ecoVillages Journal #32 - I moved in to my yurt and our ecoVillage land tonight!

in ecoTrain4 years ago (edited)

What a special day it is for me and the ecoVillages project! It's taken several months of waiting, pining, working, and hard graft to finally be sitting here, off the grid, in my cosy new home and yurt! I FINALLY sit on my own ground, secure. That is what i have craved for so many years now! I have lived in India for the past 15 years, and i have had no security or stability. I was refused a visa several times, and only by Gods grace was I able to get it and stay there for so long. That life ended abruptly in March whilst i was here in Portugal looking at land and hoping to buy something so i could start the life i am now living. I never expected it to happen so quickly, but India wouldn’t let me back in! I had to reboot my life totally and completely... RIGHT from the s start.

All i had with me was a half empty suitcase and my laptop and phone. The rest of my possessions, home, cats, and life was whipped away in a flash! Step by step I surrendered to giving it all up, and step by step i have committed to being here. Now i have a home, a car, and some very basic things to start living again. I still have a long way to go, but now things will go quickly because i am sleeping here tonight, the first night of many, and staying here during the day to work on making some furniture, toilet, kitchen and more.

I hope next week we will dig for a bore-well and become self sufficient for water! We tried a well, and sadly that didn’t work out. The digger made a huge hole as deep as he could go, but it was bone dry. It was even my birthday and i sat there watching for 4 long hours hoping and pacing around for my potential birthday present from our land. I would have liked a well for a few reasons, but mainly because it doesn’t need a pump to get basic water running. IT is what it is, and anyway once we have an earthship built we will harvest the rain and i will build water cisterns that can hold enough water to last the long dry summer through. I think its possible, and we will hopefully have a bore-well as backup!

Now I am finally here, i can start the ecoVillage project Phase 1. I am going to build our HQ and earthship here as a model and test for a design that will I hope perform very well in this very hot location, year round. I have the plans and am ready to get in touch with a local architect to finalise them and start the process of applying for planning permission. I have NO idea how long that will take, but i have a pretty good track record of making these things happen quite quickly.

Fibonacci Spiral Earthship 3D Fly through Reveal



What I am planning to do here is exactly what the local government want and need. The water levels are going down, we need to be catching the rain. The power systems can be decentralised, much of rural Portugal doesn’t have power lines running up every track. The ground is dry and sandy and it needs people to come and to nurture it.

I stood by a pile of large stones this evening at sunset. This land has a lot of history, just like this whole area does. Its history feels rich and joyful, but that was a long time ago.

The timing is just perfect now for the new generation to return, from all over the world. Portugal has its doors open to almost everyone. Just come and they make it so easy for you to stay. The locals are warm and friendly, and the international folk are incredibly supportive. I know a dozen people already who are living on their own land, self sufficient and off grid. We all help each other here, we just have to ask and there is always someone ready to pitch in. Its beautiful, ive never seen anything like it before. Penamacor is different to the Algarve or Lisbon. This is rustic, ancient, peaceful and slow. The pace is like India, but it has its own charm, and its own rhythm.

When we build, I will teach! I cannot wAIT to start our first workshop here! I have built several earthships with volunteers, and it is the most incredible experience! I hope to invite many people to come and stay on our land and with our friends. To prepare for that i am also making some camping space for volunteers to stay, and i have a dear friend Josh coming soon, who is going to help me start our gardening. You might hear from Josh as he is of course on hive, but he hasn’t yet posted!

So watch this space for more news and updates!I am so ready to build, so ready to help, so ready to help change the entire paradigm of life for whoever wants to join us! So many people are sitting in their homes in cities around the world. Their freedom eroded and their futures uncertain. They are vulnerable and dependant on a crumbling system. Today we are still free to move, and change our lives. That may not be the case tomorrow. Things can change, and as we have seen they can change suddenly and without warming. The luxury of travel is not something that i think will continue for very long.

I can't wait to see the future unfold.

