Mega Harvests, Smokey Air - Monday

in ecoTrain3 years ago

Started the morning off picking the squash as the smoke in the air got thicker. It has been pretty bad off and on but yesterday it really set in. I got 26 pounds picked and in the cooler which gave me well beyond the 400 pounds I am delivering this morning.

IMG_20210802_094858.jpg

This is the air quality for our nearest station to the farm and it got really bad around mid day when I was out picking. I was out picking all day but it was noticeably denser smoke then.

air quality.JPG

The cucumbers really put out a good number. These two ended up growing together which gave me the slight giggles at the way they grew. There were 3 of them all together with two grown together and another equal length growing right in front of it. So silly.

IMG_20210802_103926.jpg
IMG_20210802_103939.jpg

28 cucumbers came off the plants and into the cooler.

IMG_20210802_105449.jpg

The beans have been neglected for a while and needed to be picked through desperately. A few rows I had not picked had gotten full. I rolled my way down the rows and the first 2 rows gave me 20 pounds of beans, two buckets full of Wyatt and Dior beans.

IMG_20210802_121328.jpg
IMG_20210802_132206.jpg

I moved the cart back to the top of the next rows and began to roll and pick. I ended up picking 45 pounds of Capitano and Provider beans from the 2 rows for a total of 65 pounds of beans for the day. It is one of the largest harvests in a day from the beans I have had. I have 95 pounds of beans on hand now and another 100 to pick from the rows. My days are well slotted with picking for a while.

IMG_20210802_143400.jpg
IMG_20210802_150438.jpg
IMG_20210802_163435.jpg

I was in the cooler going through every single box of the 400 pounds of squash and making sure they are all good, swapping out a couple of suspect looking squash and adding in some more for good measure. I stepped out to hear a peeping and saw one of the hens that has been sitting in the coop was with a chick. They ended up back in the coop and I could hear it peeping inside so I went in the coop and found the hen had another chick in the nest box and the one had jumped out. I picked the escapee up and tossed it back in the nest box with the hen. At least we have 2 chicks she has hatched.

IMG_20210802_163609.jpg

The nasty look of the smoke in the later afternoon.

IMG_20210802_171613.jpg

This was the last bucket from the 2 rows that gave me the 65 pounds for the day.

IMG_20210802_175345.jpg

This morning first thing I am taking the squash to the co-op for delivery then I have to stop and pickup a couple sticks of pressure treated 2x8 at Lowes to start installing the railing on the deck, I have to pick a bunch more beans and squash, and hopefully the smoke clears off soon as this is just nasty air to breathe.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

Wow this is good, the cucumber and the bean are very beautiful and I love them.

It is a good thing to be farming or planting, because farming make you to have money and save your money on something, not only that, you eat some fresh food.

Farming help a lot, because it's good to eat natural food, sometimes you can even go to the market to buy some things for yourself and you won't be pleased with it, n
Because they have spoiled in the market, but when you have a garden or farm you will able to eat fresh vegetable foods and fruits.

And you have 95 pounds of bean on hand now and you are still expecting 100 another row.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

My garden has produced 1400 pounds of produce so far this year, in just 38 days on about a half acre of land.

One of the things I am proud of is that my produce is put into boxes that are given out in the state sponsored food box program and there are people getting my high quality produce that might never have eaten something like it before.

Wow that is good of you keep it up


Posted via proofofbrain.io

WOW! Mind blown at your amazing harvest and that silly cucumber plant lol. I dream of harvests like this one day.

So sorry to read about the bad smoke pouring in, I really hope that it will dissipate soon for you. Very cute that your little chick escaped, it clearly is of the adventurous type. May they grow up big and strong.

Have a beautiful day :)

I am able to do a lot in a small amount of space. My gardens are only 90x60ft and 30x70ft but I have 28 rows and 5 rows respectively. It takes some planning to begin with but once a system is setup it becomes pretty easy to maintain. The main thing I can't control is the weather so am beholden to whatever may come, including the smoke.

Thank you so much for your reply. That is amazing and I'm taking notes. I do believe that planning makes the world of difference! Weather is something we have in common and we have a bit of an issue with where we live currently as the temperatures are too extreme during summer and winter to raise vegetables, so I understand that. You are inspiring and I'm going to love seeing all your updates, so glad I found you!

That is quite an abundant harvest, I'd sure like some of those beans. The smoke makes me assume you're in the American west somewhere, stay safe my friend, hope you have an evacuation plan in order just in case.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

1.png
You've received a HIVE upvote & Lotus tokens from the team at @naturalmedicine! We encourage and reward content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Get one with our free referral and start earning HIVE and LOTUS! Follow @naturalmedicine, @lotusshares, and @uplotus for challenges, newsletters, curations compilations, editorials, and more!
NaturalMedicine.io II Delegate II Community II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat
divider.fw.png
Bless up, @justinparke 💚


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io