Pole Garden Teardown, Grapes - Saturday

in ecoTrain3 years ago

We didn't get up till a bit later having stayed up soaking the prior night and when we did get out the clouds were trying to clear off and the mists hung around the trees. Once the sun popped up over the trees the mists burned off quickly.

IMG_20211016_081108.jpg

My task for the day was to get the pole garden taken down. It is always a process but I have it fairly well dialed now. All the wires first get released on the end from the turn buckles.

IMG_20211016_105703.jpg

Then each wire is pulled through the posts and through the plants. All 6 wires get pulled through then I lay them bunched on the ground and try to not let the rows mix, it becomes a rat's nest if they do.

IMG_20211016_111458.jpg

With the wires removed I can pull all the plants. The beans all pulled out super easy and I just rolled them into a pile and tossed them to the sheep. The cucumbers and squash plants pulled out nearly as easy as the beans.

IMG_20211016_113045.jpg

The hardest to remove was the tomato plants which I piled into the wheelbarrow to run to the mulch pile.

IMG_20211016_114153.jpg

Last year I did not get the plastic pulled or irrigation coiled in the pole garden so I had a bit of extra debris still on the plastic. I pulled the plastic and got all the garbage to the middle in a line before I shoved the edge of the plastic under itself. I then was able to pull the plastic and dump the line of garbage off the plastic.

IMG_20211016_114953.jpg

The line of garbage is there for the birds to rummage through. The plastic got folded up and is off the garden so I have room to till in the spring. The wires are all bunched and then tied so they are not lying on the ground through winter.

IMG_20211016_120949.jpg

With the pole garden done I was sitting on the porch eating lunch when this plane flew back over the farm. I had seen it fly over while I was working in the garden as it headed north towards Deer Park. It is a dual prop plane but looked more like an old passenger plane. It was flying pretty low for the size and on the return trip looked to be going toward Felts Field in Spokane Valley.

IMG_20211016_130937.jpg

IMG_20211016_130947.jpg

After eating we went for a mid day soak. We are trying to get them in since today we are going to be draining the tub, scrubbing it really good, then refilling. The hope is that we will not have to drain it again till after Winter but this will be a good test.

IMG_20211016_134252.jpg

@stryeyz and the boys spent the afternoon working on juicing grapes. They made it through about half of them and we got 2 big bowls of juice in the fridge. The green juice is from the Vanessa grapes and the red is from the Sommerset. We are keeping them separate since they have a definite difference in flavor and sweetness. The juice will get canned and put in the pantry for later making jelly.

IMG_20211016_152526.jpg
IMG_20211016_152532.jpg

Finally the weather has allowed for us to have a fire in the big pit again and I cooked up some steaks for us. Tenderized top and bottom round for the boys and a flank steak for us. I missed the fires in the pit over the long hot dry summer.

IMG_20211016_180601.jpg

Our night was spent in the tub watching the moon blaze over the hill.

IMG_20211016_195746.jpg
IMG_20211016_195810.jpg

Today we drain the hot tub, hopefully get the tomatoes processed and canned along with the grape juice since they are both hot water bath, I am studying everyday for my ham exam on Saturday, I have my story concept now for NanoWriMo next month which will be a short story a day. At some point I will have to call it on the few rows still growing in the garden so I can tear them down for winter.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Oh, man! Garden clean out is on the list as soon as the cleaning in the house and the windows are done.