Sunrise as a moment of meditation

in ecoTrainlast year (edited)

Here is a glimpse of sunrise from an ideal viewpoint here on the south Cape coast of Africa as summer arrives. The region is just about to explode with holiday makers. Already the streets are fuller than usual. What a time of celebration in this little top notch tourist town at the foot of the world.

20220420_065706.jpg
Sunrise from my temporary setting with just the right angle

Unless you are viewing from space where there is no top or bottom. In that case the foot of Africa could also be the top of the world, from this point of view. Either way, the reality of global crises seems worlds away and summer holiday time is in the foreground from this perspective in paradise.

Sunrise is a great time to practice a little meditation. In fact the ancient Vedic culture and teachings of India already had time measured millennia ago. They had 45 minute time slots called “muhurta”. The most auspicious time for meditation was said to be two muhurtas before sunrise, or 90 minutes before sunrise, until 45 minutes before sunrise.

Thereafter came the “sandhya” or dawn transition period, also seen at sunset during the transition phase. It’s fascinating to hear of the ancient wisdom from previous cultures and civilizations which seem to show as much insight as our western culture, if not more.

Ancient Vedic priests were also astronomers thousands of years ago, and they had mapped the heavens already, although without telescope. I am always amazed that such impressive science and knowledge was around back then.

I attribute it to the theory that we had very civilized societies thousands of years ago already on the planet, and they may have been disrupted by a natural disaster, only to fall into a dark age of sorts, where much knowledge was lost.

We are now reviving our forgotten knowledge once more, though much already existed in the previous civilization of which we are unaware. The pyramids of Egypt, South America and other nations also remain a mystery to this day. The field of archeology is finding newer discoveries by the year which shed light on our ancient past.

20220420_085203.jpg

Despite the passing of time, the sun and sunrise moment has always been significant, almost central to our lives, and everything we do. So here today I wanted to focus on the sun and share this sunrise photo as a show of focus on the sun as well as the value of timing in everything we do. It can make all the difference to go with the flow as opposed to against it.

(photos my own)

Sort:  

I'm glad I found you today... I stopped meditating in the moving and sh!t is not as fun as it was just a bit ago.

Time to get my self into gear again. Thanks for the reminder. Always. We should stay in better contact! 😁

Having said that... I've my meditation spot was your meditation spot I may just meditate all day.

Interesting info and have always wondered re the pre dawn time. Thanks. Clarified now.

Hectic situation for you currently, with all the moving back and forth. Indeed the nature setting around me keeps me sane and inspired during these uncertain times.

Well... I'm actually loving it even though it's stressful at times. It's also challenging in a really fun way.

Is that weird? :D

Seems I love being on the go and, after a time, I get restless and grumpy.

New places to explore...

I must just get a handle on some kind of routine in the motion now. 👍

Yes keep up a routine if possible wherever you happen to be staying on the day. I have been moving on an almost weekly basis with my job for 15 years here in this little town. I carry my personal items with me and set them up in each place, and follow a very similar routine in each place.

Nice. I think that's the key. Is having a space set aside for practice... 👍

clever you!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.