You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY - BUILDING A WINDOW-BOX GREENHOUSE

in ecoTrain4 years ago

I was sad! It seems your photos only loaded 1/3 - 1/2 of each one! I'd refreshed the page, but still, only a piece of each. :((

Another bit that would help the seedlings. It's best to not transplant but once: into the garden. Every time they are transplanted it's a stressor. Stress reduces the plants productivity.

Not all plants like heat. Some prefer cool temps to germinate. I did post the chart and it shows which ones I've found like cool better.

Often times they like heat to germinate, then cool, or sometime alternating warm days/cool nights to grow on.

Sure wish I could see the new box, it looked fascinating how you built it, the tiny bits I could see. :))

Sort:  

I'm glad you were finally able to view the post in its entirety. Thanks for some more great advice. We may still have to transplant some of the vegetables that we started in very small containers. With the weather being what it is where we live, many of our vegetables will not be able to be planted outdoors for another month. In that time I feel these extra small cubicles we used to start germination will not be sufficient for the plant's continued growth.

They really aren't big enough. That's why I plant directly into 3" or 4" pots, depending on plant. It's also a major stressor for a seedling to sit in a pot longer than 3 weeks once it's got its 1st or second leaves. That's why I have a much later starting time for many plants than most people, so when they are ready to be planted, I will be past the last frost date, or at the optimal time.

We have saved every 3 - 4 in. pot we have come across. I just ordered 120 4 in pots this morning, pretty good price $17.99. We will not be making that mistake and will follow your lead by starting to germinate directly in the 4in. containers from now on.
Thanks for all of your advice, it is greatly appreciated!