Mushrooms from the Woods and Bread from the Wood Stove

in ecoTrain3 years ago (edited)

Since we are here at the beautiful off-grid homestead in the Balkan Mountains in Bulgaria, I have access to a great big kitchen, and I love spending time there!
I really love my van and I'm very grateful, that I have a little kitchen in there too, but it's so good, to have a bit more space and a great oven to work with again, if only for a while :-)

The oven is actually a wood-burning stove, which I've never used before, so it's a little bit of a challenge to handle it, and I still need some practice, especially with firing it ^^
But I love cooking on it and baking also works great, I just have to look after what's in there more often and turn it, so it doesn't turn black.

So today I made a lovely loaf of bread :-)
And I feel, it's even better, because I cared so much for it.


IMG_20201109_164014.jpg


While the bread was in the oven, I prepared the mushrooms that I picked yesterday, for drying them.

It was my first time picking mushrooms, and I didn't know for sure, which ones are edible, so I only picked a few and sent some pictures to my brother, because he and his wife are real experts in the mushroom-picking-business.


IMG_20201109_100804.jpg


On the picture you can only see the ones I prepared in the end, I actually had many more, but most of them turned out to be non-edible ^^ so they all went into the compost.

Unfortunately I can't tell you how they are called, because I already forgot. For now, I'm very happy, to be able to recognize some edible mushrooms in the forest, and I'm sure, I will be out there again a few times the next week, so that we have a lot of tasty dried mushrooms in stock for the winter :-)


IMG_20201109_161016.jpg

all pictures by me

Sort:  

I don't know anything about mushrooms, but that loaf looks wonderful... :)

Thank you! <3 And it also tastes very good, we just had it for dinner :-)
Yeah, I don't know much about mushrooms either, I didn't even like eating them a few months ago, so I never joined my brother on his mushroom picking trips ^^ But now I'm learning, and it's a lot of fun!

Over here, no one dares to pick wild mushrooms... Guess not many know about them! Our edible shrooms are all store bought! Lol...

I know, it's the same in Germany. No one does it. I think, maybe it's different here in the remote areas of Bulgaria, the people still have the knowledge.
Mushroom picking or gathering walnuts or herbs, it all makes me so happy!
Nature provides us with so many tasty things, we just have to go out and pick them :-)

Hi anafae,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Cool, thanks for the support! <3

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!