I WON NANO, Wires, Hay, Butcher Chickens for Thanksgiviing - Wednesday

in ecoTrain3 years ago

I actually did it!!!! I wrote 50,000 words in 25 days and have over 83,000 written in 2 months exactly. I am so stoked to have actually done it on my first real attempt. (I'd tried to start a couple of years but got words in and then quit.) The thing that stands out the most as helpful was the word sprints on Discord and having a calendar with the word total needed for each day in my face.

Of all the winner offers the only one I have been looking forward to is the half off code for Scrivener as I have been using it soley for my writing.

NaNo2020WinnerBadge.jpg

In the morning as I was looking out the bathroom window and saw Squirrel bopping around on the maple tree eating tips and seeds. It's good to see him around and that he stays in the creek area now. He is a full fledged adult, WILD, squirrel. You can just make him out in the center of the shot.

IMG_20201125_075947.jpg

I got out the crimper tool that delivered the night before and got to work on re-terminating all of the cat5 cables I could. In the house it wasn't horribly difficult other than fiddling with the tiny wires and keeping the stupid things in the right order as they slide into the connector. The on on the top of the mast for the wifi was a bit more difficult as I was perched on top of the chimney holding the mast with my leg so I could work with two hands. I got the wiring all good but for some reason I can't get the point to work. I think I need to reset it and re-add it to the app.

IMG_20201125_100237.jpg

The sheep had finally eaten the bale down that I had rolled in over a month ago so I had to roll another one in for them. The hay has held perfectly with all the weather. The heavy pallet covers are PERFECT! and will stand up to many years of use. The bales are perfectly dry beneath my covers.

IMG_20201125_121843.jpg

Part of the pen is sloppy mess and I had to haul the hay frame across it but I got it all setup in the drier side of the pen and I had just walked back to the house when it started to rain. I had no clue it was coming until I felt the drops. It wasn't much but enough to get me to hang in the house for much of the afternoon.

But that was fine since I was able to get the last of the 50,000 words I needed for #NaNoWriMo.

IMG_20201125_124523.jpg

Once @stryeyz got home from work I had the scalding pot going and I lopped of the heads of our two Red Ranger roosters. They had gotten nice and large from free ranging the farm and I had been planning on them being our Thanksgiving birds since we didn't raise any turkeys.

IMG_20201125_165519.jpg

I was pretty amazed at just how well they plucked. I was expecting them to be a bit tougher but after a solid scald they pluck very nice and easily. They had some seriously long hairs on them that had to get singed off but they turned out to be really nice looking birds.

IMG_20201125_165946.jpg

IMG_20201125_170610.jpg

The gloves work great at getting the pin feathers out and the yellow from the skin.

Both birds are in bags outside in brine over night.

IMG_20201125_182805.jpg

I got a fire going in the pit as the boys had been asking for marshmallows for a while.

IMG_20201125_192359.jpg

While by the fire pit I had the radio with me and listened in to the local nets that were going on on a couple of frequencies. Until I get my license I will just be a lurker listening in. Reminds me of hearing the scanner most of my childhood.

IMG_20201125_192410.jpg

Holy crap am I stoked I finished NaNo. It's not so much that my story isn't big enough to support the words but more that I did not think I would have the gumption to finish it. This year I have been doing MUCH better at finishing projects that I start.

Hope everyone has a good Thanksgiving or just a good day if in another country.


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

Congrats on winning the writing contest! That's quite the accomplishment.

Don't you just love that magnificent sense of accomplishment when you've hit a goal and been rewarded?

That achievement is YUGE! I never got any real feedback when I have promoted NaNoWriMo in the library, and 2020 made it even harder than usual. I'm glad it is still getting traction elsewhere.