Grain, Scaffold, Insulation, Hike - Saturday

in ecoTrain3 years ago

I waited until about 7:30 to leave to go get grain yesterday as I needed to hit up Harbor Freight once they opened after 8 am. I picked up two barrels and dropped off the two empties at the brewery first then stopped at the store.

IMG_20201121_081546.jpg

Once I got home I backed into the garden which the soil is now frozen in so I didn't sink to the axles. The area I backed into has the worst soil in the garden, the area below the old basketball hoop. It is a rocky and sandy area that needs tons of organic material still to bring it up to the level of the rest of the garden.

IMG_20201121_090419.jpg

I spread the grain out over the garden and the 2 barrels cover a healthy amount of space, not super think but a good skiff across for now. The birds made a bee line for it once I let them out. I didn't set the cam up but the deer were probably on it last night as well.

IMG_20201121_091057.jpg
IMG_20201121_091105.jpg

I purchased the scaffold on the way home primarily for use in the studio first but then it will get used all around the farm. It will make many of my tasks a lot easier having the platform to work from rather than a ladder. It is on sale at Harbor Freight now so I figured it was a good time to get it. I have plans for it around the farm for this winter.

IMG_20201121_091235.jpg

I put the scaffold together in the studio and cleared off the back wall. I used the shop vac to clean the studs off of chips and dust. I had to clear all the stuff away from the wall to make room for the insulation install.

IMG_20201121_140325.jpg

The scaffold is slick and rolls nicely around the studio. For now it is acting as a shelf to keep the area clear so I can work on the wall.

IMG_20201121_140331.jpg
IMG_20201121_140347.jpg

I popped open 1 bag of insulation which nicely had 10 pieces which was how many I needed for the back wall.

IMG_20201121_141006.jpg

It only took about half an hour to get the back wall filled with insulation. Today I will get the 5 sheets of sheetrock cut and installed on the wall. I'd like to get the ceiling done soon so that the place will be much warmer. That is a big part of the scaffolding will be helping to get the sheet rock installed.

IMG_20201121_144634.jpg

I went down to the house then and the sun had started to go down and we raced it as we hiked up the hill.

IMG_20201121_154920.jpg

It was just setting benid Saddle Hill as we got to the top. We hung out and watched the sun set and talked about potential for a broadband point on our hill for the valley.

IMG_20201121_154934.jpg
IMG_20201121_155024.jpg
IMG_20201121_155037.jpg
IMG_20201121_155045.jpg
IMG_20201121_161644.jpg

We headed back down to the house as it got darker.

IMG_20201121_161816.jpg
IMG_20201121_161824.jpg

I am anxious for the rj45 crimper to get here on Tuesday so I can re-terminate every cat5 cable on the farm. I think that is why my wifi spot is not working right.

Over 38k words now and in the home stretch. I just need a little over 11k more words and I win my first actual attempt at #NaNoWriMo.

Today I am going to install the sheet rock on the back wall and try to get more insulation put up in the studio. We need to butcher 2 roosters for our Thanksgiving, our 2 Red Rangers that are nice and big and need to go. 5 roosters are far too many.


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

When I read the first couple of lines, I thought, look at this, another guy that makes homebrew. Boy was I wrong. I never thought of adding grain to a vegetable garden to amend the soil, great idea. Now if only the birds and deer leave some behind for the purpose it was intended.

I love the studio with all of the glass, that is always the most expensive part when building.

I'm in the middle of building a sunroom off the side of our house.
When I went to Lowes to purchase windows, they were on sale. The windows I purchased were Pellas and were supposed to be marked down 10%.
When I checked out, they took off the 10%, at least that was what they were supposed to do, but when the cashier rang up the $268.00 dollar windows the price that appeared on the register was $114.00. Now I'm no genius, but I had no problem realizing that the windows were discounter over 50%.

In order for the cashier to apply the discount, she had to have a supervisor okay the transaction of all four windows. The supervisor watched every window ring up at $114.00.

I guess that since I'm such a good guy they figured they would give me an additional discount.

If you don't mind me asking, what will the studio be used for.

You've got some beautiful views of the surrounding area from your proiperty.

Good luck with the project, you seem to be moving right along.

I actually do brew occasionally. I haven't in a while and need to again. Our co-op has a malting operation where I can get all the brewing grain I need, I've just been occupied with so many other projects.

Some years ago I put up ads on craigslist asking if anyone had windows they were willing to give me and I got 5 or 6 offers for which I hauled them all home from up to an hour away. I used 4 of them in the coop and 6 of them in the studio. It saved me some serious money.

That is an incredible deal on the windows. That is one of the times where you just smile and nod and thank them and leave with your bounty.

The studio will be our craft studio mainly. I might move my glass studio into one corner and @stryeyz will have room for all her crafts.

Nothing like running into a good deal. I hear you when it comes to being busy. Brewing beer is fun and the end product is always fun to share with others, but when projects start to back up, brewing seems to go further down the list.

You mention that you may be moving your glass studio into the new space, do you blow glass.

I have not blown glass in years as my studio got turned into a dwelling so until I have our craft studio finished I haven't been able to setup. I don't need much space since it is boro and not soft glass. I've been itching to get back at it for a while now so it will be great to have it setup again. I miss it.

I hope you do a post about it when you get setup.

You certainly lead a busy life with full days! The pleasant weather has been helpful for your many projects, I'm sure.

Nervous energy that needs to be expended in some fashion that I have learned to focus into the various projects I have around the farm. That nervous energy is like a feeling that I need to be doing something, not sitting still. The nice weather really helps in the Winter when the light hours are so short so i can have days that I am able to work some of that energy off.

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Hi flemingfarm,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

We bought the exact same scaffolding for doing the ceilings and so forth. Interesting reading the posts in reverse order, as I scroll back. LOL

I noticed the scaffold in one of your recent posts, it is supremely handy!

 3 years ago  

Your post has been featured in our What's Up curation, featuring great posts from the ecoTrain community. Thank you and look I forward to seeing more great posts from you in future!

You can check out the curation post here:
https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@ecotrain/whats-up-29-from-the-ecotrain-community-on-hive

<3