EcoTrain-QOTW - What are you Addicted to and How Does it Help or Hinder You?

in ecoTrain4 years ago

Hello!

I have seen this question at Eco-train post just now as I have been very very busy lately moving to a new home. The question came to my mind quickly and could readily answer that quickly too..... its FABRICS!

I have been hoarding fabrics, textiles or whatever piece whether linen or cotton and other materials. This addiction has been going on ever since I discovered my weakness in sewing. At a young age, I have been dreaming of making a quilt because I was fascinated by it since seeing an example of a book full of quilts in the college library.

IMG_1726.JPG

I used to visit fabric shops here in Vienna and scoured those shops having boxes of fabric remnants. I needed them for my quilts. I spent my lunch breaks looking for these fabrics and I also visited the Saturday Flea Market in the city. I always found something and I came home having fabrics no matter how little they were in quantity.

IMAG3921.JPG

The fabrics I have been hoarding were used in the many quilts I have made. And if I need a bigger quantity, I would simply go to the shop with my measurements and bought the fabrics, hoard them and did the project at a later time.

IMAG7791.jpg

FB_IMG_1481016971824.jpg

My addiction to fabrics is not really a problem, it even helped me gather all the materials according to their colors and quality and finished some quilts. My husband was always complaining where to put all those ... and of course, I always hid them somewhere since the old house we lived in previously was bigger than out new home.

20161208_083829.jpg

IMAG3920.JPG

The truth is the problem came to light when we moved out from the old house recently ... I´ve gathered about five luggages of fabrics and I had to spare some to my friends who willingly took them. Thank God we have some spare cellar to put the hoarded fabrics...

538580_323169577757960_168204577_n.jpg

I know I have saved a lot of money hoarding my fabrics since custom made curtains are so expensive. I made all the soft furnishings in my house so the many hoarded textiles were put to good use.

And so, this had been my addiction and I am sure a lot of housewives and women who are into crafting will agree with me that hoarding fabrics is not bad, it saves time later looking for the right materials.... and it satisfies the inner self of getting something similar to winning a trophy. I hope you also agree with me.... Cheers!

Note: All images were taken and text originally written by @mers.

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

love it! i must admit i have a long way to go on my fabric appreciation.. Youve inspired me a little which is good because im looking for all kinds of fabrics and even clothes right now.. <3

Oh thanks.... one must have the inclination to really go for it, it satisfies the craving for something and to be able to do a project for later and see the final results... there is a tingling feeling once you know you have the stash before you since the fabrics will inspire you to create something! And it´s the final product that could make you happy and fulfilled and think, "glad I have hoarded those remnants beforehand, lol!" Have a nice day!

your artwork it's absolutely amazing, far as i know, theres a tag called #needleworkmonday where you can share this kind of art and achieve more people with your artwork <3

Yes dear...Thank you for reminding me the needleworkmonday Community... I am a member there and had been contributing my contents too. But lately, my posts became so scarce for luck of time... I also know your thrive, wish I could contribute there too, I think I learned about adiwathrive from the Natural Medicine Community... I will also visit you later... that´s a promise! Have a pleasant evening ahead.