Ten Positive Things: Perhaps It's Not the Apocalypse After All

in ecoTrain3 years ago

ONE

When I was in the UK, we walked for miles and miles and miles and miles, across stiles, past fields of cows let out from winter stables, through tiny woods alive with blue butterflies and thick with the scent of wild garlic, alongside streams where deer drank shy and alert in the dusk. Once, we walked past an encampment where a small and barefooted child swung off a makeshift verandah on a makeshift kitchen where a man washed the dishes and another sat and played guitar. We stopped to talk a while. They'd been living there since the 1970's, having bought the land for a song, and eventually got rights to build low impact housing there. This meant a small log cabin of locally hewed timber and a yurt or two. Each day, the man would cycle to work. Over the years, the roads got busier and busier, and it was getting downright dangerous, especially in the summer when the hedgerows grew into the road and made it narrower, blocking driver's field of vision.

Since the lockdown, cycling had become relaxing again. In fact, many cyclists took advantage of the quiet roads and bike shops had never done as well as people took up hobbies they had wanted to do for years, but never had the time. Like us, people were out walking, exploring parts of their own county they had never seen, even though these things were close by.

image.png

We talked about the skies clear of the white trails of air craft and quiet, and the bird life that filled the void left by engines. He'd been waiting for an event like this for years. We both agreed it would be good if it lasted.

And we walked, and walked, and walked.

image.png

TWO.

I recieved a refund check of $30 from the RACV, because they conceded that due to lockdown, we would have driven our car less. We haven't been able to leave the state, and even state travel only started again two weeks ago, when Melbourne was let out. This meant when we did go away, there were less people around, and we experienced the quietest roads I had seen since the 1990's.

Once again the Great Ocean Road was free of tour buses with international tourists. We got to see the 12 Apostles without the crowds. We drove along local roads with no one tailgating us.

Whilst we felt sad we couldn't travel, we saved a lot of money by staying local.

image.png

THREE

And this was the sentiment of most, who could not holiday in Bali or drive to Queensland to escape the cold. They are saying it will be years before we can even leave the country.

Watching a sunset on top of a sand dune in far north east Victoria, we watched kids fly down it on boogie boards, up and down, up and down, all day. Give a kid a sand dune and they'll be content all day, and so tired at night they'll go to bed without a whimper.

'You know, Dad', we heard one say philosophically, all of 8 years old. 'This is so much better than going overseas. We got to see parts of Victoria we never have seen before'.

image.png

FOUR

And though people could not see their family across state borders or in nursing homes, and some suffered as they couldn't escape abusive husbands, or found out their partner was having an affair and was leaving them and they were left alone, many families got to know each other in ways that would not be possible when both parents were busy at work.

One can underestimate how much children love to have family time and the attention of their parents.

FIVE

And the butterflies and ducks and eagles and tigers and foxes and possums and all the wild animals were safe for a while. No guns, or cars, or pesticides, or planes plagued their foot and wing paths.

And although people forgot about the environment, they loved it still, and stopped to appreciate it more, and formed a bond with it that could make a difference when nature needed it in the future - soon.

image.png

SIX

And people realised that office spaces were unnecessary, and people were just as productive from home. My son's girlfriend's company is suggesting they only meet once a fortnight face to face, and they'll give up the offices in the CBD, and just hire a space for the afternoon once in a while.

I think of all those cars, parked in garages, all those coffee cups with plastic lids remaining stacked in coffee shops, whilst people worked in their pajamas and made coffee at home.

And now, what might be done about those office spaces? Could they be transformed into affordable city living, to address the homelessness?

SEVEN

Whilst I rejoice at the grounded planes, I feel sorry for those who've lost their jobs as the aviation industry collapses. We suffer because we cannot travel ourselves, and my husband worries about his Mum in England and not being able to get back.

But grounded and stuck at home, we have done extraordinary amounts of DIY.

image.png

EIGHT

We learnt to wash our hands and be considerate of others personal space. People did not come into work if they were sick, and if they did, they made sure they weren't contagious, sneezed into their elbow, and wore a mask.

I'm a teacher. I know what it means to be sneezed upon. I haven't had a cold all year as I haven't been near teenagers, or people for that matter, and I feel more comfortable now asking them to stay a few metres distant from me in the classroom next year. And perhaps they won't do that gross thing where they drink out of each other's water bottles. Whether you believe the virus is not real or not, it doesn't matter. Don't share each other's water bottle. Ew. Meningitis is my worst nightmare.

People have become more fit, not less. There's only so much Netflix you can watch. They've found walking tracks they didn't know existed, started fitness regimes they have become addicted to, gone on diets, lost weight.

But damn I want my yoga studio to open. I miss the sangha vibe. Still, I walk and walk.

NINE.

I hear conversations all the time about people reassessing their lives. 'I'll never work so much again', I hear. 'Maybe I can work from home', they say. 'I don't care that I lost my job - I didn't want to stay there anyway' 'I'm going to shut down the business - I've been wanting to retire in years'.

I've become less worried about money, not more. Things will work out okay. I'm sure this isn't the case for anyone, and if things are looking bad for you, I'm sorry. I feel for you. But I'm happy for those who have changed their attitudes about money, and have had the time and space to find silver linings.

TEN

Though some of us are painfully isolated, others have had the chance to meet people and talk to people they wouldn't have otherwise. We have met on paths and in the woods, and stopped to chat. We've talked to each other out in the surf or stopping over to pick up for sale items, illegally, but still. Because we're home, we have more time and energy to talk to people, and start those community bonds. Many have discovered how important community is, and how much we need to look after one another. My local council is funding projects that strengthen community mental health with this in mine. More people than ever before have started gardening and realised that it's not only good for the wallet and survival, but it's good for their state of mind, and when we come together and share, it's even better.

We are becoming more connected, not less, in spite of what they say.

And when we blinked out of lockdown, we were a little shellshocked, but we smiled at each other, and slowly, our hearts were filled again with hope, and we appreciated the world a little more, and the freedoms we'd taken for granted.

And More

Gratitude projects. Re-imagined education. Charity. Appreciation for frontline workers. Less air pollution. Less fuel consumption. We realised we were not immortal. We realised we were just animals, and we were not on top of the food chain after all. We faced death and prevailed, so we did not live in constant fear. We learnt that a hug could save us, or it could kill us, but took the risk anyway.

This post is written in response to the Ecotrain QOTW. You can find it here. It's meant to be FIVE positive consequences of COVID-19, but as usual, I read it wrong and wrote 10. Oh well! Anyone can write. Join in for juicy upvotes and engagement with some great folk of HIVE.

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk

Sort:  

You didn't read it wrong, check mine, I also started writing 10 .. It was changed later as Alex was afraid 10 maybe was too much. But reading this post, I knew I even left out at least 10 things.. I didn't even mention the magic of looking at clear skies above the city, I remember how good it felt the last lockdown to see a clear sky.. And so many other things, I for one, even while I quit my job recently, have less worry about money instead of more. This is more thanks to the mindset than because there's more to spend because there's inflation and less steady income.

I learned new things, I started new projects and I'm more focused than ever, so I know even better times are ahead and I feel blessed to be able to focus on the good things rather than watching news all day and get dragged into the bad vibes of the pandemic..

This was a good read, thanks :) another eye-opener to me that there are indeed even more than 10 good things that I could have mentioned :)

 3 years ago  

;-) love it!

lol, glad you did!

I'll head over to yours soon!!! I thought I was dreaming in that 10.
But turns out 10 was quite good to do!! Lots of bonuses when you focus on them..

Nope, I had the same thing and then I read the post again and noticed the 10 was still mentioned in there, so I knew I wasn't just making it up haha.
I agree though, why stop at 5 if you can throw 10 out in a heartbeat?
It helps me so much to focus on these positive things rather than dwelling in the negative news and restrictions and where it all possibly may go. Better to go with the flow, is my experience..

Totally! And I feel so much better KNOWING others have got positives out of this too. It gives me hope for humanity! The media leads us to bleieve things are terrible - and yes, they can be - but there is so much goodness, hope, positivity in the world! choosing to focus on them!

Yeah I know, one of my friends is very awake but she really focuses too much on the negative while I try to bend it to the positive parts, the media is even worse if you watch the news. Which I haven't done in years :) It's often not representing the reality anyway. I'm so glad there are like-minded people here like you, who give me hope that humanity isn't lost :) lol

One of the best things is being able to go out and see the almost empty streets to ride your bike. Although you are blessed to live near green areas. But I'm not complaining, I live on a coast, the beaches are cleaner today. Beautiful picture of the sunset, really.

