[ENG|ESP] Somewhere to live: Building a shelter in the forest using only manual tools | Refugio en el bosque con herramientas manuales

in ecoTrain4 years ago

One of my biggest difficulties in my 3D is that I've never had a proper place to live in that I could call "my own". Now, I know that I've rarely lacked shelter or food and that I'm blessed in countless ways. However, always having to stay at someone else's house always keeps me with a feeling of powerlessness, that I'm living under someone else's standards and not the ones I would pursue if I had my little place in the world.

Una de mis mayores dificultades en mi vida 3D es que nunca he tenido un lugar adecuado para vivir que pudiera llamar "mío". Ahora, sé que rara vez me ha faltado refugio o comida y que soy bendecido de innumerables formas. Sin embargo, tener que quedarme siempre en la casa de otra persona siempre me mantiene un tanto desempoderado, viviendo bajo los estándares de otra persona y no con los que perseguiría si tuviera mi pequeño lugar en el mundo.

When I talk about my standards, there are many things in common with most people. I want to feel comfortable, warm, protected, visually pleased, and move around knowing you have somewhere to go back to. Yet, there are other issues that are important to me and that are usually postponed in the places I've lived, such as having a dry toilet, being able to preserve the local flora surrounding the house and going at a slower pace, more based on enjoying the moment than being too productive.

Cuando hablo de mis estándares, hay muchas cosas en común con la mayoría de las personas. Quiero sentirme cómodo, cálido, protegido, visualmente complacido y moverme sabiendo que tienes un lugar al que volver. Sin embargo, hay otros temas que son importantes para mí y que generalmente se posponen en los lugares donde he vivido, como tener un baño seco, poder preservar la flora local que rodea la casa e ir a un ritmo más lento, más basado en disfrutar el momento que en ser demasiado productivo.

I've had a few forest shelters before but they were very small and didn't meet the comfort requirements for a decent living. I was never able to properly isolate them from the cold and depended much on keeping the fire going for warmth during the colder seasons.

He construido algunos refugios en el bosque antes, pero eran muy pequeños y no cumplían con los requisitos de comodidad para una vida digna. Nunca pude aislarlos adecuadamente del frío y dependía mucho de mantener el fuego encendido para calentarme durante las estaciones más frías.

A few days ago I decided to build a new shelter. Despite not being too fond of square shapes, I figured it was the quickest way to put something together that could easily be sealed from the exterior. So the first thing I figured I would do would be to put up some stakes (not investment stakes, mind you) and build a bed using them as support. Later I would make the building surrounding the bed and leave a small space for the fire.

Hace unos días decidí construir un nuevo refugio. A pesar de no ser muy aficionado a las formas cuadradas, pensé que era la forma más rápida de armar algo que pudiera sellarse fácilmente. Así que lo primero que pensé que haría sería poner algunas estacas y construir una cama utilizándolas como soporte. Posteriormente haría el edificio que rodea la cama y dejaría un pequeño espacio para el fuego.

IMG_20200806_130646_175.jpg

And now a pic which shows the progress, just to make it more interactive.

Y ahora una foto que muestra el progreso, solo para hacerlo más interactivo.

IMG_20200806_131607_590.jpg

The idea was to hammer them to the ground in parallel pairs, so that I could fill in the gaps with branches and have a base for the bed. I was doing things this way because I didn't have nails and refused to do the project with anything that had to be bought.

La idea era martillarlos en el suelo en pares paralelos, para poder rellenar los huecos con ramas y tener una base para la cama. Estaba haciendo las cosas así porque no tenía clavos y me negaba a hacer el proyecto con cualquier cosa que tuviera que comprar.

My mind changed on this matter after visiting some anarchist friend's community and seeing all the progress they had done through the years, partially thanks to all the tools they had acquired. I decided then to buy a few tools and, of course, nails.

Mi mente cambió sobre este asunto después de visitar la comunidad de unos amig-s anarquistas y ver todo el progreso que habían hecho a lo largo de los años, en parte gracias a todas las herramientas que habían adquirido. Decidí entonces comprar algunas herramientas y, por supuesto, clavos.

IMG_20200806_132745_915.jpg

IMG_20200806_132738_659.jpg

So that was what my bed was going to be built upon... After buying nails and a shovel specially designed for digging deep holes, new ideas started flooding my mind. Oh, and there's the joint I smoked before I started working on the project that day, might of had something to do with the expanding possibilities that came into my thoughts.

Así que eso era sobre lo que se iba a construir mi cama ... Después de comprar clavos y una pala especialmente diseñada para cavar agujeros profundos, nuevas ideas comenzaron a inundar mi mente. Ah, y está el porro que fumé antes de comenzar a trabajar en el proyecto ese día, quizás haya tenido algo que ver con las posibilidades en expansión que me vinieron a la mente.

As I begin placing the main pillars in place, I had to make room for where the fire pit would be. For some reason, it never seemed enough space and I started imagining having a few shelves for food, drying herbs and placing candles here and there. Also thought it would be nice to sit comfortably with someone by my side and watch the embers burn.

Cuando comencé a colocar los pilares principales en su lugar, tuve que dejar espacio para el lugar donde estaría el hoyo de fuego. Por alguna razón, nunca me pareció suficiente espacio y comencé a imaginarme con algunos estantes para comida, secando hierbas y colocando velas por aquí y por allá. También pensé que sería bueno sentarme cómodamente con alguien a mi lado y ver arder las brasas.

IMG_20200811_101257_325.jpg

Each pillar I placed, more room was added to the house. What was supposed to be four pillars ended up being eleven!

Cada pilar que coloqué, se agregó más espacio a la casa. ¡Lo que se suponía que eran cuatro pilares terminó siendo once!