 


Disrupting the "Cost of Living" Industry

HOW TO SUPPORT THE ECO VILLAGE PROJECT

RE-BLOG THIS POST
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@eco-alex/ecovillages-journal-the-new-approach-what-it-means-for-you

SHARE ON SOCIAL MEDIA
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@eco-alex/ecovillages-journal-the-new-approach-what-it-means-for-you

JOIN US AT THE COMMUNITY NETWORK WEBSITE
https://www.ecovillages.io/communitynetwork/

DELEGATE TO ECOTRAIN
Your delegation will go a long way! I use some of our account funds to make ecoVillages happen and some to continue to support great posts on Hive.


IMPORTANT MESSAGE TO ECO VILLAGE COIN (ECO) HODLERS:


We've moved! ecoVillage tokens have migrated to hive-engine. Air-drop is complete to all hodlers.

This is an important update to everyone who has purchased ecoVillage coin. There is nothing to do on your end except be aware of the changes. As many of you will know steem engine has a new hive version called hive engine. Since Steem is no longer stable or decentralised I have now completed the migration of all ecoVillage coins to https://www.hive-engine. I have also completed an air-drop of any tokens purchased by you to your hive wallets. You should be able to see them on peakd.com or hive-engine.com. This is the new location for everyone to buy and sell ecoVillage coins (ECO).


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **
** Click Here To View Our Blog Page **

 

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY

 

Sort:  

What an epic journey you've had, so glad you've made it this far.

I'm sure the water will come eventualy.

Pretty rapid progress if you ask me too!

I've got my Shuttle ticket booked for the 27th of September btw, so I'll see you around the area at some point in the not too distant future!

 4 years ago  

hey! YES i heard you are coming from michael.. Hes teaching me to play GO.. wow. thats an intense game!

sounds like ill see you soon too! what are you plans? where are you staying etc?

I've got an air b and b booked for a week initially.

The initial plan is to just get to know the area and a few people and find somewhere to stay for a few months for cheap - I've seen a yurt and a cabin for rent about an hour's drive from Penamacor for cheap long term winter rent (150/ 250 Euros a month respectively), but I'm sure I can do better than that for off-grid. Or I might upscale and just rent a flat/ house in one of the local villages for a few months.

As to buying my own land, I guess I'll just have to see what's around - I'll know the right place when I visit it. Might need some help there, but I'm in no rush, especially if I can get settled somewhere nice temporarily.

While I wait for my own land I'm more than happy to lend a hand building/ doing land infrastructure for any projects in the local area.

Oh, and learning the language.

Just looking at the size of the Go Board is enough to give me a headache!

 4 years ago  

okay! yes theres loads of options really.. and its SO easy to find somone who will let you stay on their land for free.. maybe with a small exhcange of time..

apartments are cheap! differnt thing vibe and its harder to meet people.. i think best way is find land to share where there is volunteering and things going on.., then you can meet people much more easily..

learning portugee. YES! essential really!. im starting lessons in a couple of weeks.. ;-)

Well I have a large tent and some portable solar panels to kick me off, so I am prepped for the whole volunteer for a pitch-place.

I'm gonna dig around and see what I can find!

I heard they provide free lessons in Portugese, right>?

Alex, this is incredibly exciting! I didn't realise that you were unable to return to India and had to just leave everything there behind. Sad and shocking but also freeing at the same time.

I have a feeling that things will indeed move quickly with the ecoVillages project going forward.

 4 years ago  

thank you! YES! it seems to be a theme with me (starting life again), but normally i choose it and can plan for it a bit better! India hit harder on the lockdown than any other country. NO ONE could come in, not even indians for many months.. Even today 5 months later no international people can get in..

I am happy with the result you have achieved and that you have been able to celebrate your birthday serenely.

I will gladly come to work as a volunteer: I am very curious and interested to see the birth of an earthship construction.

A huge hug! 🤗

SO happy for you bro, you are a great inspiration! Keep doing your thing in Love and Grace :)

megapowers to you man! The great work continues ;)