Snow, Shoveling, Studio Flooring - Thursday

in ecoTrain3 years ago

It snowed again yesterday but fortunately the storm moved past before noon. As soon as the light began to creep in from dawn the snow started and it stopped by 10:30 am. In that time we got 3.5 inches of snow which at times was coming down quite heavily. This was shortly after it began.

IMG_20210225_064023.jpg

@stryeyz started her car to let it warm up before going to work and this is the back window after a little while. The rear defroster had heated up and the snow had sloughed down into this cool pattern.

IMG_20210225_070700.jpg

3.5 inches of snow over the morning gave us .32 inches of water content. I took this pic right after I shoveled the deck off at 10:54 am.

IMG_20210225_105416.jpg

I then began to shovel the driveway while the boys played in the snow. I have my system down now and have figured out how to get the driveway cleared in under an hour.

IMG_20210225_111529.jpg

I start by the house and clear around the cars then I use the plow shovel to open a path down the middle of the driveway. Then I work each side of the driveway pushing the snow to the side. I am able to use different arms for each side so I am not tiring myself out quite as fast.

IMG_20210225_112628.jpg

I got the entire driveway cleared by 11:45 am which means it took me only 50 minutes to finish which is my new best time. It helps to have a system now that I have done this a few times this winter. The area here by the truck and the house I use the landscaping rake to push the snow since it is 3 feet wide. The shovel plow is only 2 feet wide but it does a better job like a snow plow of pushing the snow in front of it in a wave type curl. The rake just pushes it in a pile so I use it only in certain areas. It would take me nearly the same time to clear the snow with a snowblower but this way I get more exercise.

IMG_20210225_114525.jpg

After resting a bit from the shoveling and then feeding the boys I got back into the studio to work on the flooring a little. I measured the amount I would need to cut for the first row and found it was right on 6 inches. That made it super easy to figure out all the cuts for the following courses since I was recycling the cuts to the start of the next rows. Once I marked the measurements on 5 pieces of flooring I went to the table saw by the house and cut them down to size.

IMG_20210225_155143.jpg

Being that the courses are so long I can't put them together easily by myself so I just put the 5 courses together and then @stryeyz will help me get the courses connected.

IMG_20210225_155341.jpg
IMG_20210225_161541.jpg

Part of my day was also spent getting packed for this weekend as I am going back up north to sleep in a cave next to a lake for a couple nights. This morning I have to get grain for the animals then around noon I will be heading north. At least it is not nearly as cold as it was the last time I camped in the cave, it was about 10F at nights where now it is in the upper 20s and 40s during the day. Hopefully most of the snow will melt off today with the warmer temps.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png