Farm Work, Chicks, Flowers, Anniversary Beer - Thursday

in ecoTrain3 years ago

Feeling better yesterday meant I could actually get something accomplished around the farm. Early in the morning I was roaming the rows checking on things and found the first of the tomatoes to flower are the Orange Paruche cherries. Similar to Sun Gold but a touch less sweet.

IMG_20210610_095556.jpg

Some of my kale leaves had been eaten and as I scoured the plants found a pair of green works that were doing the destruction. They met a fast end.

IMG_20210610_100401.jpg

A while later I was in the yard and heard cheeping, loud cheeping, like only baby chickens make. I headed over towards the coop and there was one of our Colombian Wyandotte hens with 5 chicks. I opened the door to the coop and inside was another hen with a single chick. There are other hens sitting on =eggs in the coop so we may end up with more as the month wears on. The ducks have been getting broody but I have a completely ineffectual male who can't seem to get the job done as no duck eggs are ever fertilized.

IMG_20210610_112456.jpg

I finally got into the pole bean garden to put up the lower 2 wires. I did 4 of the 5 rows since the one row is sunflowers and dill which won't really need the wires for growth. The sunflowers may get a wire up at the top of the poles to give them support once they get super tall.

IMG_20210610_122108.jpg

While working on the wires I found more volunteer tomatoes that I was able to transplant into the row.

IMG_20210610_124333.jpg

The potatoes are growing nicely and some of the bags needed to be unrolled and filled with more soil. Only 5 of them are really ready but they were REALLY ready for more soil. I like the bags and they seem to be working quite nicely so far.

IMG_20210610_130301.jpg
IMG_20210610_130305.jpg

I was sitting at my computer for a bit and a accident came up on Pulsepoint. I heard a siren hit the intersection but then it stopped. I thought it probably turned off the siren and headed out on the highway. It wasn't until the fire truck siren stopped at the intersection that I looked at the app again and it said our intersection. I ran out and it looked like a car had driven off the road and into the apple trees just to the left of the light post. The visibility is such shit for people there and this is about the 4th accident there this year.

IMG_20210610_144857.jpg

I made sure to get the columbine cleared and ringed with rocks. I misspoke prior and I actually have 2 columbine plants next to each other. You can't really tell in the before shot though.

IMG_20210610_161757.jpg

With all the chokecherry and weeds pulled and the area raked it looks much better and gives the columbine a lot more sunlight. I built little rock rings around each to help denote their space and to try and protect them.

IMG_20210610_164400.jpg
IMG_20210610_164406.jpg
IMG_20210610_164415.jpg

The cottonwoods have been douching the farm with their fuzz. It is awful some days as it looks like snow falling it is so thick. The columbine have not been able to avoid it either and it has stuck to many of the flowers.

IMG_20210610_164427.jpg
IMG_20210610_164438.jpg
IMG_20210610_164445.jpg

With our dinner I pulled the bottle out of the fridge for us to split. We have been saving this for a few years now and it was time to open it for our 15th anniversary. A 9% Old English Ale aged in a Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey aged Oak barrel. Super good beer, smooth, and delicious.

IMG_20210610_174911.jpg

For anyone who has never heard of Wallace Idaho you should read about the history of it. One of the times in human history where beer was the thing that saved us from the polluted waters. The fire storm was crazy and the stories of survival and not are pretty amazing.

IMG_20210610_174931.jpg

Today I have been to get grain already and stopped for groceries. I have to fix the strawberry irrigation line that sprung a leak and then harvest the ripe strawberries. We are mostly packed for our weekend away and @stryeyz should be home by 2pm and we should be in Sandpoint by 3pm.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

I would love to be in your garden, even if it means working hard all day lol.

Quite tiring but fun, right?

Right now is nice since everything is still growing. Once the bean harvesting starts is when the longer days happen. These couple of months between seeding and harvesting is my chance to get other projects done around the farm. I am far happier being tired from working my land than working for someone else!

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Happy 15th anniversary! And I love all the shots of that columbine. It's so pretty!