Fall garden update: Hardy kiwi vine

in ecoTrain4 years ago

I was surprised to learn that I can grow a tropical fruit such as a kiwi where I live. Though the hardy kiwis are much smaller than normal market kiwi fruit.

About seven plants are now in the ground, mostly females and a few males. From what I have read on this plant, its important to buy male and female plants so it will produce fruit. So I got mostly females and a few males. I spread them out so its a couple females and then a male and so on. They look a little different so was not too hard to figure out which is which.

Not much growth has shown up on them yet, since I just put them in the ground. I am keeping the native weeds away from them to help them have a fighting chance. I think in a few years they should be doing pretty well but for right now they are just sitting pretty. They have made it through the hottest part of the year and did not dry out. I watered them a few times as we had some dry spells this summer but over all they did not need much care.

Hopefully if all goes well, in a few years I will have some yummy kiwis to eat. Another use of the plant is to cut off the woody vines and give them to the cats to play with. From the research I have done, there are similar cat attractants in this plant as there is in catnip. So over time I will need to see if these kiwi vines are affected by cats.

I planted these vines in the area where the raspberries used to be, now there is a mix of these kiwi vines and some native blackberries.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I don't know of kiwis even if I'm from a tropical country. So it takes that long to grow them? Wow well so does so many tropical fruits from many other countries.

Ah true.. maybe they are not tropical. I looked them up and they seem to grow around the world.. warmer climates than where I live though.

As for how long they take to grow. I'm guessing a few years before the bare fruit.

 4 years ago  

Hahaha I guess so, I was wondering if it grows maybe in the Savannah or the Shara but then thanks for clarifying. Seems we'd have to check back in a few years time for this to fully do well.

Thanks for using Ecency!
Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency