Snake eats frog live on video

in ecoTrain4 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hey there nature lovers, in today’s video clip I want to share with you the moment that I captured on video a snake eating a huge frog live. This was on a farm in the front garden and right on the front porch at the entrance doorway to the house. I looks fascinating to watch this kind of raw event of nature happening before your eyes, so take a look at the video clip to see nature “red in tooth and claw”.

I was standing in the garden of this particular farm house on the south Cape coast of Africa just a few days ago, and I saw a snake come sliding towards a giant bull frog as he sat near the water feature in the garden. He raced up to the frog, side-winding, as snakes are known to do. The frog jumped away but the snake easily kept up with him and dived at him, fangs first. It looks like an adder of sorts, who can be poisonous sometimes.

The snake grabbed the frog in its jaws and sank its fangs into the flesh of the frog with ease. I saw it all happen and filmed it in portions. This particular portion is the finale, where the snake has chased the frog, bitten him and spent some minutes already literally swallowing him whole. In this last clip you can see that the frog has already been swallowed and only his feet remain outside of the snake’s mouth.
I never expected the snake, who appears quite small in comparison, to actually swallow such a huge frog, but he did it with ease. It took some time, 20 minutes or so, and the frog was dinner for the snake. At first the frog tried to break free but the snake had him firmly gripped. Then I presume the poison took effect and also the snake just opened his mouth around the frog, wider and wider, stretching his entire face and body to swallow the frog whole.

I’m no expert on the species involved, suffice to say that they appear to be common or garden reptiles, since they were found in the garden. That was a joke. Nevertheless the lesson on the laws of nature was fascinating to see, and now I know just how powerful these snakes are. They have the ability to swallow such huge frogs, with a little endevour, and it appears that the snake has his food for the entire week. His skin just expanded and his mouth opened up more than you would expect.

Presumably the jaws dislocate, or something to that effect, and the larger frog is swallowed up from front to rear. In the video clip you can see the snake wrestling to get the frog into his mouth, with the last of the frog being his legs that are swallowed like a rare French delicacy – for a snake that is.

Nature here reminds us that all over, it appears as if one living entity is food for another. It is eat or be eaten. Survival of the fittest. All of this played out in the video today, as paradoxical as it seems. It is almost tragic that to live someone else must die. Life feeds off death. And death is the source of life. What a tragic reality. That’s why I’m a vegetarian. I don’t like to kill or be part of the death of others for my pleasure. Therefore I eat plants, even though some of them plague my conscience, when I see them pulled out of the ground alive.

I don’t like to see the death of even a plant, and am concerned about even the living sprouts that I may eat in a salad. Or the green leafy veg that I have to rip out of the ground to cook up for my dinner. Ideally I aim to live like a Jain, who avoid killing of any sort. Therefore I would be happier simply living off the fallen fruit and vegetables, those that have already fallen from the tree while the tree lives on. Some sorts of grains, fruit and vegetables can be karma-free altogether, without even killing the plant itself, or by eating the plant once its life cycle is over, like a grain crop, for example.

To kill others for ones pleasure, even if it is only survival, seems harmful and immoral to me. I don’t like to see even a plant killed for my own selfish pleasure. I may have to live in the forest away from society at this rate. Then I will be happiest, without having to kill any living entity. After all, the highest moral code is “ahimsa” or “non-violence”. That is what I aspire to. Animals, reptiles, etc can all live off death, since they are unconscious mostly and it is their lot, their birth right, but I don’t need to kill, and in my ideal world, I am harming none, while eating abundantly from the fallen fruit and vegetables. It is a heavenly realm. Feel free to join me here in paradise, where all live without fear of death or abuse by others. Welcome home.


▶️ 3Speak