IMG_20200811_123702_897.jpg

There you can see the eleven pillars. They haven't been properly rammed into the ground so that's why they look like that. I'll tell you immediately the step I'm missing before they can definitely be put in the ground.

Ahí se pueden ver los once pilares. No se han apisonado correctamente en el suelo, por eso se ven así. Les diré de inmediato el paso que me falta antes de que puedan definitivamente ser enterrados.

IMG_20200813_134552_931.jpg

Tempted as I was to begin hammering crossbars right away, I decided to be patient and take the time to burn the base of the pillars to prevent them from rotting too easily. Though my previous shelters have done fine without this step and withstood over three winters without falling, I felt doing putting some extra effort was a good way to show my commitment to the project.

Tentado como estaba de comenzar a martillar las barras transversales de inmediato, decidí ser paciente y tomarme el tiempo para quemar la base de los pilares para evitar que se pudran con demasiada facilidad. Aunque a mis refugios anteriores les fue bien sin este paso y resistieron tres inviernos sin caer, sentí que hacer un esfuerzo adicional era una buena manera de mostrar mi compromiso con el proyecto.

IMG_20200813_161441_576.jpg

I thought the process was going to be super long, between gathering firewood and the time needed to burn each log. To my pleasant surprise, it only took me a day to get all pillars finished.

Pensé que el proceso iba a ser muy largo, entre la recolección de leña y el tiempo necesario para quemar cada tronco. Para mi agradable sorpresa, solo me tomó un día terminar todos los pilares.

IMG_20200813_162955_481.jpg

Just when I was down to the last pillar, it started heavily snowing and I was forced to retreat. Since the snow got my phone wet it went wacko and I couldn't take any pictures.

Justo cuando estaba en el último pilar, comenzó a nevar mucho y me vi obligado a retroceder. Como la nieve mojó mi teléfono, se volvió loco y no pude tomar ninguna foto.

IMG_20200814_111412_165.jpg

So that's what I've managed to do so far. I've only been three days into it, but I've been working hard, making the most of daylight and enjoying the process. They say that our houses are an extension of our bodies and our bodies are extensions of our souls. In a way, this is a manifestation that my soul has been longing for a very extensive time: a place where my roots to the Earth can finally start growing.

Eso es lo que he logrado hacer hasta ahora. Solo llevo tres días, pero he estado trabajando duro, aprovechando al máximo la luz del día y disfrutando del proceso. Dicen que nuestras casas son una extensión de nuestros cuerpos y que nuestros cuerpos son extensiones de nuestras almas. En cierto modo, esta es una manifestación que mi alma ha estado anhelando durante mucho tiempo: un lugar donde mis raíces en la Tierra finalmente puedan comenzar a crecer.

In case you're thinking that this house might not last long, that the pillars are a bit rotten and that kind of thing... I know. I know this house will eventually decompose and go back to the Earth, and I want it that way. Still, it will give me a few years to start building something more solid, perhaps with the intention of making it last longer.

Por si estás pensando que esta casa no durará mucho, que los pilares están un poco podridos y ese tipo de cosas ... lo sé. Sé que esta casa eventualmente se descompondrá y volverá a la Tierra, y lo quiero así. De todas formas, me dará unos años para empezar a construir algo más sólido, quizás con la intención de que dure más.

Right now I'm spending most of my day and energy on this project so I'm posting very little but I'm fine with that. Soon I'll be putting up more updates and hopefully, you'll enjoy being witness to the effort I'm putting here. Thanks for reading!

En este momento estoy gastando la mayor parte de mi día y energía en este proyecto, así que publico muy poco, pero estoy bien con eso. Pronto pondré más actualizaciones y, con suerte, disfrutarán de ser testig-s del esfuerzo que estoy poniendo aquí. ¡Gracias por leer!

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

this is just the kind of post i like to see.. very nice so far.. very rustic and simple.. look forward to seeing the progress!

Thanks! Keeping it as simple as possible. Positive comment on this means a lot coming from you 😎

Wow I am so impressed by your way of living - out of the mainstream city lifestyle and in touch with nature. Well done and respect to you amigo. You are a good example, a sadhu.

Well, not a sadhu 🤣 I like wine, sex, drugs, music, and partying as much as the guy next door. I do believe in austere living as a way of abundance and a path to be in harmony with Nature, but I'm not particularly looking to renounce to pleasure and material enjoyment. If ever my mind smoothly transcends these things, so be it, but for the moment I'm just enjoying Life as it comes 🙂 Thanks for the positive feedback, stay blessed.

Lol good to hear you are being realistic as well as altruistic in your lifestyle friend. The balance is important, and as you suggest, artificial renunciation is like a monkey - they can also walk around naked but it doesn't mean that they are advanced does it?

Exactly, though I don't discard the possibility that non-human animals could be more spiritually advanced than humans. Things that ar better left to the Big Mystery, no?

Indeed, the Great Mystery will always be there for anyone keen to try understanding it.

Good job. Look forward to updates.

Glad you appreciate it. They will be coming in soon ;)

Congratulations @fenngen! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
The Customization Guide for the HiveBuzz store

That's quite a different way of making a structure but it sounds like it will be very cozy and I love that it is using mostly natural elements, taking care of what your basic needs in a shelter would be.
It reminds me of the pioneers that came to live up in our area where you are not hauling in a bunch of supplies but using what is available. I stopped at an old abandoned homestead and was fascinated with the small but adequate log shelters they build, no nails but dovetail joints.

There was a small cabin but it was on the barn that I got some good photos of the dovetail joints. There was a larger what would have been more modern house also on the property. It looked like they did what you're doing making an adequate shelter to live in while they built there more permanent house.

Small cabin on old abandoned homestead
IMG_20170604_182407.jpg

Old log barn showing dovetail joints on corners
IMG_20170604_190154.jpg