Oh yes, quiet streets are the best!!!! I.wish it was like that all of the time.

 3 years ago  

brilliant! well done for making it to 10!!! i changed it to 5 after i thought maybe it was to hard.. but im happy to see it was not! lovely list and post sister! <3 x

Thanks. I thought I was dreaming!!!! It turned out 10 was easier than I thought. Easier to see the positive at this end - the beginning of year was way more rough!

I am just loving this challenge already! Perhaps it is just the spirit of the season kicking in, but I'm really vibing on the positive energy starting to flow here lately. Or maybe I just crashed after all the election bullshit and boomeranged to the opposite end of the energy spectrum, haha. Between this one, the Man Cave challenge, and I'm still mulling over the other Nat Med challenge of the month I've got lots of fodder for some of my own posts. I know you've definitely had some bumps in the road this year, so makes my heart happy to see so many of the good things you've found along the way. 💚

Indeed. I tend to focus on the good. I've realised I always choose hope over despair, and that's a great thing for my soul. I was saying to Jamie that out of the possibilities of what MIGHT happen, why not choose to focus on the good option? Bevause otherwise you live the bad one twice- once in head and once in reality. The more I chose positivity whilst knowing possibility of bad outcomes, the more I find I'm happy.

So many options to write on NM for November - sheesh, I'm going to need a December holiday!!

WOW, that is a very beautiful nature. I really hope I can go there someday when I grow up.

I hope so too! Do you have beautiful nature where you live? I would like a photo!

Okay, her one IMG_2774.JPG.

Change will always be the one constant. it's good to be able to see the ups as well as the downs as this upheaval progresses. there are certainly plenty of both.

Ultimate truth!!! But damn if 2020 didn't move a little too fast for even those who have practices that enable them to cope with change. Shhheeeeessshhhh!!!!

I love this question, because no matter how crazy and unjust it is, there is always a silver lining and you named 10 of them. You really have been super productive and had quite a few adventures as well xxxx

You needn't leave the country to see wonderful things. You needn't even leave your home.
I do worry, however, that if we get used to online human contact, we will forget how important being in another's physical presence is, it feeds us, and amplifies our energies.
Nice ten (five?) things.

That was a wonderful post. Great pictures.
I feel like my eyes and heart have opened up a little wider. I am counting my blessings everyday. I find myself facetime ing? with my grandkids more. Talking to old friends that I have not seen in years, before covid. Making plans to vacation "in the future".
I must say, this pandemic has woken up a part of me that just wants to hug everyone. To encourage peace among us all.
Yesereee, I am grateful to be healthy. To have people who care, call and chat.
To see the sunrise and sunset, even if it's from my front porch.
Have a wonderful day!!

Oh wow... I've gotten so excited just reading your post! You are right, this things is awesome! So many positive things coming out of the Covid pandemic! But even if it's your own optimism, it is certainly rubbing off. Thanks for making me so happy!

So good to look on the positive side and I can appreciate more of what you are stating because of what I knew of how it had effected you so much when it hit. I'm glad that you have shed off negativity and can see that maybe this isn't the apocalypse after all!
Very uplifting post!

Wow yeah, so much positivity. I love that people have started to connect more and I have noticed that too, despite what they say. There's something to be said too about reassessing one's life, it will have (I hope) a lasting effect for a lot and they will have realized that life is more than working for money and careers they don't care for just to pay the bills they didn't really need to begin with.

Nice post @riverflows thanks for sharing, I missed reading yours.

Thanks so much. And you've just reminded me I need to read yours.

Yes, I think we're pretty resilient - whilst it's been tough, I think we'll be okay.

Yeah same here I think we'll be okay!

This is the post-apocalypse. Apocalypse means A prophetic disclosure; a revelation.. That has certainly happened to a certain extent. Not everyone has been awake to it and there are still more dark awakened people using the knowledge against the sleepers and those of us who just woke up...thanks for the tip by the way!

Loved this post and wished I'd seen it sooner.

 3 years ago  

Thank you so much for this post on the Question Of the Week! Coronavirus can be a heavy topic and it was so good to see such a great positive post on the topic. THANK YOU! Together we can get through this with a smile.

Your post has been featured in our weekly tie up post, you can see it here and check out some other people who posted:

https://peakd.com/hive-123046/@ecotrain/ecotrain-question-of-the-week-tie-up-post-26-name-5-positive-consequences-of-covid19