Organizing, Antenna and Mast - Tuesday

in ecoTrain3 years ago

Started off the morning with a trip to the valley to drop off 120 pounds of acorn squash for the co-op's CSA box. It was a somewhat mellow drive aside from the fact that I missed one of the main roads is back opened after the major construction this summer, but I took it on the way home. It saves about 5 minutes and has only a single stop light to deal with.

My friend dropped her kids off about 9 am so she could go to the bank and a couple of other errands. They kept themselves pretty well occupied in the house which allowed me time to do some hunting around the farm for the parts for the top antenna mast. I took R to school then picked him up and then she picked her kids up about 2 pm.

After noon I back my truck up to the studio and then filled the bed with all the insulation and OSB that I needed out of the way.

IMG_20201201_132541.jpg

It really opened up the inside of the studio a tremendous amount. You can see the spot where I am going to be putting in the electrical box and the heater. I have the 2 pieces of insulation and the sheetrock to cover it, I just need to do the electrical work.

IMG_20201201_143902.jpg

The scaffold takes up a good amount of space but it will be super handy for doing the ceiling sheetrock.

IMG_20201201_143912.jpg

Luckily I only had to drive the stuff down to the coop which is visible just above and to the right of the truck. It looked pretty precarious but everything made the short trip without falling off.

IMG_20201201_144550.jpg

Since I have extra insulation I needed to figure out where to store it. The best spot I could find is in the rafters of the coop. The full bag just fit.

IMG_20201201_150450.jpg

I grabbed some drum liners and used them to cover the other stacks of insulation. It is mainly to keep stuff from easily nesting in the stuff while stored. The bags also help keep the stuff contained so it isn't getting messed up.

IMG_20201201_151208.jpg

All the insulation is nicely stored out of the way now.
IMG_20201201_152004.jpg

Fedex dropped off R's new mattress which I set in the house to warm up before unrolling it and then UPS dropped off my new antenna. Having the base for it I was able to figure out my mounting for it. I am using the piece of 3/4" pvc which the cable fits through and then the antenna fits on the bell end.

IMG_20201201_154144.jpg

I then bolted it to the 10 ft stick of 1/2" conduit. The conduit will be getting bolted to the top of the mast with 2 bolts. The bottom bolt will be double nutted and the top bolt will have a wing nut on it. This way I can lower my mid mast and then undo the wing nut allowing me to tip the top mast over to access the antenna.

IMG_20201201_154324.jpg

I have the Tram 1411 discone all together save the tuning arms which need to go on once I have it ready to mount. It has a cb whip on top which means I will likely be able to take down the cb whip I have on the mast now, or maybe I will do it once I can build an antenna switch so I can have the cb and the ham radio use the same antenna.

IMG_20201201_160138.jpg

I am doing my own December #NaNoWriMo, "The 31,000 Words of December". Just 1000 words per day all month which makes the word total calendar very easy to make, just add 3 zeros to the date. I got over 1000 yesterday and my goal is to do it everyday this month.

Today we go in to get printed for concealeds, I need to get the antenna up and wire run into the house, try and get my RTL-SDR to work with the software, and build R's bed frame so he can graduate to a big boy bed.


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

Absolutely right on and I really enjoy seeing the improvements and how handy you are. I definitely need to get back into doing it yourself projects and having more fun with making things.

unfortunately everything I want to make right now requires more tools than I currently have. But as things simplify out I am looking into a couple of things