Dady Pray For Me || EcoTrain QOTW Season 8: What Action Have You Taken In Your Life That Led To Positive Changes?

in ecoTrain2 years ago (edited)

This song by Darey, tell a story of most struggling people for a better life in Africa, May God bless everyone striving to be a better person in life.

Hello friends, this is my first entry post in to the #ecotrain community #QOTW contest.

When I first saw this week question, what Actions have you taken in your life that led to positive changes?

The first thing that came to my mind was something I did years ago immediately after my secondary school.

Growing up in my village was very challenging and being a girl child does not make thing better.

My dad was a settleler on a vast farm land, where we farm and took our farm produce to a near by town for marketing and selling.

There was no school in the settler so, I and my siblings will have to go to a near by village every Sunday evening to attend school on Monday till Friday before we returned to our parents.

This has been our situation, my dad never play with our education, he encourages and moltivates us in a lot of way. Among all the settlers he was the only person who decided to send his kids to school other believed school was too costly that they could not afford it and they rather have their children helped them in the farm.

This was how we went through primary, and secondary school. Despite my dad supportive nature , I had one single problem with him.

He never allows us out of his sight, we can't travel to our home town in Kogi state central not even during holidays or festives period, when our friends traveled he will make sure to make our holidays fun and memorable for us but never to let us travel .

This was because during the year 2000s my home town was mostly involved in one community clash or another, where there will be lost of lifes and house burnt down by deferent opponents.

so, he can not afford to let us get involved in such a deadly encounters. He will not let us out of his sight.

It happens that when i got to final year in my secondary school, I begans to ask myself some life decisions questions.

Some of my classmate were discussing how they will travles to different cities in the country to proceed with their higher institutions education. So I begins to asked myself where will go next, I did not have any Aunty or uncle in any city I could thought of going to after my final year exam.

I thought of visiting and staying with one of my elder sister who got married in a near by town, at least I knew there I will be able to get a job and start processing for any university I could go.

But I know, there was a problem, which was my dad. He won't even want to hear the idea of me leaving for that long period of time. He thought I was still small and I was a girl to travle and stay away from them that long.

I knew I just has to leave with or without his approval. Few weeks after my graduation, my mom was going to the market and she requested I went with her as usual.

We left home to the market that day with only my hand bag and few cosmetics. After all the selling and buying was over. My mom told me to get ready to start going back home.

I looked at her, and said I was not going back home, that I was going to my sister's place . she asked what will she tell my dad? I told her my dad will not send her packing, because of what I did but they should trust me that it was for the best.

After a while she picked her phone and spoke to my sister about my decision, my sister told her that I will be fine with her that she should support my decision.

That was how I left my parent behind for the first time in my 18 year of life, what a little relief. I knew life ahead was going to be challenging but I was prepared to do my best and comes out better and stronger.

Few days at my sister's place, she spoke to her friends and I got a job at a photo lab. I Worked there as cashier for a year before my admission came through.

During this a year period, I source for my admission through my sister's Neighbor, save some money which later was a great help during my National Diploma program.

I visited my parents twice during this period and they were really proud of me. Sometimes I wondered what if I hadn't took that step and ended up just like some of my age mates over there.

Looking back now, I'm really graeful I did.

So my advice, never let anyone or anything stand in the way of your success, always strive to do what is best for you even if the whole world can't see it that way because that is how you win in life.

Thank you so very much for your time, enjoy your day.

@funshee

Sort:  

Congratulations @funshee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!