ecoVillages Journal #31: Finally!

in ecoTrain4 years ago (edited)

finally2tn.jpg

wow, FINALLY i made it.. This has been an epic journey of endurance, passion, desperation, hope, tears and joy! After 4 months of graft, mostly on my own in the beating hot Portugal summer sun I have completed the yurt very successfully. It has been an eye opening journey in many ways. SO many facets of my vision and learning have come together during this time, from discovering the incredibly supportive community that we have here in and around Penamacor.. to the nitty gritty of learning new skills and experimenting with my own ideas. I am incredibly thankful to everyone who has supported me in so many ways.. without their help this would have never been possible.

I would like to start by talking about the community here. I don’t really like Facebook in general or what it stands for, however the local Facebook group has been invaluable to me during this process. I have reached out in so many ways to everyone on this group and have ALWAYS been greeted with such incredible responses. Morgana, a lovely French lady who has lived here for a year now in her Yurt came several times for hours on end to make sure i did things right. That is despite her suffering quite badly with harsh back pain right now. Then there's Hal, who has loaned me nearly ALL his power tools for weeks on end, come at least5 times for hours on end to make sure things were looking OK.. and this past week spent many hours helping despite him being on a two week total food fast. He was not well at all and yet he still came and gave everything he had. Two more angels Oli and Alexandria from Romania came three times of the last week, doing whatever they could to help get this finished properly. They also were REALLY struggling as they are desperately looking for land so they can finally settle here and get secure.

Here are some photos!

IMG_0619.jpg
IMG_2249.jpg

IMG_4207.jpg

IMG_8736.jpg

IMG_8313.jpg

IMG_7963.jpg

image.png
image.png
IMG_5141.jpg

So, this is a landmark moment for me and for the ecoVillage project. I am just one small step away from being able to sleep and wake up on our land. There is still a LOT of work to do, starting with making a compost toilet and getting a borehole drilled for water. I will be busy creating a camping area for volunteers and friends, which will be very important as we start the planning and preparations for our first Earthship build i HOPE this year! I will be submitting my design plans very soon to a local architect and will try to get planning permission for this prototype earthship. If we get planning permission then there will be nothing stopping me from launching our first workshop and build at light speed. Let's just say that im so passionate about this first build that I would even do it on my own, tyre by tyre! but i have a feeling its not going to come to that!

If you havent seen the design plan i have for this first earthship you can see a nice 3D animation below:

So in many ways i am very pleased right now, and relieved that i also now have a home and a base, some real security with very minimal cost and no rent or utility bills.

Power is the main issue right now, and today I hope to complete my DIY 700 Watt Lithium Ion power brick which i will able to use for my laptop, lights and fan. If it works well we will have a way to store a lot of power at very low cost. A normal power-wall from Tesla costs around $8,000 Euros for about 3KW . The one I am making costs me about $350 for 700 watts, which means i could make a 3KW version for around $2,000.. that is a HUGE saving! If this works it will become a very important part of our self sufficiency. When we have a bore-well and enough power to run the pumps we will be free to build, grow food, and irrigate everything year round very easily More on that soon!

You can watch me make this power brick below:

Oh and finally.. just as was finishing the final tweaks to the Yurt i heard some noise from behind the yurt. I went out and cautiously looked around to see what it was, and then these 3 dogs rocked up.. at first a little nervously. I LOVE all animals and dogs especially! What a beautiful greeting they gave me once they established I was friendly. All three of them exploded into a 10 minute frenzy of joy, jumping, licking, and welcoming me.

IMG_8934.jpg

I have a feeling ill be seeing more of them, wherever they came from!

Thank you for stopping by. I look forward to posting again once i have started making some furniture and moved it to the yurt. I haven’t made furniture before, and plan to use all the bits of extra wood and scrap materials i can find to do it. With a bit of creativity and love I think i can make some pretty functional, and maybe even pretty furnishing.. starting with a bed frame!

Much love to you all..

 


Disrupting the "Cost of Living" Industry

HOW TO SUPPORT THE ECO VILLAGE PROJECT

RE-BLOG THIS POST
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@eco-alex/ecovillages-journal-the-new-approach-what-it-means-for-you

SHARE ON SOCIAL MEDIA
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@eco-alex/ecovillages-journal-the-new-approach-what-it-means-for-you

JOIN US AT THE COMMUNITY NETWORK WEBSITE
https://www.ecovillages.io/communitynetwork/

DELEGATE TO ECOTRAIN
Your delegation will go a long way!

AND FINALLY:

You can of COURSE send any amount of BTC to
3G9HzExMa5KAwNdL9B7ve5UuFCuWkqyKqu

It's heart-warming to see a few people did send me some BTC in a previous post, which is a great honour as I know how valuable it is!
Whoever you are, THANK YOU!!

THANK YOU FOR MAKING IT THIS FAR AND FOR YOUR SUPPORT! IT MEANS EVERYTHING RIGHT NOW

 

IMPORTANT MESSAGE TO ECO VILLAGE COIN (ECO) HODLERS:

We've moved! ecoVillage tokens have migrated to hive-engine. Air-drop is complete to all hodlers.

This is an important update to everyone who has purchased ecoVillage coin. There is nothing to do on your end except be aware of the changes. As many of you will know steem engine has a new hive version called hive engine. Since Steem is no longer stable or decentralised I have now completed the migration of all ecoVillage coins to https://www.hive-engine. I have also completed an air-drop of any tokens purchased by you to your hive wallets. You should be able to see them on peakd.com or hive-engine.com. This is the new location for everyone to buy and sell ecoVillage coins (ECO).


The 8 Pillars of Abundance Tribe

@ecoTrain

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

** Click Here To View Our Community Page **
** Click Here To View Our Blog Page **

 

CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE TO THE ECOTRAIN COMMUNITY

 

Sort:  

Crikey, that's a palace, looking absolutely stunning I must say!

Things really are coming together then, just great news!

Wowzers, you certainly did it with style and class! Well posh yurt, I love that's its raised from the ground!!

Congrats on landing, and the dogs are your new friends 😊

Absolutely breath- taking posts. I feel motivated and would really like to try things like these out if i had the resources available :) Thanks @eco-alex for dahrin this with us all!

 4 years ago  

The design plan on the 3D animation looks stunning - Is the one you built now, will be finally like that ?

And appreciate all the hard work and patience that you went over to build this finally 👌

Wow, it is really amazing to see this great result, I always say: "two are better than one" it is important to allow yourself to help others and be helped, how good those angels came to help! beautiful dogs ... And well my dear some furniture and a bed is nothing for you, ANIMO, You can with that and with much more. SUCCESSES AND BLESSINGS.

So happy you have reached this milestone @eco-alex. Do you have discord for talking in detail about eco villages ASAP 😉?

 4 years ago  

yes yes. im on discord.. u can see me in the ecoTrain community and NM and others..
eco-alex#6971

Wow congrats for your achievements!

More power!

Such a beautiful home! Hope you have a bit of a house warming party to celebrate when you get moved in! Then on to the Earthship build! Hope the planning permission comes through quickly so it can start to materialize!