Day Three For The Second Thermophilic Compost

in ecoTrain2 years ago

I woke up this morning around 1 am to check on the thermophilic compost and found it around 160 F. Since the area I am in, Eugene Oregon, is under an extreme fire watch and currently have ashes raining down on us; I decided to poke some chimneys to vent some hot air out. I told @mrprofessor that I am trying to avoid doing before the first turn but considering the circumstances, I went ahead poked some holes. The temperatures stabilized at 160 F and I was able to go back to bed feeling good that this pile will not get past 170 F towards 180 F where alcohols are produced and can ignite.

I woke up again around 5 am but for the day. I went out and checked the compost and the temperatures were still around 160 F. Phew! I will need to turn this compost tomorrow morning at 5 am though due to the temperature range.😑 So I setup the next pallet and wire cage for the compost for the early morning party.

So far so good for this thermophilic compost pile. I need to successfully pull this thermophilic compost pile off to get a compost certificate with The Soil Food Web School. I need to successfully do two thermophilic compost in a row to get a compost certificate. I just recently turned the last compost pile one more time hopefully this morning. I ended up turning it SIX times total! Yikes! I had too much nitrogen in the pile and it was most likely from the horse manure. I still passed apparently with it but mostly had to turn so much because of moisture management. Each time the compost heats up moisture is moved around the pile or lost from heating.

I think it is ready to go through the maturation phase as it has been at 90 F all day. We will see what it looks like tomorrow.

I had to do all of this in really smokey and ashy air from the Cedar Creek Fire. It is raining ashes and will be for one more day I guess. If anything the lack of Sun is helping keep the compost at a good moisture level!

But the ashes and lack of Sun is not that ideal for the girls in the greenhouse!

Sort:  

This is a great idea, controlling the thermophilic phase of the decomposition process of organic materials is the key to success in obtaining high quality compost.

Yes, sir! Thanks for stopping by!

!PGM 👨‍🌾

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @operahoser

remaining commands 5

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Congratulations @dynamicgreentk! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 6500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.

Amazing! It's incredible to see how much control you have over the compost, and actually realizing that the science really works.. I mean, I know it works but I've never seen someone really analyze the data, unlike me that blindly see it working xD

Just have your fingers crossed that the temperature doesn't rise again..... Great job you are doing there