOT YOURS, do you understand now? 😸


Happy #CaturDay to you all, cat lovers! 🐱🐈🐟


Copyright: @soulsdetour


Hive.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.
Sort: Β 

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 134 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
15

Fishercats :D
Caturday is overtaking HIVE :D :P

!PIMP
!PIZZA

This is normal. We're more cat lovers than dog lovers here, right? Or rather, cat servants, πŸ˜„ ha ha, I know what you're going to say.
!LUV
!PIZZA

cat servants

LMAO, very well said! On point! :D

!gif cat servant


You must be killin' it out here!
@lightcaptured just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @soulsdetour.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Β last yearΒ (edited)Β 

πŸ• PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@soulsdetour(3/5) tipped @jlufer (x1)
soulsdetour tipped lightcaptured (x1)
soulsdetour tipped poetjuet01 (x1)
lightcaptured tipped soulsdetour (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

It seems that your cat really enjoys the dish😊

Yes, she sure enjoyed it a lot. She's even putting in a lot of effort, as far as I can see from her expression. But the effort has been worth it, that is clear. 😸
!PIZZA

Yes, there is no effort without successπŸ˜‡

Hello dear friend @soulsdetour good day
Cat behavior and their personalities never cease to amaze us.
I love to see the respect between the cats when Princess Stefka is enjoying her lunch
beautiful shots
enjoy the weekend

Dear friend @jlufer, feline behavior is a science that books are written about and may never be figured out, even for the rest of our days on earth. πŸ˜ƒ
Have a wonderful weekend you too!
!PIZZA

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much for the support! πŸ€—

Big meal for the guardian πŸ˜…, It seems that he needs a scrap, isn't the grilled fish head too big😁

Very good observation. πŸ˜ƒ This head is really too big for her. I don't know how she managed to get it into the garden. She's amazing cat!

Of course it takes a struggle to throw such a big party😁

Hi @soulsdetour, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you very much for the support! 😊