QUESTION OF THE WEEK SEASON 10.3 -MY BAD HABITS

in ecoTrain2 years ago

Screenshot_20220418-223304.png

Habits are traits or actions we perform on daily basis that are fuelled by certain chemical reactions in our body.

Every human has one or two habits which may be good or bad and i am not exempted from this, my habit is a bad one which is also a bad habit many humans posses and it is none other than procrastination.

It is a habit i have been trying to stop for a very long time now though I'm making progress, i still have a very long way to go.

I remember an incident which cost almost cost me very badly, whenever i remember this incident it is always a reminder for me to stop procrastination.


A lecturer decided to hold a quiz for the students offering his course in a week's time, he told us where to read and what to expect.

This is a course that i took very seriously so i told myself that i would read once i got home.

When i got home, i freshened up, ate my meal and took a quick shower then i gathered my books and sat down in the reading table but before i started reading i scrolled through my phone a bit.

I did not realize that i had been scrolling for about an hour and when i realized what was happening it was already dusk.

I told myself that i had one more week and i knew the areas to read so it won't be a problem so i slept off.

This was the same routine and excuse i used till the sixth day meaning that i had only one day left before the quiz.

I skipped lectures that day so i would concentrate and read but it turned out that i was just lying to myself, i wasted that entire day doing nothing and i always told myself "you have enough time to cover" as the clock ticked.

During the night i read small and decided to sleep a little and set an alarm so i could wake up in the midnight to read but when the alarm sounded and i opened my eye, it was already 8Am in the morning!!

The test was scheduled to hold from 8:30Am to 9:00Am which means that i had few minutes to get to school.

Like one possessed with the spirit of madness i hurriedly took a quick bath and dressed up and in 10 minutes i was already on my way to school.

I knew that i was going to fail that quiz because i did not prepare but i only have myself to blame because i stupidly procrastinated but a miracle occured.

The lecturer had decided to postpone the quiz due to his unavailability, i was so relieved because i was surely going to fail that quiz.

IMG_20201115_072307_140.jpg

From that day onwards i used this incident to remind myself to stop procrastinations or they would be sure consequences and maybe next time i won't be so lucky.


THE END


PS: the last image is mine
Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Yes, procrastination can be a killer. I’m so glad that luck smiled on you and you weren’t caught out. I think you also learned a valuable lesson, haha, that’s great! 😊🤔
Thank you for posting in the EcoTrain community

img_5041.png

Thank you 🙏.

 2 years ago  

Same with me too. I have always procrastinated a lot even in my academics. There was a course in my 400 level then, we were told after Christmas and New year, we would have our final test which was very compulsory. I didn't read because I thought it won't hold. Lo and behold, the day we had the course, the lecturer announced there would be test but we all chorused that we weren't ready. The man just smiled and had to postpone it. He brought different supervisors then but he had to plead with them till the next week. That was how God saved me. Procrastination is very bad.

God has a way of doing things