ecoTrain Question Of The Week Season 7 #4: What Do You Need To Let Go Of?

in ecoTrain3 years ago

I am pretty sure my response to this weeks @ecotrain question is coming late but I still wanted to share my thoughts now that I have a little bit of time to sit down and write.


ecotrain.jpg

Photo credit @ecotrain


What do you need to let go of?

Thinking about this, I have so many things that come to my mind and the list is quite long. Over the past 4+ years since I have been blogging, I shared some of my concerns when it comes to this topic and I was aware of the things I need to let go of, but it's still a challenge to actually do so, taking actions is something I am not that good at. I am a thinker and a planner but not really a doer.

For some reason I cannot really point out, I was able to let go of some people in my life without it being too hard. Maybe it was just a natural thing to happen as sometimes in life people grow apart and there's no initial bond to keep the connection going. In these situations I guess it's more of a mutual letting go rather then just one sided letting go which is a lot harder for me to deal with and I can get stuck with the feeling of being abandoned for a very long time. This is the hardest letting go I have experienced where I get to the point of not loving or missing the person but I just can't let go of the grudge or pain. I am still learning to let go of those feelings even though I let go of the person. This is where a lot of self-work and personal development comes in, a lot of growth and learning to be able to move forward.


Other things I need to let go of are:

  • fears

    I am someone who has a lot of fears about so many different things and the roots of it could be not having enough confidence, too much worrying and uncertainty, trust issues, not having a clear direction in life... I feel like this is something I can let go if I put my focus on more positive things in life and do a lot of self-improvement that would kind of kill away a lot of those fears so I can replace them with better feelings/emotions.

  • anxiety

    not sure if this is something one can let go of completely but I guess I have to let go of the thoughts that I am my anxiety which is how I feel sometimes. Every time I dealt with this little monster, it made me feel so much better afterwards - the feeling of facing it is so amazing and I think that only people with any kind of anxiety could understand this. Of course, it's not always easy and sometimes I would just freeze or back off when anxiety fits me but when I grit my teeth and face it, I realize it wasn't actually that bad as I make it in my head.

  • bad habits and laziness

recently I wrote about not having any self-discipline whatsoever and doing things only when I feel like it that, over the years, led me to this lazy, unproductive self. Over time, I started to identify as lazy, unproductive person and now that's what I feel like and think about myself. Both good and bad habits, repeated over weeks, months and years, become part of our character and personality. The way we think about and talk to ourselves is very important and it can basically 'program' our mind which is another thing I am aware of but haven't found a way to deal with it on the long run. Letting go of bad habits and personality traits is a hard one but I definitely think it's possible. For me personally, I think that baby steps would work a lot better then huge overnight changes that usually lead me to burnout and willingness after only few days. Building up good habits and small positive actions are a lot more sustainable for me.

  • past

this one is really hard for me as a lot of times I find myself getting stuck in the past - if it's something negative that happened or a person I can't seem to let go of, I tend to hold a lot of grudge and can't get over it for years! I am fully aware this doesn't serve anyone, the lesson is learned and I have moved on from the experience/person but there's just still something in me that is stuck like glue and follows me around for a long time. I always thought that good things that happened to us and great memories we have are amazing to look back on, it's kind of like re-living those moments but sometimes I do that too much which also makes me feel like I'm stuck in the past and I'm afraid it could take away from the present and possible good experiences I could have right now.


Where all this is coming from?

Even though I have to remind myself about this often, I think we are all divine beings who came to this Earth with a purpose and a reason. I have to admit I still don't really know in my heart what are mine but that should not stop us from living our best lives and trying to become better versions of ourselves. Any negative thing we feel/think about ourselves is nothing else but our brain being programed and got used to it, a limiting belief we were feeding ourselves with for so long to the point where it gets comfortable, addicting and hard to change. Getting to that subconscious part of the brain is not easy but with dedication and willpower, I believe we can plant seeds of positive beliefs, affirmations and habits. Letting go in a lot of these cases doesn't happen overnight but with each small positive step, detaching from anything that doesn't serve us becomes easier and it really feels like training a muscle.


My ways of letting go

Over time, I have found that one of the most important things for me and my well-being is the feeling of gratitude, being present in the moment and feeling of connection with myself and the Universe. Spending time in nature is my reset, my wake up call and a way to feel grounded. I always say that nature is the best healer but I don't appreciate it enough and spend enough time in nature. Garden and gardening tasks are also my way to let go of any negative thoughts and stress, it's my happy place where I always feel good and gardening just makes me forget about everything so I can just focus on the work I am doing in that moment. Journaling, body movement and healthy (or at least decent) eating habits are some of the 'general' ways we can lift our health, vibration, mood and I think that in that state of body, mind and spirit letting go of anything is a lot easier, more powerful and effective. I have A LOT of improvement to make in these areas as I have been neglecting all of them even though I know they are so beneficial for me. I sound like a broken record at this point with all the things I am aware of but don't put to practice so maybe I should start by letting go of all the taking, thinking and planning and just start by actually DOING something! :)


Thank you for reading another of my rambles, it always feels good to write about stuff like these and a huge thank you to @ecotrain for always providing amazing, thought-provoking questions!


banner.png

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Yes, we have a lot of common in these areas of life and I also wish you luck in this fight, I hope we will win eventually! :)